Love and Ethnology

The Colonial Dialectic of Sensitivity (after Hubert Fichte)

Cover catalog Love and Ethnology

Cover catalog Love and Ethnology

Editors: Diedrich Diederichsen, Anselm Franke, and Haus der Kulturen der Welt
Sternberg Press, 2019
220 pages, Softcover
160 illustrations (117 in color, 43 b/w)
ISBN 978-3-95679-503-9
Price: ca. 28 €

Available at Haus der Kulturen der Welt and at bookstores, mail order buying / postal shopping via the Webshop

Can the ethnological observations and feelings on Afro-diasporic cultures of a German writer be "restituted"? What are the possibilities and limits of using self-reflexion and gay sexuality as research tools?

Since 2017, the exhibition and publication project Hubert Fichte: Love and Ethnology has followed this question through Hubert Fichte's cycle of novels Die Geschichte der Empfindlichkeit (The History of Sensitivity). Fascinated by Afro-diasporic arts and religions, Fichte (1935-1986) traveled to cities such as Salvador da Bahia, Santiago de Chile, Dakar, New York, and Lisbon. For the project, translations from his Geschichte der Empfindlichkeit became the basis for critical local receptions and new artistic works in these cities. The final exhibition Love and Ethnology – The Colonial Dialectic of Sensitivity (after Hubert Fichte) at Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin presents these reflections against the background of the relationship between ethnology and the aesthetic avant-garde in post-war West Germany.

This publication brings together essays, artistic text contributions, and a glossary that explains Hubert Fichte's theoretical vocabulary. These are supplemented by curatorial statements from the past project stations in Salvador da Bahia, Rio de Janeiro, Santiago de Chile, Dakar, New York, and Lisbon, as well as extensive photo series depicting the artistic works from the exhibition at HKW.

With contributions by Dulcie Abrahams Altass, Kader Attia, Jan-Frederik Bandel, Jürgen Bock, Lisa Deml, Diedrich Diederichsen, Rosa Eidelpes, Denise Ferreira da Silva, Anselm Franke, Renée Green, Ayrson Heráclito, Max Jorge Hinderer Cruz, Koyo Kouoh, Dirck Linck, Tiona Nekkia McClodden, Mario Navarro, Amilcar Packer, Marleen Schröder, Erhard Schüttpelz, David Simo, Kerstin Stakemeier, Yesomi Umolu.

Liebe und Ethnologie

Die koloniale Dialektik der Empfindlichkeit (nach Hubert Fichte)

Katalogcover Liebe und Ethnologie

Katalogcover Liebe und Ethnologie

Herausgegeben von Diedrich Diederichsen, Anselm Franke und Haus der Kulturen der Welt
Sternberg Press, 2019
220 Seiten, Softcover
117 farbige, 43 sw-Abbildungen
ISBN 978-3-95679-504-6
Preis: ca. 28 €

Erhältlich im Haus der Kulturen der Welt und im Buchhandel, Versandbestellungen über den Webshop

Lassen sich die ethnologischen Beobachtungen und Empfindungen eines deutschen Schriftstellers zu afro-diasporischen Kulturen „restituieren”? Welche Möglichkeiten eröffnet und an welche Grenzen stößt der Einsatz von Selbstreflexion und schwuler Sexualität als Forschungswerkzeuge?

Seit 2017 ist das Ausstellungs- und Publikationsprojekt Hubert Fichte: Liebe und Ethnologie diesen Fragen entlang Hubert Fichtes Romanzyklus Die Geschichte der Empfindlichkeit nachgegangen. Fasziniert von afro-diasporischen Künsten und Religionen bereiste Fichte (1935–1986) Städte wie Salvador da Bahia, Santiago de Chile, Dakar, New York und Lissabon. Im Rahmen des Projekts wurden in diesen Städten Übersetzungen aus der Geschichte der Empfindlichkeit zur Grundlage kritischer Rezeptionen vor Ort und neuen künstlerischen Arbeiten. Die Berliner Abschlussausstellung Liebe und Ethnologie – die koloniale Dialektik der Empfindlichkeit (nach Hubert Fichte) im Haus der Kulturen der Welt präsentiert diese Rückspiegelungen vor dem Hintergrund des Verhältnisses von Ethnologie und ästhetischer Avantgarde in der BRD der Nachkriegszeit.

Die vorliegende Publikation versammelt Essays, künstlerische Textbeiträge sowie ein Glossar, das in Kurzeinträgen Hubert Fichtes theoretisches Vokabular beleuchtet. Diese werden ergänzt um die kuratorischen Statements der vergangenen Projektstationen in Salvador da Bahia, Rio de Janeiro, Santiago de Chile, Dakar, New York und Lissabon sowie um mehrere umfangreiche Bildstrecken, die die künstlerischen Arbeiten der Ausstellung im HKW abbilden.

Mit Beiträgen von Dulcie Abrahams Altass, Kader Attia, Jan-Frederik Bandel, Jürgen Bock, Lisa Deml, Diedrich Diederichsen, Rosa Eidelpes, Denise Ferreira da Silva, Anselm Franke, Renée Green, Ayrson Heráclito, Max Jorge Hinderer Cruz, Koyo Kouoh, Dirck Linck, Tiona Nekkia McClodden, Mario Navarro, Amilcar Packer, Marleen Schröder, Erhard Schüttpelz, David Simo, Kerstin Stakemeier, Yesomi Umolu.