Mon, Jul 30 – Sat, Aug 04, 2018 | 10 am–4 pm

YourTurn – the Festival’s Film Production

YourTurn – die Filmproduktion zum Festival | © Florian Endres

YourTurn – die Filmproduktion zum Festival | © Florian Endres

Access all areas: For one week, kids and teens will get a look behind the scenes at Wassermusik. They will document the preparations for the festival with cameras and microphones, talking to the musicians and organizers. Guided by the experienced filmmakers Susanne Dzeik and Karen Francia, they will develop ideas for stories and realize them as a group.

Susanne Dzeik is a filmmaker and camerawoman. She studied political science at the Freie Universität Berlin and camera at the self-organized film school filmArche Berlin. She holds film workshops at schools from Berlin to Cameroon and Brazil. She has realized several short and documentary films and worked as a camerawoman for the long-term documentary Nach dem Brand (2012), co-produced by the NDR, which was nominated for the Prix Europa and the Grimme Prize.

Karen Francia studied psychology in Uruguay and camera at the filmArche in Berlin. She has worked in theater, media, and intercultural educational collectives since her youth. She collaborated in several documentary films, in part as dramaturgical consultant. She conceives and cooperates with educational projects including Station Erde – Eine-Welt-Klima-Parcours für Kids (Zwischenzeit e.V.), which received the Nord-Süd-Preis of the City of Münster in 2009.

Mo, 30.07. – Sa, 04.08.2018 | 10–16h

YourTurn – die Filmproduktion zum Festival

YourTurn – die Filmproduktion zum Festival | © Florian Endres

YourTurn – die Filmproduktion zum Festival | © Florian Endres

Access all areas: Eine Woche lang schauen Kids und Teens hinter die Kulissen der Wassermusik: Sie dokumentieren mit Kamera und Mikrofon die Festivalvorbereitungen und kommen mit Musiker*innen und Organisator*innen ins Gespräch. Angeleitet von den erfahrenen Filmemacherinnen Susanne Dzeik und Karen Francia entwickeln sie Ideen für Stories und setzen sie gemeinsam um. In den zahlreichen Arbeitsbereichen des Filmemachens findet dabei jede*r ihre*seine eigene Rolle.

Susanne Dzeik ist Filmemacherin und Kamerafrau. Sie studierte Politologie an der Freien Universität Berlin und Kamera an der selbstorganisierten Filmschule filmArche Berlin. An Schulen von Berlin über Kamerun bis Brasilien gibt sie Filmworkshops. Sie realisierte mehrere Kurz- und Dokumentarfilme und arbeitete als Kamerafrau für die vom NDR koproduzierte Langzeitdokumentation Nach dem Brand (2012), die für den Prix Europa und den Grimme-Preis nominiert wurde.

Karen Francia studierte Psychologie in Uruguay und Kamera an der filmArche in Berlin. Seit ihrer Jugend arbeitet sie in Theater, Medien und interkulturellen Bildungskollektiven. Sie wirkte an mehreren Dokumentarfilmen mit, unter anderem als dramaturgische Beraterin. Sie konzipiert und kooperiert mit Bildungsprojekten, unter anderem Station Erde – Eine-Welt-Klima-Parcours für Kids (Zwischenzeit e.V.), der 2009 den Nord-Süd-Preis der Stadt Münster erhielt.