Specters of Communism

A Festival on the Revolutionary Century
2017, Nov 16, Thu — 2017, Nov 21, Tue

Benjamin Piekut, Professor Tamara Levitz (UCLA) and Professor Helan H L Yang (Hong Kong Baptist University) at Specters of Communism | Photo: Marion Vogel

Benjamin Piekut, Professor Tamara Levitz (UCLA) and Professor Helan H L Yang (Hong Kong Baptist University) at Specters of Communism | Photo: Marion Vogel

On the occasion of the centenary of the October Revolution in Russia and nearly one hundred years after Kurt Eisner declared Bavaria a Free State and a socialist republic at the Mathäser-Bräu in Munich, Haus der Kunst will convene Specters of Communism: A Festival on the Revolutionary Century. This festival will trace the multifaceted, partly contrary and partly astonishingly parallel manifestations of global communism.

Conceived as a sequence of live events, the festival will bring together participants from across the fields of art, philosophy, political theory, theatre, performance, art history, film studies, and music in order to unfold the historical legacies of communism as a major feature of 20th and 21st century artistic, intellectual and political thought.

More information at hausderkunst.de

Specters of Communism – A Festival on the Revolutionary Century is conceived and organized by Haus der Kunst in cooperation with the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, as part of the HKW long-term project 100 Years of Now, which is supported by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media by resolution of the German Bundestag.

Nov 16–21, 2017
Haus der Kunst, München

Festival

Specters of Communism

Ein Festival über das revolutionäre Jahrhundert
Do, 16. November 2017 — Di, 21. November 2017

Benjamin Piekut, Professor Tamara Levitz (UCLA) und Professor Helan H L Yang (Hong Kong Baptist University) bei Specters of Communism | Foto: Marion Vogel

Benjamin Piekut, Professor Tamara Levitz (UCLA) und Professor Helan H L Yang (Hong Kong Baptist University) bei Specters of Communism | Foto: Marion Vogel

Zum hundertsten Jahrestag der Oktoberrevolution in Russland und knapp hundert Jahre nachdem Kurt Eisner im Münchner Mathäser-Bräu den Freistaat Bayern als sozialistische Räterepublik ausrief, veranstaltet das Haus der Kunst Specters of Communism: Ein Festival über das revolutionäre Jahrhundert. Dieses Festival zeichnet die facettenreichen Ausprägungen des globalen Kommunismus nach, die teils gegenläufig und teils erstaunlich parallel verliefen.

Live-Veranstaltungen führen Teilnehmer*innen aus den Bereichen Kunst, Philosophie, Politikwissenschaft, Theater, Performance, Kunstgeschichte, Filmwissenschaft und Musik zusammen, um das historische Erbe des Kommunismus als wesentliches Element der künstlerischen, intellektuellen und politischen Gedankenwelt des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts aufzufächern.

Weitere Informationen auf hausderkunst.de

Specters of Communism: Ein Festival über das revolutionäre Jahrhundert konzipiert und organisiert von Haus der Kunst in Kooperation mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt im Rahmen des HKW-Langzeitprojektes 100 Jahre Gegenwart, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages.

16.–21.11.2017
Haus der Kunst, München

Festival