Action!

Sophie Scholl Schule with Katja Berls (Filmarche)

© Katja Berls

© Katja Berls

The learning situations of the future will change. In an imaginary future tablet computers would replace writing pads. Students would participate in the design of the lesson and pass on self-acquired knowledge to their classmates. They would be supported by two teachers per class who would adapt the learning methods to the individual needs of the students. In short documentary films students of the Sophie Scholl Schule explored these and other questions from behind and in front of the camera: What makes a good lesson? Will the school of the future only take place at home, in front of the computer? Should lessons devote more time to current world events? How can sustainability be thematized in the school? What can be done to promote more equality and how can it be ensured that everyone feels comfortable in the school, irrespective of gender identity, appearance, or social and cultural origin?

The Sophie Scholl Schule in the Schöneberg district of Berlin is an integrated secondary school with an upper grammar school. The all-day school accepts students with the educational assessment grammar school/secondary school and secondary school as well as students with special educational needs. The language of instruction in the classes of the Staatlichen Europa-Schule Berlin (SESB) is German and French. With the teacher Sophie Otten-Kukuk.

Katja Berls studied directing at the FilmArche Berlin, after completing her studies in media culture at the University of Hamburg. She is specialized in the field of documentary film with a focus on social themes. She has produced, amongst other things, TV features for the Kurzschluss program on the Arte channel, and in addition to her own film productions has worked as a co-director, assistant director, production assistant, and production manager for diverse TV and cinema documentaries and feature films. In addition to her activities as a film maker, since 2010 she has regularly held film and photo workshops, amongst others for C/O Berlin, exhibition venue for photography and visual media. She is currently working as communication manager and festival distributor for the film festival agency Aug&Ohr.

Sa 20.10.: Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr…

Film ab

Sophie Scholl Schule mit Katja Berls (Filmarche)

© Katja Berls

© Katja Berls

Die Lernsituationen der Zukunft werden sich verändern. In einer imaginierten Zukunft würden Tablets Schreibblöcke ersetzen. Schüler*innen würden den Unterricht mitgestalten und selbstangeeignetes Wissen an ihre Klassenkamerad*innen weitergeben. Zu ihrer Unterstützung gäbe es zwei Lehrer*innen pro Klasse, welche die Lehrmethoden an die individuellen Bedürfnisse der Schüler*innen anpassen würden. In dokumentarischen Kurzfilmen gingen die Schüler*innen der Sophie-Scholl-Schule vor und hinter der Kamera diesen und anderen Fragen nach: Was macht guten Unterricht aus? Wird die Schule der Zukunft nur noch von zu Hause aus, vorm Rechner stattfinden? Braucht es mehr Platz für das aktuelle Weltgeschehen im Unterricht? Wie kann Nachhaltigkeit in der Schule thematisiert werden? Was kann für mehr Gleichberechtigung getan und wie dafür gesorgt werden, dass sich jeder in der Schule wohlfühlt, unabhängig von geschlechtlicher Identität, Aussehen oder gesellschaftlicher und kultureller Herkunft?

Die Sophie-Scholl-Schule in Berlin-Schöneberg ist eine Integrierte Sekundarschule mit gymnasialer Oberstufe. Die Ganztagsschule nimmt Schüler*innen mit der Förderprognose „Gymnasium/Sekundarschule“ und „Sekundarschule“ sowie Schüler*innen mit sonderpädagogischem Förderbedarf auf. In Klassen der Staatlichen Europa-Schule Berlin (SESB), sind die Unterrichtssprachen Deutsch und Französisch. Mit der Lehrerin Sophie Otten-Kukuk

Katja Berls hat nach ihrem Medienkultur Studium an der Universität in Hamburg, Regie an der FilmArche in Berlin studiert. Ihr Schwerpunkt liegt im Bereich Dokumentarfilm, ihr Fokus auf sozialen Themen. Sie hat u.a. TV Beiträge für das Kurzschlussmagazin auf Arte realisiert und neben eigenen Filmprojekten als Co-Regisseurin, Regieassistentin, Produktionsassistentin und Setaufnahmeleiterin für diverse TV- und Kino Dokumentar- und Spielfilme gearbeitet. Neben ihrer Tätigkeit als Filmemacherin leitet sie seit 2010 zudem regelmäßig Film- und Fotoworkshops u.a. für C/O Berlin, Ausstellungshaus für Fotografie und visuelle Medien. Aktuell ist sie als Communication Manager & Festival Distributor in der Film Festival Agentur Aug&Ohr tätig.