On the Visiophon

Polytechnische Schule Burggasse, Bundesblindeninstitut, Landesberufsschule Stockerau, Augartenschul with gecko art

PTS Burggasse, Wien | © Walter Kreuz

PTS Burggasse, Wien | © Walter Kreuz

Multilingualism will be an integral part of the school of the future. Proceeding from this idea, students drafted short texts in which linguistic diversity is explored auditively and artistically. They produced short audio contributions according to their own ideas in which they presented their first language. Idiomatic expressions, favorite words, comparisons with other languages, general thought on linguistic diversity were all recorded using their own voice, with the spoken word subsequently processed using Audio Editor. The resulting audio features—from information on languages and scenes from audio plays, to studio interviews—can be heard via headphones on the Visiophon, an audio station in the form of an oversized question mark sculpture. In addition, all the contributions were broadcast in self-moderated radio programs.

The Polytechnische Schule Burggasse (PTS im Zentrum, Vienna) provides an opportunity for students to complete their 9th (and final) obligatory school year. The school provides numerous projects and thematic courses which help young people make a start in (professional) life or take up further education.

The Bundesblindeninstitut (Vienna) works with different support, teaching, and education plans. All types of lessons are taught according to the methodological and didactic principle of promoting students who are blind or seriously visually impaired. A special focus of the special needs teaching is sport and creative activities.

The Landesberufsschule Stockerau (Lower Austria) provides training for the electronic and electro-technical professions. Four multi-week courses are offered each school year, whereby the trainees complete one of these courses, spending the rest of the year in the company where they are apprenticed.

The Augartenschule, a new secondary school in the Upper Augartenstraße in Vienna, provides two weekly German remedial courses for students from different grades and schools. Students who have not been in Austria for long thus have the opportunity to train their German language skills in the group.

The group gecko art was founded in Vienna in 1993 by the artists Evelyn Blumenau (actress, radio journalist, author, singer) and Walter Kreuz (artist, radio journalist, author). As a mobile audio group, the artist duo produces its own radio plays, reading performances, and participative audio modules. In cooperation with groups it produces audio features, radio programs, and audiovisual sequences. gecko art has received numerous regional and international awards.
www.geckoart.at

Supported by KulturKontakt Austria

Am Visiophon

Polytechnische Schule Burggasse, Bundesblindeninstitut, Landesberufsschule Stockerau, Augartenschule mit gecko art

PTS Burggasse, Wien | © Walter Kreuz

PTS Burggasse, Wien | © Walter Kreuz

Mehrsprachigkeit wird in der Schule der Zukunft nicht wegzudenken sein. Ausgehend von diesem Gedanken, verfassten die Schüler*innen kurze Texte, in denen Sprachenvielfalt künstlerisch-auditiv umgesetzt wird. Sie gestalteten nach eigenen Ideen kurze Audiobeiträge, in denen sie ihre Erstsprachen vorstellten. Redewendungen, Lieblingsworte, Vergleiche mit anderen Sprachen, allgemeine Überlegungen zur Sprachenvielfalt – all das nahmen sie mit ihren eigenen Stimmen auf und bearbeiteten das Gesprochene am Audio-Editor. Am Visiophon, einer Hörstation in Form einer überdimensionalen Fragezeichen-Skulptur, sind die daraus entstandenen Hörstücke über Kopfhörer zu belauschen – von Sprachen-Informationen und Hörszenen bis zu Studio-Interviews. Alle Beiträge wurden außerdem in selbst moderierten Radiosendungen ausgestrahlt.

Die Polytechnische Schule Burggasse (PTS im Zentrum, Wien) bietet Schüler*innen die Möglichkeit, ihr 9. (und letztes) Pflichtschuljahr zu absolvieren. An der Schule gibt es zahlreiche Projekte und Themenschwerpunkte, die jungen Menschen den Start ins (Berufs-)Leben oder die Möglichkeiten zur Weiterbildung erleichtern.

Das Bundesblindeninstitut (Wien) arbeitet mit unterschiedlichen Förder-, Lehr- und Ausbildungsplänen. Durch alle Arten des Unterrichts ziehen sich die methodischen und didaktischen Grundsätze der Förderung von Schüler*innen mit Blindheit oder hochgradiger Sehbehinderung. Besonderer Schwerpunkt ist die Förderung sportlicher und kreativer Aktivitäten.

Die Landesberufsschule Stockerau (Niederösterreich) bietet die Ausbildung zu den Berufen Elektronik und Elektrotechnik an. Pro Schuljahr werden vier mehrwöchige Lehrgänge angeboten, wobei die Auszubildenden je einen dieser aufbauenden Lehrgänge absolvieren und die übrige Zeit im Jahr in ihren Lehrbetrieben arbeiten.

Die Augartenschule, eine Neue Mittelschule in der Oberen Augartenstraße in Wien, bietet für Schüler*innen aus unterschiedlichen (Alters-)Klassen und Schulen zweimal wöchentlich Deutschförderkurse an. Schüler*innen, die noch nicht lange in Österreich sind, haben damit die Möglichkeit, in der Gruppe ihre Deutschkenntnisse zu trainieren.

Die Gruppe gecko art wurde 1993 von den Kunstschaffenden Evelyn Blumenau (Schauspielerin, Radioredakteurin, Autorin, Sängerin) und Walter Kreuz (Kunstschaffender, Radioredakteur, Autor) in Wien gegründet. Als fahrende Audiogruppe produziert das Künstlerduo eigene Hörspiele, Leseperformances sowie partizipative Audiomodule. In Kooperation mit Gruppen entstehen Audiofeatures, Radiosendungen, audiovisuelle Sequenzen. gecko art wurde regional und international mehrfach ausgezeichnet.
www.geckoart.at

Unterstützt durch KulturKontakt Austria