Sat, Sep 21: Road closures and traffic obstructions around HKW. More…

Future Schools

Nelson-Mandela-Schule with Nika Dubrovsky

© Hanna Lentz

© Hanna Lentz

In which architectures does learning make fun? Will one be able to choose one’s lesson times in future? Will one still have lessons at all? During the course of the 2017/18 school year 9th and 10th grade students developed ideas on what school buildings could look like in future. They explored reform-pedagogical ideas for schools—from Montessori and Makarenko to John Dewey—and interviewed students at the Summerhill boarding school in Suffolk on what it is like to attend the oldest democratic school in the world. Starting from the building plans for the boarding school and buildings from the architect Zaha Hadid, they designed 3D plans for alternative school concepts. Whether riding arena, swimming pool, cinema, or cafeteria—all the results were compiled in a book.

The Nelson-Mandela-Schule is an integrated secondary school with an upper grammar school and a UNESCO project school in the Wilmersdorf district of Berlin. It is an international, bilingual school. Lessons are held in German or English. With the teacher Hanna Lentz.

Nika Dubrovsky is an artist. She is the initiator of the project Anthropology for Kids, inspired by soviet children’s literature, established in Berlin in 2008. In 2015, together with the Karussell e. V., she organized the workshop Mein Museum for children aged 6 and up and published a free writing practice book in Russian.

In collaboration with Neue Auftraggeber

Sa 20.10.: Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr…

Future Schools

Nelson-Mandela-Schule mit Nika Dubrovsky

© Hanna Lentz

© Hanna Lentz

In welchen Architekturen macht lernen Spaß? Wird man sich in Zukunft seine Unterrichtszeiten aussuchen können? Wird man überhaupt noch Unterricht haben? Über das komplette Schuljahr 2017/18 entwickelten Schüler*innen der Klassen 9 und 10 Ideen, wie Schulgebäude künftig aussehen könnten. Sie setzten sich mit reformpädagogischen Schulideen auseinander – von Montessori über Makarenko bis John Dewey – und befragten die Schüler*innen des Summerhill Internats in Suffolk, wie es ist, eine der ältesten demokratischen Schulen der Welt zu besuchen. Ausgehend von den Gebäudeplänen des Internats und Bauten der Architektin Zaha Hadid entwarfen sie 3D Pläne für alternative Schulkonzepte. Ob Reitplatz oder Swimmingpool, Kino oder Cafeteria – alle Ergebnisse werden in einem Buch zusammengeführt.

Nelson-Mandela-Schule ist in eine Integrierte Sekundarschule mit gymnasialer Oberstufe und eine UNESCO-Projektschule in Berlin-Wilmersdorf. Sie ist eine internationale, bilinguale Schule. Der Unterricht findet auf Deutsch oder Englisch statt. Mit der Lehrerin Hanna Lentz

Nika Dubrovsky ist Künstlerin. Sie ist Initiatorin des 2008 in Berlin entstandenen Projekts Anthropology for Kids, inspiriert von sowjetischer Kinderliteratur. 2015 bot sie mit Karussell e.V. den Workshop Mein Museum an für Kinder ab 6 Jahren und veröffentlichte ein kostenloses Schreib-Übungsbuch auf Russisch.

In Zusammenarbeit mit Neue Auftraggeber