The School of Free Printing

Kopernikus-Oberschule with Virág Major and Gergely László

© The School of Free Printing

© The School of Free Printing

From the editorial concept and journalistic reporting, to printing with a Risograph: Inspired by the democratic principles of the reform pedagogue Célestin Freinet, who as early as the 1920s published texts from his school students and rejected hierarchies in schools, the collaboration between the students and the culture manager Virág Major and the artist Gergely László was built on discourse and self-determination—the students themselves decided when they worked, which themes were important to them, and how they could establish a consensus. During the course of a semester the grammar school students debated issues of learning, knowledge production, and the future of education.

The Kopernikus-Oberschule in the Steglitz district of Berlin is attended by ca. 610 students in the 7th to 10th grades and 290 in the upper school. With the teacher Johannes Bauer

Virág Major is a culture manager and curator in Berlin. She has worked for the Center for Contemporary Architecture in Budapest and the curatorial department of the documenta (13) as well as the Vasarely Museum of Fine Arts in Budapest. She is interested in art education with a focus on the development of self-empowering, informal, participative, and social learning formats and educational approaches.

Gergely László, together with Péter Rákosi, has directed the artists’ collective Technica Schweiz, located in Berlin and Budapest, since 2005. His projects explore issues of collaboration and community and are generally research based. Gergely László lives and works in Berlin and is a founding member of the Lumen Photography Foundation & Lumen Gallery in Budapest and IMPEX – Contemporary Art.

Bis Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

The School of Free Printing

Kopernikus-Oberschule mit Virág Major und Gergely László

© The School of Free Printing

© The School of Free Printing

Vom redaktionellen Konzept über journalistisches Schreiben bis hin zum Drucken mit einem Risograph: Inspiriert von den demokratischen Prinzipien des Reformpädagogen Célestin Freinet, der schon in den 1920er Jahren Texte seiner Schüler*innen veröffentlichte und Hierarchien in der Schule ablehnte beruht die Zusammenarbeit der Schüler*innen mit der Kulturmanagerin Virág Major und dem Künstler Gergely László auf Diskurs und Selbstbestimmung – die Schüler*innen entscheiden selbst, wann gearbeitet wird, welche Themen ihnen wichtig sind und wie sie einen Konsens finden. Ein Semester lang recherchieren und debattieren die Gymnasiast*innen über Bildung, Wissensproduktion und die Zukunft der Bildung

In der Kopernikus-Oberschule in Berlin-Steglitz werden in den Jahrgängen 7 bis 10 ca. 610 Schüler*innen unterrichtet, in der Oberstufe 290. Mit dem Lehrer Johannes Bauer

Virág Major ist Kulturmanagerin und Kuratorin in Berlin. Sie hat für das Zentrum Zeitgenössischer Architektur in Budapest und die kuratorische Abteilung der documenta (13) gearbeitet, außerdem am Vasarely-Museum für Bildende Kunst in Budapest. Sie interessiert sich für Kunsterziehung mit Schwerpunkt auf der Erarbeitung ermächtigender, informeller, partizipativer und sozialer Lernformate und Bildungsansätze.

Gergely László führt zusammen mit Péter Rákosi seit 2005 das Künstlerkollektiv Technica Schweiz mit Sitz in Berlin und Budapest. Seine Projekte setzen sich auseinander mit Kollaboration und Community und zumeist recherche-basiert. Gergely László lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und ist Gründungsmitglied von Lumen Photography Foundation & Lumen Gallery in Budapest und IMPEX – Contemporary Art.