Sound and Silence

HLW Krems with Veronika Großberger and Jorge Sanchèz-Chiong

© Florian Schulte

© Florian Schulte

What does school sound like? And will the school of tomorrow sound different? Students embarked on an acoustic journey of discovery, exploring the noises and sounds around the school and in the audio space of the Minoritenkirche in Krems. Using what they have heard as their starting material, the students compiled a sound map of the school which visually depicts the different audio qualities of the rooms. Using recording devices they collected sounds which were integrated into an audio trail installation—from school bells to echo sounds or playground noise. Using the pool of sounds anyone can compose their own school bell sound on the computer.

The HLW Krems is a Federal Higher Education Institute for fashion and economic professions. Thanks to its specialist theoretical and practical teaching it prepares students for a range of professions in the fields of economics, administration, tourism, nutrition, and fashion—without early specialization.

Veronika Großberger studied music and theatre studies in Vienna and cultural management in London. She was a scholarship holder of the Kölber Foundation (Masterclass on Music Education) from 2010-2012. Since 2013 she has worked as a music educator, designing projects for, amongst others, the Cologne Philharmonic Orchestra, the Tonspuren Festival in Irsee, and the Klangspuren Schwaz. She directs workshops in the school context which include cooperations with composers on musical and interdisciplinary themes. www.musikalischewunderkammer.com

Jorge Sánchez-Chiong has lived in Vienna since 1988 as a freelance artist. He studied composition under Francis Burt and Michael Jarrell at the University of Music and Performing Arts, Vienna. In 2015 he was a guest professor at the Institute for Computer Music and Sound Technology of the Zurich University of the Arts, and in 2016, for the fourth time, was a teacher at the International Summer Course for New Music Darmstadt. He has received commissions from the most important festivals for new music for a number of years, including Wien Modern and the Berliner Konzerthaus.

Supported by KulturKontakt Austria

Sound and Silence

HLW Krems mit Veronika Großberger und Jorge Sanchèz-Chiong

© Florian Schulte

© Florian Schulte

Wie klingt Schule? Und wird die Schule von morgen anders klingen? Schüler*innen begeben sich auf eine akustische Entdeckungsreise: Sie erkunden die Geräusche und Töne rund um ihre Schule und im Klangraum der Minoritenkirche in Krems. Ausgehend von dem Gehörten erstellen die Schüler*innen eine klangliche Kartografie der Schule, die die verschiedenen Klangqualitäten der Räume visuell darstellt. Mit Aufnahmegeräten sammeln sie Sounds, die in einem installativen Klangparcours zusammenfließen – von Schulglocken bis hin zu Hallengeräuschen oder Pausenhoflärm. Aus dem Fundus der Klänge kann sich jede*r seine*n eigenen Schulglockensound am Computer zusammenbauen.

Die HLW Krems ist eine Höhere Bundeslehranstalt für Mode und Höhere Bundeslehranstalt für wirtschaftliche Berufe. Durch ihre fachtheoretische und fachpraktische Ausbildung ermöglicht sie vielfältige Berufschancen in den Bereichen Wirtschaft, Verwaltung, Tourismus, Ernährung und Mode befähigen – ohne frühzeitige Spezialisierung.

Veronika Großberger studierte Musik- und Theaterwissenschaft in Wien und Kulturmanagement in London. 2010-12 war sie Stipendiatin der Körber-Stiftung (Masterclass on Music Education). Seit 2013 als Musikvermittlerin tätig, konzipierte sie u. a. Projekte für die Philharmonie Köln, das Festival Tonspuren in Irsee und die Klangspuren Schwaz. Sie leitet Workshops im schulischen Kontext, in denen sie mit Komponist*innen zu musikalischen und interdisziplinären Themen arbeitet. www.musikalischewunderkammer.com

Jorge Sánchez-Chiong lebt seit1988 als freischaffender Künstler in Wien. Er studierte Komposition bei Francis Burt und Michael Jarrell an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien. 2015 war er Gastprofessor am Institute for Computer Music and Sound Technology der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste und 2016 zum vierten Mal als Dozent bei den Internationalen Sommerkursen für Neue Musik Darmstadt. Seit Jahren erteilen ihm die wichtigsten Festivals für Neue Musik Aufträge, u. a. Wien modern und das Berliner Konzerthaus.

Unterstützt durch KulturKontakt Austria