Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

Anthropocene—Schools in the Geological Era of the Human

Fritz-Greve-Gymnasium Malchin and Projekthof Karnitz e. V.

© Fritz-Greve Gymnasium

© Fritz-Greve Gymnasium

The Earth is currently in a state of imbalance. Man’s impact on nature has changed the planet—researchers have coined the term “Anthropocene” to describe this phenomenon. The problems caused by man such as plastic in the oceans, polluted drinking water, and climate change are global. As a consequence, the United Nations has agreed on a set of 17 goals in order to restore the Earth’s balance in a joint effort with the member states. Taking these goals as their starting point, students of the 9th, 11th, and 12th grades posed the questions: How is the human geological age changing everyday life in schools? How can schools be sustainable? In answer to the challenges which the Anthropocene poses for education and schools the pupils developed research questions, concepts, and solutions together with teachers, mentors, and artists. How can energy be used more efficiently in the daily school routine? What would healthy school meals look like? And how can a school garden be financed? They designed a model for the prototype of a new school cafeteria and collected ideas for a mobility concept at the school which would do justice to the new relationships between nature and society.

The Fritz-Greve-Gymnasium Malchin has been an environmental school since 2004 and was awarded the Allianz Environmental Foundation’s Environmental Prize in 2010. The Fritz-Greve-Gymnasium Malchin is simultaneously an International Agenda 21 School with three stars (2006-2015).

The Projekthof Karnitz e.V. uses an old farmstead in Karnitz for student excursions and educational events and for work with children’s and young people’s groups within the framework of the UNESCO Global Action Programme (GAP) on Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) in Germany. It is composed of people who have experience in architecture and economics, in landscaping, the building of environmental and energy technology, who design learning projects, are trained in providing advice or organize self-help groups and festivities. They hold seminars, workshops, and work camps and cooperate closely with regional and national partners in order to realize their goals such as innovative technologies and products, the development of new forms of work, or the strengthening of regional production.

Anthropozän – Schule im Erdzeitalter des Menschen

Fritz-Greve-Gymnasium Malchin mit Projekthof Karnitz e.V.

© Fritz-Greve Gymnasium

© Fritz-Greve Gymnasium

Die Erde befindet sich aktuell in einer Schieflage. Der Einfluss des Menschen auf die Natur hat den Planeten verändert – Forscher*innen haben für dieses Phänomen den Begriff des „Anthropozäns“ geprägt. Die durch den Menschen versursachten Probleme wie Plastik in den Ozeanen, verschmutztes Trinkwasser oder der Klimawandel sind global. Die Vereinten Nationen haben daher 17 Ziele beschlossen, um gemeinsam mit den Mitgliedsstaaten die Erde wieder ins Gleichgewicht zu bringen. Ausgehend von diesen Zielen fragten die Schüler*innen der 9., 11. und 12. Klassen: Wie verändert das Erdzeitalter des Menschen den Schulalltag? Wie kann Schule nachhaltig sein? Zu den Herausforderungen des Anthropozäns an Bildung und Schule entwickelten die Schüler*innen mit Lehrer*innen, Mentor*innen und Künstler*innen Forscherfragen, Konzepte und Lösungsansätze. Wie lässt sich Energie im Schulalltag effizienter nutzen? Wie kann gesunde Schülerversorgung aussehen? Und wie lässt sich ein Schulgarten finanzieren? Sie entwarfen ein Modell für einen Prototypen einer neue Mensa und sammelten Ideen für ein Mobilitätskonzept in der Schule, das den neuen Beziehungen zwischen Natur und Gesellschaft gerecht wird.

Das Fritz-Greve-Gymnasium Malchin ist seit 2004 Umweltschule und wurde 2010 mit dem Umweltpreis der Allianz Umweltstiftung ausgezeichnet. Das Fritz-Greve-Gymnasium ist zugleich Internationale Agenda Schule 21 mit drei Sternen (2006-2015).

Der Projekthof Karnitz e.V. nutzt ein altes Bauerngehöft in Karnitz für studentische Exkursionen und Bildungsveranstaltungen und zur Arbeit mit Kinder- und Jugendgruppen im Rahmen der Bildung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (BNE). Er besteht aus Menschen, die Erfahrungen haben in Architektur und Ökonomie, in der Gestaltung von Landschaften, dem Bau von Umwelt- und Energietechniken, die Lernprojekte gestalten können, sich in Beratung geübt haben, Selbsthilfeprojekte und Feste machen. Sie veranstalten Seminare, Workshops und Workcamps und kooperieren eng mit regionalen und überregionalen Partnern, um ihre Ziele – wie Innovation angepasster Technologien und Produkte, Aufbau neuer Formen der Arbeit oder Stärkung regionaler Produktion – umzusetzen.