Algorithmic Spaces

Evangelische Schule Berlin Zentrum with Thomas Meyer (T(o)uring-Schule)

© Laura Fiorio / MVTphotography

© Laura Fiorio / MVTphotography

The school of the future will change. It will have to meet new substantive and didactic requirements. However, the buildings, the sites of learning and teaching, will probably not change so quickly. How can the new aims be best realized in the old rooms? What must a learning space offer? What functions and areas should it provide in order to enable future-proof teaching? Nineteen students explored abstract bodies and objects in space in order to liberate themselves from conventional spatial patterns and their implied behavioral rules. Thus, they tried to rethink and reinvent those spaces. Throughout the process algorithms provided guidelines for behavior and action. With their help the students were sensitized and their perception for proportionalities in analog and digital architectures was sharpened.

The Evangelische Schule Berlin Zentrum follows the guiding principles of Agenda 21, a non-binding action plan of the United Nations with regard to sustainable development. This forms the basis for the building of its “House of Learning” and the continual development of its school program. It cooperates closely with the district administration and numerous non-school partners in and outside Berlin. With the teachers Mira Thomson and Jan Florian Sievert

Thomas Meyer works as a communication and exhibition designer in Berlin. He teaches interaction and game design in Düsseldorf and Bielefeld. In 2016, together with Kaori Kristensen, he founded the T(o)uring-Schule (T(o)uring School), which helps state schools assess the impact of digitalization and utilize it for educational purposes. He has been a co-organizer of the conference Diskurs.Medien.Bildung. (Discourse.Media.Education.) since 2017.

Sa 20.10.: Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr…

Algorithmische Räume

Evangelische Schule Berlin Zentrum mit Thomas Meyer (T(o)uring-Schule)

© Laura Fiorio / MVTphotography

© Laura Fiorio / MVTphotography

Die Schule der Zukunft wird sich verändern. Sie wird neuen inhaltlichen und didaktischen Ansprüchen gerecht werden müssen. Die Gebäude, in denen gelernt und gelehrt wird, werden sich jedoch vermutlich nicht so schnell ändern. Wie gelangen daher die neuen Absichten am besten in die alten Räume? Was muss ein Lernraum bieten? Welche Funktionen und Bereiche sollte er anbieten, um einen zukunftsfähigen Unterricht zu ermöglichen? Neunzehn Schüler*innen setzten sich mit abstrakten Körpern und Objekten im Raum auseinander, um sich von gewohnten Raummustern und deren impliziten Verhaltensvorgaben zu lösen und Räume alternativ denken und neu erfinden zu können. Algorithmen bildeten dabei Verhaltens- und Handlungsanweisungen. Mithilfe der Algorithmen werden die Schüler*innen in der Wahrnehmung geschärft und sensibilisiert für Verhältnismäßigkeiten in analogen und digitalen Architekturen.

Die Evangelische Schule Berlin Zentrum richtet sich an den Leitideen der Agenda 21 aus. Auf dieser Basis baut sie ihr „Haus des Lernens“ auf und entwickelt ihr Schulprogramm kontinuierlich weiter. Es besteht eine enge Kooperation mit dem Bezirk und zahlreichen außerschulischen Partnern in- und außerhalb Berlins. Mit den Lehrer*innen Mira Thomson und Jan Florian Sievert

Thomas Meyer arbeitet als Kommunikations- und Ausstellungsdesigner in Berlin. Er lehrt Interaction- und Gamedesign in Düsseldorf und Bielefeld. 2016 gründete er gemeinsam mit Kaori Kristensen die T(o)uring-Schule, die öffentliche Schulen darin unterstützt, die Folgen von Digitalität zu ermessen und für die Schulentwicklung zu nutzen. Seit 2017 ist er Mitorganisator der Konferenz Diskurs.Medien.Bildung.