Curators

Anselm Franke is a curator and writer based in Berlin. He is Head of Visual Art and Film at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW), where he co-curated The Anthropocene Project (2013–2014), and the exhibitions The Whole Earth; After Year Zero (both 2013), Forensis (2014), Ape Culture (2015), and Nervous Systems (2016), among others. In 2012, he curated the Taipei Biennial. Franke’s exhibition project Animism has been presented in Antwerp, Bern, Vienna, Berlin, New York, Shenzhen, Seoul, and Beirut in various collaborations from 2010 to 2014. Previously, Franke was curator at KW Berlin and director of Extra City Kunsthal, Antwerpen. He completed his PhD at Goldsmiths College London.

Nida Ghouse is a writer and curator. Her ongoing writing project "Lotus Notes” has appeared variously in Mada Masr (Cairo 2014), After Year Zero (The University of Chicago Press 2015), ARTMargins (The MIT Press 2016), and Critical Writing Ensembles (Mousse Publishing 2016). Alongside Parapolitics, her current curatorial projects include The Matrix of All Possible Narratives (with Anselm Franke and Erhard Schüttpelz, forthcoming) at Haus der Kulturen der Welt. She was director of Mumbai Art Room from 2015 to early 2017.

Paz Guevara is a curator, researcher and author based in Berlin. Currently, she is collaborating in the long-term project Kanon-Fragen at HKW. She contributed to Past Disquiet at HKW with research on Latin American artists and museums involved in the solidarity movement. Among others, Guevara has been co-curator of In Other Words: The Black Market of Translations—Negotiating Contemporary Cultures at NGBK (Berlin, 2012); the Latin American Pavilion at the 55th and 54th Venice Biennale (2013 and 2011) and Comunidad Ficticia in Matucana 100 (Santiago, Chile, 2009). For the 7th Berlin Biennale in 2012, she conceived the workshop for young curators Curating in Times of Need.

Antonia Majaca is an art historian, curator and writer based in Berlin as well as the research leader at the IZK Institute for Contemporary Art at the Graz University of Technology. Antonia lectures regularly and has contributed to numerous publications in the field of contemporary art and art history. In collaboration with Angela Dimitrakaki and Sanja Iveković she instigated the aural intervention Art of The Possible: Towards the International Antifascist Feminist Front, and co-curated the discursive program Women's Work in Revolt for Documenta 14 in Athens (2017). Her recently curated conferences include Knowledge Forms and Forming Knowledge - Limits and Horizons of Transdisciplinary Art-Based Research at the Halle für Kunst & Medien, Graz and Memorial For(u)ms – Histories of Possibility for DAAD and HAU - Hebel am Ufer Theater, Berlin. Her earlier work includes numerous publications and exhibitions cocurated with Ivana Bago through Delve – Institute for Duration, Location and Variables that they cofounded in 2009.

Kurator*innen

Anselm Franke lebt als Kurator und Autor in Berlin. Er ist Leiter des Bereichs Bildende Kunst und Film am Haus der Kulturen der Welt, wo er u. a. Das Anthropozän-Projekt (2013-2014) und die Ausstellungen Forensis (2014), Ape Culture (2015) und Nervöse Systeme (2016) ko-kuratierte. 2012 war er Kurator der Taipeh-Biennale. Frankes Ausstellungsprojekt Animismus wurde zwischen 2010 und 2014 in Antwerpen, Bern, Wien, Berlin, New York, Shenzhen, Seoul und Beirut präsentiert. Zuvor war Franke Kurator im KW Berlin und Direktor der Extra City Kunsthal, Antwerpen. Seinen Doktor erhielt er vom Goldsmiths College London.

Nida Ghouse ist Schriftstellerin und Kuratorin. Ihr literarisches Langzeitprojekt „Lotus Notes“ erschien mehrfach in der Online-Zeitung Mada Masr (Kairo, 2014), in After Year Zero (2015), im MIT Press journal ARTMargins (2016), sowie in den Critical Writing Ensembles (2016). Neben Parapolitik kuratiert sie aktuell The Matrix of All Possible Narratives (mit Anselm Franke und Erhard Schüttpelz, 2020 im HKW). Von 2015 bis Anfang 2017 war Nida Ghouse Kuratorin des Mumbai Art Room.

Paz Guevara ist Kuratorin, Wissenschaftlerin und Autorin in Berlin. Aktuell arbeitet sie am Langzeitprojekt Kanon-Fragen des HKW. Aus ihrer Forschung zum Engagement lateinamerikanischer Künstler und Museen für die Solidaritätsbewegung lieferte sie Beiträge zum HKW-Programm Past Disquiet. Paz Guevara ko-kuratierte außerdem unter anderem In Other Words: The Black Market of Translations—Negotiating Contemporary Cultures an der NGBK (Berlin, 2012); den Lateinamerika-Pavillon der 55. und 54. Biennale von Venedig (2011 und 2013) sowie Comunidad Ficticia in Matucana 100 (Santiago, Chile, 2009). Für die 7. Berlin Biennale entwickelte sie 2012 den Workshop für junge Kuratoren Curating in Times of Need.

Antonia Majaca ist Kunsthistorikerin, Kuratorin und Autorin in Berlin und als Forschungsleiterin am IZK Institut für zeitgenössische Kunst an der TU Graz tätig. Neben ihrer Lehrtätigkeit publiziert sie umfänglich zu zeitgenössischer Kunst und Kunstgeschichte. Zusammen mit Angela Dimitrakaki und Sanja Iveković initiierte sie die aurale Intervention Art of The Possible: Towards the International Antifascist Feminist Front und ko-kuratierte das diskursive Programm Women's Work in Revolt für die Documenta 14 in Athen (2017). In jüngerer Zeit kuratierte sie die Konferenzen Knowledge Forms and Forming Knowledge - Limits and Horizons of Transdisciplinary Art-Based Research in der Halle für Kunst & Medien, Graz sowie die Memorial For(u)ms – Histories of Possibility für DAAD und HAU - Hebbel am Ufer. Zu ihren früheren Arbeiten zählen zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen und Ausstellungen des 2009 zusammen mit Ivana Bago gegründeten Delve – Institute for Duration, Location and Variables.