Give me the Good Life!

Sophie-Scholl-Schule/ Katja Berls and Aline Reinsbach, filmArche

New Experts! | filmArche: Aline Reinsbach and Katja Berls & Sophie-Scholl-Schule | Her mit dem schönen Leben! | photo: Katja Berls

New Experts! | filmArche: Aline Reinsbach and Katja Berls & Sophie-Scholl-Schule | Her mit dem schönen Leben! | photo: Katja Berls

Traditional interviews, filmed discussions with experts or observations of one's own family: in very different ways, the students grappled with their thoughts and their experiences of displacement, migration and racism in everyday life. In doing so, documentary short films were produced independently by the students from the idea all the way to final editing.

Sophie-Scholl-Schule is an integrated secondary school and German/French Staatliche Europa-Schule in Berlin Schöneberg.

filmArche e.V. Berlin is a self-organized film school, which, since 2003, has offered courses in directing, documentary film direction, montage, camera, screenplay and production, focusing on the practical implementation of film projects.

Katja Berls is a filmmaker. After studying media culture at the University of Hamburg, she studied directing at the filmArche in Berlin. She has realized TV segments for Kurzschluss on Arte and worked as a set recording manager for various television and cinema, documentary and feature films. Apart from her work as a director, she has regularly directed film and photography workshops since 2010.

Aline Reinsbach is a freelance camera operator, filmmaker and lecturer. She studied camera at the filmArche and has been a member of the board since her graduation in 2014.

Her mit dem schönen Leben!

Sophie-Scholl-Schule/ Katja Berls und Aline Reinsbach, filmArche

Neue Expert*innen! | filmArche: Aline Reinsbach und Katja Berls & Sophie-Scholl-Schule | Her mit dem schönen Leben! | Foto: Katja Berls

Neue Expert*innen! | filmArche: Aline Reinsbach und Katja Berls & Sophie-Scholl-Schule | Her mit dem schönen Leben! | Foto: Katja Berls

Klassische Interviews, filmisch begleitete Diskussionen mit Expert*innen oder Beobachtungen der eigenen Familie – auf ganz unterschiedliche Weise setzten sich die Schüler*innen mit ihren Gedanken und ihren Erfahrungen zu Flucht, Migration und Rassismus im Alltag auseinander. Dabei entstanden dokumentarische Kurzfilme, die die Schüler*innen von der Idee bis zum Schnitt eigenständig umsetzten.

Die Sophie-Scholl-Schule ist eine integrierte Sekundarschule und Staatliche Europa-Schule Deutsch/Französisch in Berlin Schöneberg.

Die filmArche e.V. Berlin ist eine selbstorganisierte Filmschule, die seit 2003 Ausbildungen in den Bereichen Regie, Dokumentarfilmregie, Montage, Kamera, Drehbuch und Produktion anbietet und hierbei die praktische Umsetzung von Filmprojekten ins Zentrum stellt.

Katja Berls Berls ist Filmemacherin. Nach ihrem Medienkultur Studium an der Hamburger Universität studierte sie Regie an der filmArche in Berlin. Sie hat u. a. TV-Beiträge für das Kurzschluss Magazin auf Arte realisiert und für diverse TV- und Kino-, Dokumentar- und Spielfilme gearbeitet. Neben ihrer Arbeit als Regisseurin leitet sie seit 2010 regelmäßig Film- und Fotografieworkshops.

Aline Reinsbach is a freelance camera operator, filmmaker and lecturer. She studied camera at the filmArche and has been a member of the board since her graduation in 2014.