Death on the Nile! - The Original!

Peter-Ustinov-Schule with Cana Bilir-Meier and Ana Hoffner

New Experts! | Cana Bilir-Meier and Ana Hoffner & Peter-Ustinov-Schule | Death on the Nile - The Original

New Experts! | Cana Bilir-Meier and Ana Hoffner & Peter-Ustinov-Schule | Death on the Nile - The Original

The students dealt with the 1978 film adaptation of Agatha Christie's novel Death on the Nile, in which their school’s namesake played a leading role. They slipped into the roles of the actors and documented the reenactment with photographs. The aim of this visual and narrative discussion was to expose and to alter Orientalist images of Egypt against the background of their influence to the present-day.

Peter-Ustinov-Schule is an integrated secondary school and German/English Staatliche Europa-Schule in Berlin Charlottenburg.

Cana Bilir-Meier studied art and digital media at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. At present, she is a scholarship holder of kültür gemma!, a project promoting urban culture in Vienna and immigrant art and cultural production. In 2016, she received the Birgit Jürgenssen Prize. She works with video, text, installation and performance. Bilir-Meier’s artistic and political approaches describe the relationship between the critical representation of migration and history, decolonial knowledge, archive politics and remembrance.

In her artistic practice, Ana Hoffner devotes herself to the exploration of conflict-laden moments in history and politics and looks for queer aspects in their visual representations. In performances, video and photo installations, Hoffner creates temporalities, relationships and spaces between established perspectives, iconic memories and high-performance events. Hoffner uses various modes of appropriation, such as the re-enactment of photographs, interviews and reports, or the decoupling of body and voice, sound and image.

Tod auf dem Nil! - Das Original!

Peter-Ustinov-Schule mit Cana Bilir-Meier und Ana Hoffner

Neue Expert*innen! | Cana Bilir-Meier und Ana Hoffner & Peter-Ustinov-Schule | Death on the Nile - The Original

Neue Expert*innen! | Cana Bilir-Meier und Ana Hoffner & Peter-Ustinov-Schule | Death on the Nile - The Original

Die Schüler*innen setzten sich mit der 1978er Verfilmung von Agatha Christies Roman Tod auf dem Nil auseinander, der den Namensgeber ihrer Schule in einer Paraderolle zeigt. Sie schlüpften in die Rollen der Darsteller*innen und dokumentierten das Reenactment durch Fotografien. Ziel dieser visuellen und narrativen Auseinandersetzung war es, orientalistische Bilder von Ägypten vor dem Hintergrund ihrer Fortwirkung bis in die Gegenwart aufzudecken und zu verändern.

Die Peter-Ustinov-Schule ist eine integrierte Sekundarschule und Staatliche Europa-Schule Deutsch/Englisch in Berlin Charlottenburg.

Cana Bilir-Meier studierte Kunst und Digitale Medien an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien. Zurzeit ist sie Stipendiatin von kültür gemma!, einem Projekt zur Förderung der Stadtkultur in Wien und von migrantischer Kunst- und Kulturproduktion. 2016 erhielt sie den Birgit-Jürgenssen-Preis. Sie arbeitet mit Video, Text, Installation und Performance. Bilir-Meiers künstlerische und politische Zugänge beschreiben die Beziehung zwischen kritischer Repräsentation von Migration und Geschichte, dekolonialem Wissen, Archivpolitiken und Erinnerungsformen.

Ana Hoffner widmet sich in ihrer künstlerischen Praxis der Sondierung konfliktbeladener Momente in Geschichte und Politik und sucht nach queeren Aspekten in deren bildkulturellen Repräsentationen. In Performances, Video- und Fotoinstallationen stellt Hoffner Zeitlichkeiten, Beziehungen und Räume zwischen etablierten Perspektiven, ikonischen Erinnerungen und hochperformativen Ereignissen her. Hoffner verwendet dabei verschiedene Modi der Aneignung, wie die Neuinszenierung von Fotografien, Interviews und Berichten oder die Entkopplung von Körper und Stimme, Klang und Bild.