Album Covers - Berlin Bands of Tomorrow

Alfred-Nobel-Schule with Isabell Spengler

New Experts! | Isabell Spengler & Alfred-Nobel-Schule | Album Covers – Berlin Bands of Tomorrow

New Experts! | Isabell Spengler & Alfred-Nobel-Schule | Album Covers – Berlin Bands of Tomorrow

Students from a tenth grade and a ‘welcome class’ at the German-Italian school joined together in fictional bands and visualized their view of Berlin by designing album covers. In a playful process with a photographic investigation at Alexanderplatz, reenacting a photo shooting in a studio, and the experimental design of moving photo backgrounds in shoeboxes, the students explored the possibilities of representing music and their identities as a fictional band. The record covers appear under band names such as "Die Frage" (The Question) or "Anonymous" and with song titles in various languages, including "Fulmine" (Italian for lightning), "Yazidis" and "Turn Alexander" (Romanian for Alexander Tower, a landmark of Berlin).

Alfred-Nobel-Schule is an integrated secondary school and German/Italian Staatliche Europa-Schule in Berlin Neukölln. With Ella Nana Agyemang, Alina Francesca Costin, Ana Maria Costin, Abdullah Al Abdullah, Vinuar Tallal Turki, Nawar Tallal Turki, Mara Piras, Angelo Smiroldo, Michelangelo Ciccarese, Teodora Atanasova, Andrea Margot Montedoro, Katherine Ogana and others

Isabell Spengler is a filmmaker working within the realms of both film and performance. In collaborations, Spengler develops concepts and experiments in which pictorial representations are transformed into cinematic structures using photography, drawing, performance, costume design and model making. She studied under Valie Export and Heinz Emigholz at the Berlin University of the Arts and under James Benning at the California Institute of the Arts. Since 2004, she has been teaching at the Universität der Künste Berlin.

Album Covers - Berlin Bands of Tomorrow

Alfred-Nobel-Schule mit Isabell Spengler

Neue Expert*innen! | Isabell Spengler & Alfred-Nobel-Schule | Album Covers – Berlin Bands of Tomorrow

Neue Expert*innen! | Isabell Spengler & Alfred-Nobel-Schule | Album Covers – Berlin Bands of Tomorrow

Schüler*innen einer zehnten Klasse und einer Willkommensklasse der deutsch-italienischen Schule schlossen sich zu fiktiven Bands zusammen, um mit dem Entwurf von Plattencovern ihre Sicht auf Berlin zu visualisieren. In einem spielerischen Prozess mit einer fotografischen Recherche am Alexanderplatz, der Selbstinszenierung als Band in einem Fotostudio und der experimentellen Gestaltung von bewegten Foto-Hintergründen in Schuhkartons untersuchten sie Möglichkeiten der Repräsentation von Musik und ihrer Identität als fiktionale Band. Die Plattencover erscheinen unter Bandnamen wie "Die Frage" oder "Anonymous" und mit Songtiteln in verschiedenen Sprachen, darunter "Fulmine" (italienisch für Blitz), "Yazidis" (englisch für Jesiden) und "Turn Alexander" (rumänisch für Alexanderturm).

Die Alfred-Nobel-Schule ist eine integrierte Sekundarschule und Staatliche Europa-Schule Deutsch/Italienisch in Berlin Neukölln. Mit Ella Nana Agyemang, Alina Francesca Costin, Ana Maria Costin, Abdullah Al Abdullah, Vinuar Tallal Turki, Nawar Tallal Turki, Mara Piras, Angelo Smiroldo, Michelangelo Ciccarese, Teodora Atanasova, Andrea Margot Montedoro, Katherine Ogana u. a.

Isabell Spengler ist Filmemacherin und arbeitet im Spannungsfeld von Film und Performance. In Kollaborationen entwickelt Spengler Konzepte und Versuchsanordnungen, in denen Bildvorstellungen mithilfe von Fotografie, Zeichnung, Performance, Kostümdesign und Modellbau in filmische Strukturen überführt werden. Sie studierte bei Valie Export und Heinz Emigholz an der Universität der Künste Berlin sowie bei James Benning am California Institute of the Arts. Sie lehrte Experimentelle Filmgestaltung an der Universität der Künste Berlin (2004 bis 2014), und leitete zahlreiche Workshops an Kunsthochschulen, unter anderen an der Merz Akademie in Stuttgart und am Novia Scotia College of Art & Design in Halifax, Kanada.