Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

1948

16 December, 1947 – Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ, USA
A plastic triangle equipped with two separated gold foils makes contact with a semiconductor, a sheet of Germanium. The first point-contact transistor is born and will go on to revolutionize electronics.

24 March, 1948 – Havana, Cuba
56 nations sign the Havana Charter establishing the International Trade Organization and an International Clearing Union paving the way for a supranational currency, the bancor. Neither the charter nor the bancor came into force, failing approval from the US Congress.

24 March – Hotel Commodore, New York City, NY, USA
Norbert Wiener, Claude Shannon and John von Neumann give successive speeches during a special session on “Advances Significant to Electronics” at the national convention of the Institute of Radio Engineers. The respective titles of their speeches are “Cybernetics”, “Information Theory”, and “Computer Theory”.

21 April - Haifa, Palestine
In an operation by the Jewish Haganah, the port of Haifa is seized along with its refineries and its terminal to the British Haifa-Mosul pipeline. The capture is met with an Iraqi workers’ strike at the K3 pumping station near Haditha. Just two points of connection in the battle geography of resource commerce and colonial history amidst the escalations of the 1948 Palestine War and only weeks before the establishment of the State of Israel.

26 May - South Africa
The National Party is elected on a platform of “apartheid” – a form of bureaucratic governance that would sort people based on perceived race using registries and identification techniques that excluded “non-white” people from economic and political participation.

1 June – Mayak plant near Chelyabinsk, USSR
The first nuclear reactor for the industrial creation and refining of weapons-grade plutonium commences production. A year later, the first Soviet bomb explodes, spurring a period of excessive nuclear weapons testing together with its associated radioactive contamination of vast areas of land and global fallout of radioactive material.

1 June - New Delhi, India
The only Indian national ever to hold the office as Governor General of India, Chakravarti Rajagopalachari, takes over amidst violent clashes between Sikhs, Muslims, and Hindus responding to the 1947 partition of the subcontinent and the complexities of re-organizing newly independent Pakistan and India.

21 June – Victoria University, Manchester, UK
The first stored-program computer, the “Small Scale Experimental Machine,” runs its first program.

19 July – General Electric Company, Schenectady, NY, USA
Irving Langmuir publishes the results of his cloud seeding experiment: “The growth of particles in smoke and clouds and the production of snow from supercooled clouds.” This article ignites weather modification experiments and schemes throughout the world.

20 August - Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA
John Cage premiers one of his first “prepared piano” pieces during a summer session at the Black Mountain College. Unlike other, more compositional, approaches to music at that time, this piece started from the structure of the instrument itself; something that could also be said about the BMC’s own approach to education.

30 July – Nuremberg, Germany
The second of three trials of leading industrialists ends with the conviction of 13 directors, leading researchers and planners of IG Farben. The conglomerate of chemical firms was responsible for the production of Zyklon B and crimes against humanity in territories occupied by Germany during the Second World War. IG Farben was also in charge of the synthesizing of gasoline and rubber from coal, greatly contributing to Germany's ability to wage a war despite having been cut off from all major oil fields.

5 October – Fontainebleau, France
The International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN) is founded.

20 October – Moscow, USSR
The USSR Council of Ministers decree Stalin’s Great Plan for the Transformation of Nature.

22 October– Rochester, NY, USA
The Haloid Company makes the first public announcement of xerography. A year later, the company ships the first commercial photocopier: the XeroX Model A Copier.

4 December – Barnhill, Scotland
George Orwell sends the final manuscript of “Nineteen Eighty-Four” to his publisher.

10 December - Paris, France
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) is adopted by the United Nations General Assembly.

So 27.5. Verkehrsbehinderungen rund um das HKW mehr

1948

16. Dezember 1947 – Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, USA
Ein mit zwei voneinander getrennten Goldfolien beklebtes Kunststoffdreieck berührt einen Halbleiter, eine Germaniumplatte. Der erste Transistor wird fortan die Elektronik revolutionieren.

24. März 1948 – Havanna, Kuba
56 Nationen unterzeichnen die Havanna-Charta zur Gründung der Internationalen Handelsorganisation sowie einer Internationalen Clearing Union, und ebnen damit gleichzeitig den Weg für eine supranationale Währung, den Bancor. Weder die Charta noch der Bancor treten in Kraft, da der US-Kongress seine Zustimmung verweigert.

24. März – Hotel Commodore, New York City, USA
Auf dem nationalen Kongress des Institute of Radio Engineers halten Norbert Wiener, Claude Shannon und John von Neumann während einer Sondersitzung zum Thema „Maßgebende Entwicklungen in der Elektronik“ drei aufeinander folgende Vorträge mit den Titeln „Kybernetik“, „Informationstheorie“ und „Theorie des Computers“.

21. April – Haifa, Palästina
In einer Operation der jüdischen Hagana wird der Hafen von Haifa samt den Raffinerien und des Terminals der britischen Haifa-Mosul-Pipeline in Besitz genommen. Gleichzeitig beginnt an der K3-Pumpstation bei Haditha im Irak ein Streik. Dies sind nur zwei Verbindungen in der Kriegsgeographie zwischen Ressourcenhandel und Kolonialgeschichte inmitten des eskalierenden Palästinakrieges von 1948, wenige Wochen vor der Gründung des Staates Israel.

26. Mai – Südafrika
Die Herenigde Nasionale Party wird nach den Regeln der „Apartheid“ gewählt – eine Form der bürokratischen Regierungsführung, die Menschen auf Grundlage der Rassenauffassung klassifiziert und „nicht-weiße“ Menschen mit Hilfe von Registern und Identifizierungstechniken von der Teilnahme an Wirtschaft und Politik ausschließt.

1. Juni – Majak-Anlage bei Tscheljabinsk, UdSSR
Der erste Kernreaktor zur industriellen Herstellung und Aufbereitung von waffenfähigem Plutonium beginnt mit seiner Produktion. Ein Jahr später explodiert die erste sowjetische Bombe und leitet eine Zeit ausgeweiteter Atomwaffentests ein. Damit einher geht die Kontamination weitläufiger Gebiete und der weltweit messbare Niederschlag von radioaktivem Material.

1. Juni – Neu-Delhi, Indien
Chakravarti Rajagopalachari übernimmt als erster und einziger indischer Staatsbürger das Amt des Generalgouverneurs von Indien. Gleichzeitig kommt es als Reaktion auf die Teilung des Subkontinents von 1947 und die damit einhergehende, umfangreiche Neuordnung der jüngst für unabhängig erklärten Staaten Pakistan und Indien zu gewalttätigen Auseinandersetzungen zwischen Sikhs, Muslimen und Hindus.

21. Juni – Victoria University, Manchester, UK
Auf der „Small Scale Experimental Machine“, dem ersten Computer mit Programm- und Arbeitsspeicher, läuft erstmals eine Routine.

19. Juli – General Electric Company, Schenectady, New York, USA
Irving Langmuir veröffentlicht in seinem Artikel „Partikelwachstum in Rauch und Wolken und die Entstehung von Schnee in unterkühlten Wolken“ die Ergebnisse seiner Experimente mit Wolkenimpfungen und gibt Anstoß für weltweite Vorhaben und Experimente zur künstlichen Wetterbeeinflussung.

20. August – Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Während einer Sommersitzung am Black Mountain College führt John Cage eines seiner ersten Stücke eines „präparierten“ Klaviers vor. Anders als zu dieser Zeit üblich, basiert die Technik nicht auf einem kompositorischen Zugang zur Musik, sondern auf der Struktur des Instruments selbst - ein Ansatz, der sich auch im Bildungskonzept des BMC erkennen lässt.

30. Juli – Nürnberg, Deutschland
Der zweite von drei Prozessen über führende Großindustrielle endet mit der Verurteilung von 13 Direktoren, leitenden Forschern und Planern der IG Farben. Das Konglomerat von Chemieunternehmen war für die Produktion von Zyklon B und anderen Verbrechen gegen die Menschheit in den von Deutschland während des Zweiten Weltkriegs besetzten Gebieten verantwortlich. Mit der Synthese von Benzin und Kautschuk aus Kohle trug die IG Farben außerdem wesentlich dazu bei, Deutschland die andauernde Kriegsführung zu ermöglichen, obgleich es von allen großen Ölfeldern abgeschnitten war.

5. Oktober – Fontainebleau, Frankreich
Gründung der Internationalen Union zur Bewahrung der Natur und der natürlichen Ressourcen (IUCN).

20. Oktober – Moskau, UdSSR
Der Ministerrat der UdSSR erlässt den Großen Stalin-Plan zur Umgestaltung der Natur.

22. Oktober – Rochester, New York, USA
Die Haloid Company präsentiert zum ersten Mal öffentlich die Xerographie. Ein Jahr später bringt das Unternehmen den ersten kommerziellen Fotokopierer auf den Markt, den XeroX Modell A.

4. Dezember – Barnhill, Schottland
George Orwell schickt seinem Verleger das finale Manuskript von „Neunzehnhundertvierundachtzig“.

10. Dezember – Paris, Frankreich
Die Generalversammlung der Vereinten Nationen verkündet die Allgemeine Erklärung der Menschenrechte.