transmediale/ conversationpiece

Festival
2016, Feb 03, Wed — 2016, Feb 07, Sun

Nicolas Maigret | Drone-2000 | © Eastern Bloc & Luce Moreau

Nicolas Maigret | Drone-2000 | © Eastern Bloc & Luce Moreau

Under the name Conversation Piece, transmediale reboots the format of the post-digital culture event, creating a transitory space for discussion of the anxieties of late capitalism. Rather than a single-themed festival with separate exhibition and program sections, artistic and research practice will unfold live through discussions, workshops, temporary installations, performances, and various hybrid formats. Through the thematic streams that function as conversation starters, Anxious to Act, Anxious to Make, Anxious to Share, and Anxious to Secure, the Conversation Piece creates an occasion to reflect upon past transmediale themes while resolutely focusing on the ambiguity of present digital culture.

Participants include the artist duo Vermeir & Heiremans. Set in the worlds of high finance, their multichannel installation Masquerade is a combination of video tracks that are controlled by an algorithm to produce an ever-changing film that reflects the fluctuating values of art and the world markets.

Together with CTM – Festival for Adventurous Music and Art, transmediale will present a performance by the virtual pop star Hatsune Miku, whose character originates from an ongoing dialogue between fans and a global brand.

In collaboration with Berliner Gazette, transmediale/conversationpiece will host a series of workshops and round tables to discuss the commoning of the Snowden files as a kind of collective subconscious to be consulted regarding the social and political present and future.
A series of discussions called The Panic Room Sessions will serve as a space for participatory and in-depth reflection on the ongoing topics and projects of transmediale.

In 2017, transmediale turns 30. This anniversary has prompted an approach where transmediale 2016 and 2017 are conceptually linked to one another. Conversation Piece challenges its organizers as well as its participants to reflect on the future shape of cultural festivals. With its thematic streams and transitory formats, the 2016 edition will create a cursory index of the main topics of contemporary digital culture and the particular role of transmediale in this context. These will be developed further at the 30-year anniversary festival, which will include an exhibition curated by Inke Arns.

transmediale is a project by Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH in collaboration with Haus der Kulturen der Welt. Since 2005 it has been a cultural institution of excellence by Kulturstiftung des Bundes, and in 2017 will celebrate its 30-year anniversary.

In cooperation

Program

The latest updates and the complete program on 2016.transmediale.de

transmediale/ conversationpiece

Festival
Mi, 03. Februar 2016 — So, 07. Februar 2016

Nicolas Maigret | Drone-2000 | © Eastern Bloc & Luce Moreau

Nicolas Maigret | Drone-2000 | © Eastern Bloc & Luce Moreau

Unter dem Namen Conversation Piece erfindet die transmediale das Format des postdigitalen kulturellen Events neu und schafft einen Raum, um die im Spätkapitalismus vorherrschenden Ängste und Unsicherheiten zu diskutieren. An die Stelle eines monothematischen Festivals mit separaten Ausstellungs- und Programmstrukturen rückt künstlerische und wissenschaftliche Praxis, die sich in Diskussionen, Workshops, temporären Installationen, Performances und verschiedenen hybriden Formaten entwickelt. Mit seinen vier thematischen Streams, Anxious to Act, Anxious to Make, Anxious to Share und Anxious to Secure, möchte Conversation Piece die Gelegenheit schaffen, über Themen vergangener transmediale-Ausgaben nachzudenken – und dabei die Vieldeutigkeit der gegenwärtigen digitalen Kultur in den Blick zu nehmen.

Unter den Teilnehmer*innen ist das Künstlerduo Vermeir & Heiremans: Ein eigens entwickelter Algorithmus steuert ihre Mehrkanal-Installation Masquerade, die sich im Kontext der Hochfinanz bewegt.
Gemeinsam mit CTM – Festival for Adventurous Music and Art präsentiert die transmediale den virtuellen Popstar Hatsune Miku, deren Figur durch einen fortlaufenden Dialog zwischen Fans und Marke entsteht.
Zusammen mit der Berliner Gazette werden verschiedene Workshops und Gespräche präsentiert, die das Snowden-Archiv als eine Art kollektives Unterbewusstsein diskutieren, das in Bezug auf unsere soziale und politische Gegenwart wie auch unsere Zukunft befragt werden soll.
Eine Reihe von Diskussionen wird unter dem Namen Panic Room Sessions mit ausführlichen partizipatorischen Reflexionen über Themen und Projekte der laufenden Veranstaltung zum Raum für Neuorientierung und Gespräche mit offenem Ende.

2017 wird die transmediale 30. Aufgrund des Jubiläums sind transmediale 2016 und 2017 konzeptuell miteinander verbunden. Conversation Piece fordert Veranstalter*innen wie Teilnehmer*innen dazu auf, die zukünftige Form kultureller Festivals zu reflektieren. Mit ihren thematischen Streams und transitorischen Formaten soll die nächste Ausgabe ein kursorisches Verzeichnis der Hauptthemen zeitgenössischer digitaler Kultur und der besonderen Rolle der transmediale in diesem Kontext bilden. Weiterentwickelt werden diese Themen bei der Jubiläumsausgabe des Festivals, die auch eine von Inke Arns kuratierte Ausstellung beinhalten wird.

Die transmediale ist ein Projekt der Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt. Die Kulturstiftung des Bundes fördert die transmediale seit 2005 als kulturelle Spitzeneinrichtung. 2017 feiert das Festival sein 30-jähriges Jubiläum.

In Kooperation

Programm

Detaillierte Informationen zum Programm auf 2016.transmediale.de