2015, Fri, Oct 02

Trauma: The Language of the Technosphere

The Technosphere, Now

Photo: Andreas Meichsner

Photo: Andreas Meichsner

With Rana Dasgupta, S. Løchlann Jain, Clapperton C. Mavhunga, Matteo Pasquinelli, Lucy A. Suchman

What happens when technology rivals nature in shaping the Earth? Starting with The Technosphere, Now, a four-year project investigates how social, environmental, and technological forces intertwine in the Anthropocene to form a technosphere.

How is the technosphere inscribed into individual human bodies? How are they restructured along a complex machinery of instruments, techniques, simulations? Which kinds of injuries and frictions result from it? Five lecture-performances offer close readings of traumatic interface between humans and technology in the technosphere.

In this investigation we explore trauma as a way of understanding the impact of the technosphere on individual bodies, based on the premise that the technosphere body is disclosed in and through trauma. This conception frees the notion of trauma from its hackneyed psychoanalytic treatment and locates it within a general process of ontological- and epistemological-becoming in the technosphere. It conceives of trauma in terms of processes of recursion, iteration, and memory, by which violence and disruption inscribe themselves within cultural and technological systems. When this happens, it becomes necessary for the individual, the culture, or the environment to create new ways of living with and around the scars left by a traumatic event. TRAUMA therefore invites reflection on this polymorphic process of wounding, recovery, and adaptive (or maladaptive) reiterations.

In this performance-lecture ethnographer S. Løchlann Jain examines how commodities and violence sustain one another in the technosphere. According to Jain, society dedicates ever-increasing sums of money to preserving life and preventing death on the highway. Yet the safety defined in this data is narrowly circumscribed by technical, economic, and even aesthetic imperatives of the auto-industry. In this performance Jain demonstrates the aesthetic limits of proof, demonstrations, and data on auto-deaths.

Do we have any real “memory” of traditional relationships to earth, to nature, and to society itself? Would the loss of such memories constitute a trauma? And if it did, how would this trauma display itself in the life of a society? In this panoramic presentation novelist Rana Dasgupta traces the data-trails of the technosphere, from rural artisan cultures of India through new cultures of global desire, making stop-offs at Facebook and Hollywood along the way.

What happens to warfare transposed from flesh to data? In this lecture anthropologist Lucy Suchman examines the connection between real and imagined trauma through a close-reading of Flatworld, a virtual world that trained U. S. soldiers for urban combat in Iraq.

Matteo Pasquinelli offers an archaeology of the cybernetic brain as it evolved from the interwar studies of German-Jewish neurologist Kurt Goldstein, to case light on the multiple possibilities and histories embedded in our age of ‘intelligent machines.’

How does anticolonial struggle define the limits to the technosphere? In this intervention historian of technology Clapperton Mavhunga examines how the traumatic effects of colonialism in Zimbabwe became a site for the construction of indigenous modes of politics and technology.

Fr, 02. Oktober 2015

Trauma: Die Sprache der Technosphäre

The Technosphere, Now

Foto: Andreas Meichsner

Foto: Andreas Meichsner

Mit Rana Dasgupta, S. Løchlann Jain, Clapperton C. Mavhunga, Matteo Pasquinelli, Lucy A. Suchman

Was geschieht, wenn das Technische mit dem Natürlichen um die Gestaltung der Welt konkurriert? Der Auftakt eines vierjährigen Forschungsprojekts untersucht, wie sich im Anthropozän menschliche, planetarische und technologische Kräfte zum gegenwärtigen Weltgefüge – der Technosphäre – verschalten.

Wie schreibt sich die Technosphäre in den individuellen Körper ein? Wie strukturiert er sich neu in einer komplexen Maschinerie von Instrumenten, Techniken und Simulationen? Und welche Verletzungen, welche Reibungsflächen ergeben sich daraus? Fünf Präsentationen, Lecture-Performances und Gespräche erkunden das Trauma als eine Möglichkeit, den Einfluss der Technosphäre auf individuelle Körper zu verstehen. Die grundlegende Prämisse dabei ist, dass die Technosphäre sich im Trauma und durch dieses offenbart. Fasst man all diese Untersuchungen zusammen, so bieten sie sowohl ein Bild menschlicher Verletzlichkeit in und angesichts der Technosphäre als auch ein Schema, nach dem weltweite Prozesse sich in einzelne Körper einschreiben.

In einer Lecture Performance untersucht die Anthropologin S. Løchlann Jain, wie Warenwelt und Gewalt einander in der Technosphäre bedingen. Die Gesellschaft wendet, so Jain, immer mehr Geld für Technologie auf, die den Straßenverkehr sicherer machen soll. Diese Sicherheit wird jedoch durch Daten definiert, die Menschenleben auf die eng gefassten technischen, wirtschaftlichen und sogar ästhetischen Maßgaben der Autoindustrie reduzieren. Wo verlaufen die Grenzen solcher ästhetischer Verwertung von Begriffen wie Beweis, Demonstration und von Datenerhebung überhaupt, wenn es um Unfälle und Verkehrstote geht?

Haben wir noch irgendeine reale „Erinnerung“ an traditionelle Beziehungen zur Erde, zur Natur und zur Gesellschaft als solcher? Könnte man sagen, dass der Verlust solcher Erinnerungen ein Trauma darstellt? Und falls ja: Wie äußert sich dieses Trauma im Leben einer Gesellschaft? In dieser Gesamtschau folgt der Schriftsteller Rana Dasgupta den Datenpfaden der Technosphäre von ländlichen Handwerkskulturen Indiens bis hin zu den neuen Kulturen der globalen Begierde, mit Zwischenstopps bei Facebook und in Hollywood.

Was geschieht, wenn der Krieg von Fleisch und Blut in die Datenwelt verlagert wird? In ihrem Vortrag untersucht die Anthropologin Lucy A. Suchman ausgehend von einer genauen Betrachtung der virtuellen, zur Vorbereitung amerikanischer Soldaten auf den Krieg im Irak entwickelten Flatworld, was reale und imaginäre Traumata miteinander verbindet.

Inwieweit bestimmt der Kampf gegen den Kolonialismus die Grenzen der Technosphäre? In seinem Beitrag untersucht der Technikhistoriker Clapperton C. Mavhunga, wie die traumatischen Folgen des Kolonialismus in Simbabwe zum Ausgangspunkt für spezifische, dort entstandene Formen von Politik und Technologie wurden.

Matteo Pasquinelli entwirft eine Archäologie des kybernetischen Gehirns und seiner Entwicklung aus den Forschungen des deutsch-jüdischen Neurologen Kurt Goldstein in der Zwischenkriegszeit, um die vielfältigen Potenziale und Ursprünge unseres Zeitalters „intelligenter Maschinen“ zu beleuchten.