Biographies

José Casanova

José Casanova is one of the world's top scholars in the sociology of religion. He is a professor at the Department of Sociology at Georgetown University, and heads the Berkley Center's Program on Globalization, Religion and the Secular. He has published works in a broad range of subjects, including religion and globalization, migration and religious pluralism, transnational religions, and sociological theory. His best-known work, Public Religions in the Modern World (1994), has become a modern classic in the field and has been translated into seven languages, including Japanese, Arabic, Turkish and Indonesian. In 2012, Casanova was awarded the Theology Prize from the Salzburger Hochschulwochen in recognition of life-long achievement in the field of theology.
Casanova’s most recent research has focused primarily on two areas: globalization and religion, and the dynamics of transnational religion, migration, and increasing ethno-religious and cultural diversity. His research on religion and globalization has adopted an ambitious comparative perspective that includes Catholicism, Pentecostalism and Islam. Some of his recent articles in this area include Public Religions Revisited (in Hent de Vries, ed., Religion: Beyond the Concept, Fordham University Press, 2008), Nativism and the Politics of Gender in Catholicism and Islam (in Hanna Herzog and Ann Braude, ed., Gendering Religion and Politics: Untangling Modernities, Palgrave, 2009), and Exploring the Postsecular (in Craig Calhoun et al., ed., Habermas and Religion, Polity Press, 2013). Some of his essays have appeared in German in Europas Angst vor der Religion (Berlin University Press, 2009). His co-edited publications include Topographies of Faith: Religion in Urban Spaces (Brill, 2013), Secular and Sacred. The Scandinavian Case of Religion in Human Rights, Law, and Public Space (Vandenhoek&Ruprecht, 2013), and Church and People. Disjunctions in a Secular Age (The Council for Research in Values and Philosophy, 2012).
His work on transnational migration and religion explores the incorporation of minorities and the construction of transnational networks, identities and structures. Some of his work in this area includes Immigration and the New Religious Pluralism: A EU/US Comparison (in Thomas Banchoff, ed., Democracy and the New Religious Pluralism, Oxford University Press, 2007). In addition, he has headed several major research projects focused on these topics, including Religion and Immigrant Incorporation in New York and The Religious Lives of Migrant Minorities: London, Johannesburg, Kuala Lumpur.

Sir David Chipperfield (London, UK)

David Chipperfield established David Chipperfield Architects in 1985. He was Professor of Architecture at the Staatliche Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart (Stuttgart State Academy of Art and Design) from 1995 to 2001, and Norman R. Foster Visiting Professor of Architectural Design at Yale University in 2011. He has taught and lectured worldwide at schools of architecture in Austria, Italy, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States. In 2012 Chipperfield curated the 13th International Architecture Exhibition of the Venice Biennale. He is an honorary fellow of both the American Institute of Architects and the Bund Deutscher Architekten (Association of German Architects), and a past winner of the Heinrich Tessenow Gold Medal. In 2010 Chipperfield received the Wolf Foundation Prize in the Arts, as well as the Grand DAI Award for Building Culture given by the Verband Deutscher Architekten- und Ingenieurvereine (associated societies of German architects and engineers). He holds honorary doctorates from Kingston University, UK (2009) and the University of Kent, UK (2010). In 2004 he was named Commander of the Order of the British Empire for his services to architecture. He was appointed a Royal Designer for Industry in 2006 and elected to the Royal Academy in 2008. In 2009 Chipperfield was awarded the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany – the highest tribute paid to individuals for service to the nation – and in 2010 he was knighted for his services to architecture in the UK and Germany. In 2011 he received the RIBA Royal Gold Medal for Architecture, and in 2013, the Praemium Imperiale from the Japan Art Association, both given in recognition of a lifetime’s work.

Chris Granlund (London, UK)

Chris Granlund is a BAFTA, Grierson, and Royal Television Society award-winning executive producer. He has also produced and directed many documentaries and docudramas on the arts, current affairs, and popular history. He is currently producing Jungle Atlantis, a two-part exploration of the rise and fall of the Khmer Empire – the civilization that built Angkor Wat – and Sex and the West, a three-part series about the way Christianity has shaped the Western world’s attitudes to sexuality and gender, presented by Professor Diarmaid MacCulloch. His past credits include: The Plantagenets, presented by Professor Robert Bartlett, and The Silent War, a two-part series on submariners in the Cold War. He was series producer of Andrew Marr’s History of Modern Britain, which won awards from RTS, Grierson, and BAFTA. He also produced the critically acclaimed BBC Two series The Normans and BBC One’s biggest-ever history project, History of the World.
Granlund was born in County Durham, England. He studied English literature and critical theory at the University of Wales, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, and the University of Illinois. His doctoral dissertation explored the development of the press under the Allied powers in Berlin after the Second World War. From 1988 to 1991, he was culture editor and then deputy editor of the monthly discussion journal Marxism Today. He joined the BBC as a researcher on The Late Show in August 1991. His films have been shown at festivals in Montreal, Naples, Rio de Janeiro, and Amsterdam. His Robert Rauschenberg profile, Man at Work, was screened at the Guggenheim Museums in New York and Bilbao as part of Rauschenberg’s 1997 retrospective. His docudrama Dickens: Secrets, presented by Peter Ackroyd, won the Best Arts Film prize at the 2003 Montreal Festival of Films on Art. Granlund lives in London with his husband and their two children.

Alexander Kluge (Munich, Germany)

Alexander Kluge, born in 1932, is a literary author and filmmaker. Kluge narrowly escaped death in the heavy bombardments of April 1945, and he portrayed this experience in Der Luftangriff auf Halberstadt am 8. April 1945, which was first published in 1977. From 1949 he studied law, church music, and history in Marburg and Frankfurt am Main. In 1956 he obtained his doctorate in law with the dissertation Die Universitäts-Selbstverwaltung (University Self-Government). Theodor W. Adorno, with whom Kluge became friends in Frankfurt, put him in contact with the film director Fritz Lang. Kluge was a cosignatory of the 1962 Oberhausen Manifesto published by a group of filmmakers calling for a renewal of German film along the lines of the French “nouvelle vague.” His literary debut, Lebensläufe, was also published in 1962; in the fall of that year he gave his first reading with the “Gruppe 47.” In 1966 he won the Silver Lion at the Venice Film Festival for his film Abschied von gestern. In the early 1970s he began a collaboration with Oskar Negt centering on the theoretical volumes Öffentlichkeit und Erfahrung (1972) and Geschichte und Eigensinn (1981). Beginning in the mid-1980s, Kluge focused on the commercial television audience. German law requires private broadcasting companies to give over a portion of their airtime to independent third parties. With his Development Company for Television Program (dctp), founded in 1988, Kluge secured airtime on private television – for both his own programming and the productions of partner companies such as Spiegel TV and stern TV. Dialog is at the heart of his cultural magazine programs, in which historical, aesthetic, scientific, or political questions are pursued in conversation with an expert from the respective field. Kluge also produces programs based on fabricated discussions featuring heavy use of the subjunctive. In such works with Peter Berling, Helge Schneider, or Hannelore Hoger, actual experience is not the starting point of the dialog; rather, the participants imagine and explore situations which might have taken place in a certain way. In his books, films, and television productions, the reality alongside the empirically perceptible world is central to Kluge’s method.
In 2000 Alexander Kluge returned to greater public awareness as an author with Chronik der Gefühle, a collection containing all of his stories published since his first book in 1962. In 2003 he was honored with the most important German literary award, the Georg Büchner Prize. Kluge’s literature is characterized by its “anti-rhetorical” bearing. He relies on a close connection between the words of the text and the objects or issues that they denote in reality, making use of the linguistic means that are available to us in daily communication. His stories make a lucid impression, yet in their totality and reciprocal commentary reveal an open narrative process.
Alexander Kluge received the German Film Award for his life’s work in 2008, the Theodor W. Adorno Award in 2009, and the Adolf Grimme Award in 2010.

Angelika Neuwirth (Berlin, Germany)

Angelika Neuwirth was educated in classical philology and Oriental studies (Arabic and Semitic studies) at the universities of Florence, Göttingen, Tehran, and Jerusalem, and at the Freie Universität Berlin. She earned her MA at The Hebrew University of Jerusalem in 1970, and her doctorate at the University of Göttingen in 1972 with the dissertation Abdallatif al-Baghdadis Kompendium zu Aristoteles’ Metaphysik, Buch Lambda. She gained her professorial qualification at the University of Munich in 1977 with her Studien zur Komposition der mekkanischen Suren. In 1977 she took up a guest professorship in Islamic philosophy at the University of Jordan, Amman (1977-1981), where she taught in Arabic. She then headed a department for Koranic studies at the Royal Academy for Islamic Civilization Research (Aal al-Bayt Institute), Amman (1981-1983). Following a teaching post at the University of Munich as a Heisenberg scholar (1984-1988), she accepted professorships at the University of Bamberg in 1988 and the Freie Universität Berlin in 1991. In 2007 she and her associates Michael Marx and Nicolai Sinai established the research project Corpus Coranicum at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities. Parallel to this, she has been involved in various projects conducted by fellows of the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin (Institute for Advanced Study), temporarily served as codirector of the Center for Literary and Cultural Research (ZfL), and annually taught courses in the year-long theological study program at the Dormition Abbey in Jerusalem.
In Germany Angelika Neuwirth has been eager to contribute to various scholarly initiatives pursued at the newly founded theology departments at various German universities. For her work in the area of hermeneutic translation between Islam and Europe, she has been honored with the Muhammad Nafi Tschelebi Award and membership in the Académie Tunisienne des Sciences, des Lettres et des Arts. She has achieved further academic recognition in the USA, most notably in the form of an honorary doctorate from Yale University, a Mellon Fellowship at the University of Chicago, and membership in the American Academy of Arts and Letters. In the German-speaking countries, she has received honorary doctorates from the theological faculties of the universities of Bamberg, Salzburg, and Basel. She maintains membership in the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina.
Focuses of her research include modern Arabic literature, particularly vis-à-vis Israeli literature, and, above all, the Koran as a text of the late antique period.

Saskia Sassen (New York, USA)

Saskia Sassen is the Robert S. Lynd Professor of Sociology and Co-Chair, The Committee on Global Thought, Columbia University (www.saskiasassen.com). Her research and writing focuses on globalization (including social, economic and political dimensions), immigration, global cities (including cities and terrorism), the new technologies, and changes within the liberal state that result from current transnational conditions. In addition to her appointments at Columbia University, Saskia Sassen serves on several editorial boards and is an advisor to several international bodies. She is a Member of the Council on Foreign Relations, and a member of the National Academy of Sciences Panel on Cities. She has received a variety of awards and prizes, most recently, a Doctor honoris causa from DePaul University (USA), University of Poitiers (France), Royal Stockholm Institute of Technology, Ghent University (Belgium), Warwick University (UK), Delft University (Netherlands), the first Distinguished Graduate School Alumnus Award of the University of Notre Dame, and was one of the four winners of the first University of Chicago Future Mentor Award covering all doctoral programs. Sassen has been chosen as one of the Top 100 Global Thinkers by Foreign Policy-2011, Top 100 Thought Leaders by GDI-MIT 2012 and 2013, and receiving the 2013 Principe de Asturias Prize for the Social Sciences. Her recent books are Territory, Authority, Rights: From Medieval to Global Assemblages (Princeton University Press 2008), A Sociology of Globalization (W.W.Norton 2007), and the 4th fully updated edition of Cities in a World Economy (Sage 2012). Among older books is The Global City (Princeton University Press 1991/2001). Her books are translated into over 20 languages. Her forthcoming book is Expulsions: Brutality and Complexity in the Global Economy (Harvard University Press 2014). She has written for The Guardian, The New York Times, Le Monde Diplomatique, the International Herald Tribune, Newsweek International,Vanguardia, Clarin, and the Financial Times, among others.

Richard Sennett (London, UK / New York, USA)

Richard Sennett has explored how individuals and groups make social and cultural sense of material facts – about the cities in which they live and about the labor they do. He focuses on how people can become competent interpreters of their own experience, despite the obstacles society may put in their way. His research entails ethnography, history, and social theory. As a social analyst, Sennett continues the pragmatist tradition begun by William James and John Dewey.
His first book, The Uses of Disorder (1970), looked at how personal identity takes form in the modern city. He then studied how working-class identities are shaped in modern society in The Hidden Injuries of Class, written with Jonathan Cobb (1972). This was followed by The Fall of Public Man (1977), a study of the public realm of cities. With Authority (1980), Sennett sought to give an accounting of the philosophic implications of his writings over the previous decade.
At this point he took a break from sociology, composing three novels: The Frog Who Dared to Croak (1982), An Evening of Brahms (1984), and Palais-Royal (1987). He then returned to urban studies with two books, The Conscience of the Eye (1990), which focused on urban design, and Flesh and Stone (1992), a general historical study of how bodily experience has been shaped by the evolution of cities.
In the mid-1990s, as the work-world of modern capitalism began to alter quickly and radically, Sennett launched a project charting its personal consequences for workers, which has carried him up to the present day. The first of these studies, The Corrosion of Character (1998), is an ethnographic account of how middle-level employees make sense of the “new economy.” The second in the series, Respect in a World of Inequality (2002), charts the effects that new ways of working have on the welfare state. A third, The Culture of the New Capitalism (2006), provides an overview of change. Most recently, Sennett has explored more positive aspects of labor in The Craftsman (2008) and Together: The Rituals, Pleasures and Politics of Cooperation (2012).
Among other awards, Richard Sennett has received the Hegel and Spinoza Prizes and an honorary degree from the University of Cambridge.

Joseph Vogl (Berlin, Germany)

Joseph Vogl is Professor of Modern German Literature, Cultural and Media Studies at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin as well as Permanent Visiting Professor at Princeton University. He has taught at institutions including Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in Munich, the University of California, Berkeley, and Indiana University Bloomington, USA, and has published numerous monographs and articles. In 1988 he received the DVA-Stiftung’s Translation Prize for the Promotion of Franco-German Relations for his translations of key works of modern French philosophy (including Gilles Deleuze: Difference and Repetition and J.-F. Lyotard: The Differend). His research focuses are the history and theory of knowledge; the history of danger and risk in the modern period; media and discourse theory; the history of literature from the 18th to the 20th century; and the “poetologies of knowledge” – the study of the relationships and interactions between forms of knowledge and poetic or aesthetic figures. He is the director or principal investigator of a range of research projects including Das Wissen der Literatur (PhD-Net), The Poetics of the Improbable (Collaborative Research Centre), and the Clusters of Excellence Image Knowledge Gestaltung and Topoi. Among his most important written works are the monographs Ort der Gewalt. Kafkas literarische Ethik; Kalkül und Leidenschaft. Poetik des ökonomischen Menschen; Über das Zaudern; and Das Gespenst des Kapitals. He and Alexander Kluge jointly published the book Soll und Haben, a selection of their shared television discussions.

Es gibt wieder Tickets für Angélique Kidjo und Chocolate Remix!

Biographien

José Casanova

José Casanova ist einer der weltweit führenden Religionssoziologen. Er ist Professor am Department of Sociology an der Georgetown University und leitet das Berkley Center Program on Globalization, Religion and the Secular. Er hat zu einer Vielzahl von Themen publiziert, unter anderem zu Religion und Globalisierung, Migration und religiösem Pluralismus, transnationalen Religionen und Soziologietheorie. Sein bekanntestes Buch Public Religions in the Modern World (1994) gilt auf seinem Gebiet als moderner Klassiker und wurde in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt, unter anderem ins Japanische, Arabische, Türkische und Indonesische. 2012 wurde Casanova in Anerkennung seiner Lebensleistung auf dem Gebiet der Theologie mit dem Theologiepreis der Salzburger Hochschulwochen ausgezeichnet.
Casanovas jüngste Forschung konzentriert sich vor allem auf zwei Gebiete: Globalisierung und Religion sowie die Dynamik transnationaler Religion, Migration und wachsender ethnisch-religiöser und kultureller Vielfalt. Seine Forschungen über Religion und Globalisierung nimmt eine ambitionierte komparative Perspektive ein, zu der der Katholizismus, die Pfingstbewegung und der Islam gehören. Zu seinen jüngsten Artikeln zu diesen Themen gehören Public Religions Revisited (in Hent de Vries, Hrgb., Religion: Beyond the Concept, Fordham University Press, 2008), Nativism and the Politics of Gender in Catholicism and Islam (in Hanna Herzog und Ann Braude, Hrgb., Gendering Religion and Politics: Untangling Modernities, Palgrave, 2009) und Exploring the Postsecular (in Craig Calhoun et al., Hrgb., Habermas and Religion, Polity Press, 2013). Einige seiner Aufsätze sind auch auf Deutsch in Europas Angst vor der Religion (Berlin University Press, 2009) erschienen. Zu den von ihm mit herausgegebenen Publikationen gehören Topographies of Faith: Religion in Urban Spaces (Brill, 2013), Secular and Sacred: The Scandinavian Case of Religion in Human Rights, Law, and Public Space (Vandenhoek&Ruprecht, 2013) und Church and People: Disjunctions in a Secular Age (The Council for Research in Values and Philosophy, 2012).
Seine Arbeit über transnationale Migration und Religion widmet sich der Eingliederung von Minderheiten und dem Aufbau transnationaler Netzwerke, Identitäten und Strukturen. Zu seinen Werken auf diesem Gebiet gehört beispielsweise Immigration and the New Religious Pluralism: A EU/US Comparison (in Thomas Banchoff, Hrgb., Democracy and the New Religious Pluralism, Oxford University Press, 2007). Zudem hat er diverse wichtige Forschungsprojekte zu diesen Themen geleitet, darunter Religion and Immigrant Incorporation in New York sowie The Religious Lives of Migrant Minorities: London, Johannesburg, Kuala Lumpur.

Sir David Chipperfield (London, UK)

David Chipperfield gründete 1985 sein Büro David Chipperfield Architects. Von 1995 bis 2001 war er Professor für Architektur an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart und 2011 Norman R. Foster Visiting Professor of Architectural Design an der Yale University. Er hat weltweit an Hochschulen in Österreich, Italien, der Schweiz, in Großbritannien und den USA gelehrt und Vorträge gehalten. 2012 kuratierte Chipperfield die 13. Internationale Architekturausstellung der Biennale von Venedig. Er ist Ehrenmitglied sowohl des American Institute of Architects als auch des Bundes Deutscher Architekten und wurde mit der Heinrich-Tessenow-Goldmedaille ausgezeichnet. 2010 erhielt er den Wolf-Preis in der Kunst wie auch den Großen DAI-Preis für Baukultur des Verbandes Deutscher Architekten- und Ingenieurvereine. Er ist Ehrendoktor der Kingston University (2009) sowie der University of Kent (2010). 2004 wurde er für seine Verdienste um die Architektur zum Commander of the Order of the British Empire ernannt, und 2004 folgte die Ernennung zum Royal Designer for Industry. 2009 erhielt Chipperfield das Große Verdienstkreuz der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, und 2012 wurde er für seine Verdienste um die Architektur in Großbritannien und Deutschland zum Ritter geschlagen. 2011 erhielt er die RIBA Royal Gold Medal for Architecture und 2013 den Praemium Imperiale von der Japan Art Association, beide in Anerkennung seines Lebenswerks.

Chris Granlund (London, UK)

Chris Granlund ist ein vielfach preisgekrönter (BAFTA, Grierson, und Royal Television Society) Produzent. Er hat eine Vielzahl von Dokumentarfilmen und Dokumentarspielen über die Künste, das Zeitgeschehen und populäre Geschichte produziert beziehungsweise auch Regie geführt. Aktuell produziert er Jungle Atlantis, eine zweiteilige Dokumentation über den Aufstieg und Fall des Khmer-Reiches – der Zivilisation, die Angkor Watt baute – sowie Sex and the West, eine dreiteilige Serie darüber, wie das Christentum die Einstellungen des Westens zu Sexualität und Gender prägt, präsentiert von Professor Diarmaid MacCulloch. Zu seinen früheren Projekten gehören The Plantagenets, präsentiert von Professor Robert Bartlett, und The Silent War, eine zweiteilige Serie über U-Boot-Besatzungen während des Kalten Kriegs. Er war der Produzent der Serie Andrew Marr’s History of Modern Britain, die von RTS, Grierson und BAFTA ausgezeichnet wurde. Ebenso produzierte er die von der Kritik gefeierte BBC Two-Serie The Normans und das bisher größte historische Projekt der BBC One, History of the World.
Granlund ist in der englischen Grafschaft Durham geboren. Er studierte Anglistik und kritische Theorie an der University of Wales, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und der University of Illinois. Seine Dissertation ist der Entwicklung der Presse unter der Aufsicht der Alliierten in Berlin nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg gewidmet. Von 1988 bis 1991 war er zunächst Kulturredakteur, dann stellvertretender Chefredakteur der Monatszeitschrift Marxism Today. Zur BBC kam er im August 1991 als Rechercheur für The Late Show. Sein Porträt von Robert Rauschenberg, Man at Work, wurde im Rahmen der Rauschenberg-Retrospektive 1997 in den Guggenheim-Museen in New York und Bilbao gezeigt. Sein Dokumentarspiel Dickens: Secrets, präsentiert von Peter Ackroyd, gewann 2003 den Best Arts Film Prize beim Montreal Festival of Films on Art. Granlund lebt mit seinem Mann und ihren beiden Kindern in London.

Alexander Kluge (München, Deutschland)

Alexander Kluge, geb. 1932, ist literarischer Autor und Filmemacher. Die schweren Bombenangriffe im April 1945 überlebt Kluge nur knapp und verarbeitet diese Erfahrung in dem Text Der Luftangriff auf Halberstadt am 8. April 1945, der 1977 erstmals erscheint. Er studiert ab 1949 Rechtswissenschaft, Kirchenmusik und Geschichte in Marburg und Frankfurt am Main. 1956 promoviert er in Rechtswissenschaft über das Thema Die Universitäts-Selbstverwaltung. Theodor W. Adorno, mit dem sich Kluge in Frankfurt anfreundet, vermittelt ihn an den Filmregisseur Fritz Lang. 1962 gehört Kluge zu den Mitunterzeichnern des Oberhausener Manifests, einer Gruppierung von Filmemachern, die eine Erneuerung des deutschen Films in Anlehnung an die französische Nouvelle Vague fordert. Ebenfalls in diesem Jahr erscheint sein literarisches Debüt, Lebensläufe; im Herbst 1962 liest er erstmals bei der „Gruppe 47“. 1966 bekommt er bei den Filmfestspielen in Venedig für seinen Film Abschied von gestern den Silbernen Löwen. Anfang der siebziger Jahre beginnt die Kooperation mit Oskar Negt, in deren Zentrum die theoretischen Bände Öffentlichkeit und Erfahrung (1972) und Geschichte und Eigensinn (1981) stehen. Ab Mitte der achtziger Jahre konzentriert sich Kluge auf die Öffentlichkeit des kommerziellen Fernsehens. Rundfunkrechtlich sind die Privatsender verpflichtet, einen Anteil ihrer Sendezeit an unabhängige Dritte abzugeben. Mit seiner Firma dctp (Development Company for Television Program), die 1988 gegründet wird, sichert sich Kluge Sendezeit im Privatfernsehen – sowohl für seine eigenen Formate als auch für die Produktionen der Kooperationspartner wie Spiegel TV oder stern TV. Im Zentrum von Kluges Kulturmagazinen steht der Dialog. Es geht um historische, ästhetische, naturwissenschaftliche, aber auch politische Fragestellungen, die im Gespräch mit einem jeweiligen Experten des Fachgebiets entfaltet werden. Daneben findet sich die Gattung des fingierten Gesprächs, in welchem der Konjunktiv eine besondere Rolle spielt. Nicht die tatsächliche Erfahrung ist in den Arbeiten mit Peter Berling, Helge Schneider oder Hannelore Hoger Ausgangspunkt des Dialogs, sondern die Einfühlung in Situationen, die so oder so ähnlich stattgefunden haben könnten. Zentral für Alexander Kluges Arbeitsweise – in seinen Büchern, Filmen und Fernseharbeiten – ist also die Wirklichkeit neben der empirisch wahrnehmbaren Realität.
Mit der Veröffentlichung von Chronik der Gefühle, einer Sammlung aller seit seinem ersten Buch von 1962 veröffentlichten literarischen Geschichten, kehrt Alexander Kluge im Jahre 2000 verstärkt als Schriftsteller in das Bewusstsein der Öffentlichkeit zurück. 2003 wird ihm die wichtigste Auszeichnung des deutschen Literaturbetriebs verliehen, der Georg-Büchner-Preis. Kennzeichnend für Kluges Literatur ist der „antirhetorische“ Gestus. Kluge setzt auf einen engen Zusammenhang zwischen den Wörtern eines Textes und den damit bezeichneten Gegenständen oder Sachverhalten in der Realität; er lehnt sich an die sprachlichen Mittel an, die uns in der täglichen Kommunikation zur Verfügung stehen. Seine Geschichten wirken luzide, ergeben aber in ihrer Gesamtheit und gegenseitigen Kommentierung ein offenes Erzählverfahren.
Alexander Kluge wird 2008 der Deutsche Filmpreis für sein Lebenswerk verliehen, 2009 erhält er den Theodor-W.-Adorno-Preis, 2010 den Adolf-Grimme-Preis.

Angelika Neuwirth (Berlin, Deutschland)

Angelika Neuwirth studierte Klassische Philologie und Orientwissenschaften (Arabistik und Semitistik) an den Universitäten Florenz, Göttingen, Teheran und Jerusalem sowie an der Freien Universität Berlin. Sie graduierte (MA) 1970 an der Hebrew University in Jerusalem und promovierte mit einer Arbeit über Abdallatif al-Baghdadis Kompendium zu Aristoteles‘ Metaphysik, Buch Lambda 1972 an der Universität Göttingen. Sie habilitierte sich 1977 an der Universität München mit ihren Studien zur Komposition der mekkanischen Suren. 1977 nahm sie eine Gastprofessur für Islamische Philosophie an der University of Jordan, Amman auf (1977-1981), wo sie in arabischer Sprache lehrte, anschließend leitete sie eine Sektion für Koranstudien an der Jordanischen Akademie, der Al al-Bayt-Foundation (1981-1983). Nach einer Lehrtätigkeit als Heisenberg-Stipendiatin an der Universität München (1984-1988) erhielt sie 1988 einen Ruf an die Universität Bamberg, 1991 an die Freie Universität Berlin. In Berlin gelang es ihr, 2007 mit ihren Mitarbeitern Michael Marx und Nicolai Sinai das Forschungsprojekt Corpus Coranicum an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften zu etablieren. Zugleich wirkte sie an verschiedenen Fellow-Projekten des Wissenschaftskollegs zu Berlin mit, war zeitweise Co-Direktorin des Zentrums für Literatur- und Kulturforschung (ZfL) und gab jährlich mehrere Kurse im Studienprogramm des Theologischen Studienjahres an der Abtei Dormitio in Jerusalem.
Nach der Gründung der an verschiedenen Universitäten errichteten Institute für Islamische Theologie brachte sie sich aktiv in verschiedene Islam-theologische Initiativen ein, etwa in die Vorbereitung eines Auslandssemesters für Islam-Theologen oder die Islam-Theologie-Diskussionen einzelner Institute an iranischen Universitäten ein. Ihr Engagement auf dem Gebiet der hermeneutischen Übersetzung zwischen Islam und Europa wurde durch den Ahmad Tschelebi-Preis und eine Mitgliedschaft an der Académie Tunésienne des Art et des Lettres ausgezeichnet. Weitere wissenschaftliche Anerkennungen wurden ihr in den USA zuteil, vor allem in Gestalt einer Ehrenpromotion an der Universität Yale, eines Mellon-Fellowship an der Universität Chicago und der Mitgliedschaft an der American Academy of Arts and Letters. Die Theologischen Fakultäten mehrerer Universitäten im deutschen Sprachraum, Bamberg, Salzburg und Basel, verliehen ihr Ehrendoktorate; sie ist weiterhin Mitglied der Deutschen Akademie Leopoldina.
Ihre Arbeitsgebiete sind zum einen Moderne Arabische Literatur, vor allem in Auseinandersetzung mit israelischer Literatur, zum anderen und vor allem der Koran als ein Text der Spätantike.

Saskia Sassen (New York, USA)

Saskia Sassen ist Robert S. Lynd Professor of Sociology und Kodirektorin des Committee on Global Thought an der Columbia University (www.saskiasassen.com). Ihre Forschungs- und Publikationsthemen sind Globalisierung (einschließlich deren gesellschaftlicher, ökonomischer und politischer Dimensionen), Immigration, globale Städte (einschließlich Städte und terrorismus), die neuen Technologien und Veränderungen im liberalen Staat, die sich aus aktuellen transnationalen Bedingungen ergeben. Neben ihren Aufgaben an der Columbia University ist sie Mitglied mehrere redaktioneller Beiräte und agiert als Beraterin internationaler Gremien. Sie ist Mitglied des Council on Foreign Relations sowie des National Academy of Sciences Panel on Cities. Sie wurde vielfach mit Preisen und Ehrungen ausgezeichnet, beispielsweise mit der Ehrendoktorwürde der DePaul University (USA), der Universität von Poitiers (Frankreich), des Königlichen Technischen Hochschule Stockholm, der Universität von Gent (Belgien), der Warwick University (UK) und der Universität von Delft (Niederlande); zudem erhielt sie den ersten Distinguished Graduate School Alumnus Award der University of Notre Dame und war eine der vier ersten Gewinner des University of Chicago Future Mentor Award, disziplinübergreifend vergeben für alle Promotionsstudiengänge. Sassen wurde 2011 als eine der Top 100 Global Thinkers von Foreign Policy ausgewählt, 2012 und 2013 als eine der Top 100 Thought Leaders von GDI-MIT, und erhielt 2013 den Prinz-von-Asturien-Preis für Sozialwissenschaften. Zu ihren jüngeren Buchpubikationen gehören Territory, Authority, Rights: From Medieval to Global Assemblages (Princeton University Press 2008), A Sociology of Globalization (W.W.Norton 2007) und die vierte überarbeitete Auflage von Cities in a World Economy (Sage 2012). Zu ihren älteren Büchern gehören The Global City (Princeton University Press 1991/2001). Ihre Bücher sind in über 30 Sprachen übersetzt. Demnächst erscheint Expulsions: Brutality and Complexity in the Global Economy (Harvard University Press 2014). Sie schreibt unter anderem für den Guardian, die New York Times, Le Monde Diplomatique, den International Herald Tribune, Newsweek International, Vanguardia, Clarin und die Financial Times.

Richard Sennett (London, UK / New York, USA)

Richard Sennett widmet sich der Frage, wie Individuen materielle Tatsachen verstehen und einordnen– beispielsweise die Städte, in denen sie leben, und die Arbeit, die sie verrichten. Er konzentriert sich darauf, wie Menschen kompetente Interpreten ihrer eigenen Erfahrung werden können, trotz der Hürden, die die Gesellschaft ihnen in den Weg stellt. Seine Forschung umfasst Ethnographie, Geschichte und Gesellschaftstheorie. Als Sozialwissenschaftler führt Sennett die von William James und John Dewey begründete pragmatische Tradition weiter.
Sein erstes Buch, The Uses of Disorder (1970), zeigt, wie persönliche Identität in der modernen Stadt Form annimmt. Dann untersuchte er in dem gemeinsam mit Jonathan Cobb geschriebenen Buch The Hidden Injuries of Class (1972), wie Arbeiterklassen-Identitäten in der modernen Gesellschaft geformt werden. Darauf folgte The Fall of Public Man (1977) [auf Deutsch erschienen als Verfall und Ende des öffentlichen Lebens], eine Studie der Öffentlichkeit von Städten. In Authority (1980) [Autorität] versuchte Sennett, die philosophischen Implikationen seiner Schriften aus dem vorherigen Jahrzehnt zusammenzufassen.
Zu diesem Zeitpunkt machte er eine Pause von der Soziologie und schrieb drei Romane: The Frog Who Dared to Croak (1982), An Evening of Brahms (1984) [Ein Abend mit Brahms]und Palais-Royal (1987). Dann kehrte er mit zwei Büchern wieder zur Stadtforschung zurück: The Conscience of the Eye (1990) [Civitas: Die Großstadt oder die Kultur des Unterschieds], das sich auf Stadtplanung und Architektur konzentriert, und Flesh and Stone (1992) [Fleisch und Stein], eine allgemeine historische Studie darüber, wie die körperliche Erfahrung von der Evolution der Städte geprägt wird.
Mitte der 1990er Jahre, als die Arbeitswelt des modernen Kapitalismus sich rapide und radikal zu verändern begann, begann Sennett mit dem Projekt, die sich daraus ergebenden persönlichen Konsequenzen für Arbeiter zu verfolgen, und dieses Projekt wird immer noch weitergeführt. Die erste dieser Studien, The Corrosion of Character (1998) [Der flexible Mensch: Die Kultur des neuen Kapitalismus] ist eine ethnographische Darstellung dessen, wie Angestellte auf der mittleren Ebene sich in der „New Economy“ zurechtfinden. Das zweite Buch dieser Reihe, Respect in a World of Inequality (2002) [Respekt im Zeitalter der Ungleichheit] zeigt die Wirkung der neuen Arbeitsweisen auf den Wohlfahrtsstaat. Ein drittes Buch, The Culture of the New Capitalism (2006) [Die Kultur des neuen Kapitalismus] gibt einen Überblick über die Veränderungen. In jüngster Zeit hat Sennett positivere Aspekte der Arbeit erkundet, beispielsweise in The Craftsman (2008) [Handwerk] und Together: The Rituals, Pleasures and Politics of Cooperation (2012) [Zusammenarbeit: Was unsere Gesellschaft zusammenhält].
Unter anderem wurde Richard Sennett mit dem Hegel–Preis und dem Spinoza-Preis ausgezeichnet; er ist Ehrendoktor der University of Cambridge.

Joseph Vogl (Berlin, Deutschland)

Joseph Vogl ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Neuere deutsche Literatur: Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaft/Medien an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und Permanent Visiting Professor an der Princeton University, USA. Er lehrte u. a. an der Bauhaus-Universität in Weimar, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in München, der University of California, Berkeley und der Indiana University, Bloomington und hat zahlreiche Monographien und Artikel veröffentlicht. Für seine Übersetzungen von Schlüsselwerken der neueren französischen Philosophie (darunter Gilles Deleuze: Differenz und Wiederholung, J.-F. Lyotard: Der Widerstreit) erhielt er 1988 den Übersetzerpreis zur Förderung der deutsch-französischen Beziehungen. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Geschichte und Theorie des Wissens; Geschichte von Gefahr und Gefährlichkeit in der Neuzeit; Diskurs- und Medientheorie; Literaturgeschichte vom 18. bis 20. Jahrhundert und die Poetologien des Wissens – die Untersuchung der Verhältnisse und Wechselwirkungen zwischen Wissensformen und poetischen bzw. ästhetischen Figuren. Als Leiter bzw. Principal Investigator ist er an zahlreichen Forschungsprojekten beteiligt, darunter Das Wissen der Literatur (PhD_Netzwerk), Poetiken des Unwahrscheinlichen (SFB-Teilprojekt), Exzellenzcluster Bild Wissen Gestaltung und Topoi. Zu seinen wichtigsten Veröffentlichungen zählen u.a. die Monographien Ort der Gewalt. Kafkas literarische Ethik, Kalkül und Leidenschaft. Poetik des ökonomischen Menschen, Über das Zaudern und Das Gespenst des Kapitals. Mit Alexander Kluge veröffentlichte er eine Auswahl gemeinsamer Fernsehgespräche im Band Soll und Haben.