Madeleine Thien: Flüchtige Seelen

Translated from the English by Almuth Carstens
Luchterhand Literaturverlag 2014
(Dogs at the Perimeter; McClelland & Stewart, Toronto 2011)

About the book

In her new novel, Madeleine Thien pursues the memories, injuries, and dreams of her figures from current day Canada back to the tropic jungles of Cambodia in the 1970s, when the Khmer Rouge sought to establish a new social order with a brutal regime of terror and the murder of millions of people. With a clear soft language, she tells of the loss and regaining of humanity.

Madeleine Thien | © Carolin Seeliger

Madeleine Thien | © Carolin Seeliger

About the author

Madeleine Thien, born in Vancouver in 1974 as the child of Chinese-Malaysian immigrants, studied dance, literature, and creative writing at Simon Fraser University and the University of British Columbia in Vancouver and began writing during her student years. Her first book Simple Recipes, a collection of short stories, was awarded with four Canadian literature prizes and her debut novel Certainty was translated into sixteen languages. In 2010, Madeleine Thien received the Ovid Festival Prize. She lives in Montreal.

Recent publications:
Einfache Rezepte
Luchterhand 2008, trans. by Almuth Carstens
(Simple Recipes, McClelland & Stewart, Toronto 2001)

Jene Sehnsucht nach Gewissheit
Luchterhand 2007, trans. by Almuth Carstens
(Certainty, McClelland & Stewart, Toronto 2006)

Do not say we have nothing
Granta Books/Portobello Books, London 2016

Almuth Carstens | Photo: private

Almuth Carstens | Photo: private

About the translator

Almuth Carstens, born in Kiel in 1948, studied sociology and lived in America for many years. The translator of writers such as Kathy Acker, Jane Rogers, Alice Sebold, and Jeff Talarigo, she lives in Berlin.

Recent publications:
Elin Hilderbrand: Das Sommerversprechen
Goldmann Verlag: München 2015, trans by Almuth Carstens
(The Matchmaker, Little, Brown and Company, New York 2014)

Elin Hilderbrand: Sommerhochzeit
Goldmann 2014, trans. by Almuth Carstens
(Beautiful Day, Little Brown, London 2013)

Elin Hilderbrand: Ein Tag im Sommer
Bloomsbury Berlin 2013, trans. by Almuth Carstens
(Summerland, Reagan Arthur Books, New York 2012)

Madeleine Thien: Einfache Rezepte
Luchterhand 2008, trans. by Almuth Carstens
(Simple Recipes, McClelland & Stewart, Toronto 2001)

Madeleine Thien: Jene Sehnsucht nach Gewissheit
Luchterhand 2007, trans. by Almuth Carstens
(Certainty, McClelland & Stewart, Toronto 2006)

The jury on the short list nomination

“Canada, the secure host country, and Cambodia of the Khmer Rouge are the two poles that provide the prospect for this impressive novel, before which the exciting story of the narrator Janie develops. By way of the remains of a brain researcher, Janie is confronted with her origins, and once again lives through the unspeakable horrors of a civil war that she thought she had left behind her and which cause disturbances in perception and insecurity. Dogs at the Perimeter is a poetic and impressive narrative, that, in an unadorned and fascinating manner, opens one of the most horrific chapters of human history, that can only be told from the relentless mirror of a supposedly sure distance. A silent, touching novel, that has lost nothing of its suggestiveness and force in the subtle translation by Almuth Carstens.”

Madeleine Thien: Flüchtige Seelen

Aus dem Englischen von Almuth Carstens
Luchterhand Literaturverlag 2014
(Dogs at the Perimeter; McClelland & Stewart, Toronto 2011)

Das Buch

In ihrem neuen Roman folgt Madeleine Thien den Erinnerungen, Verletzungen und Träumen ihrer Figuren aus dem Kanada der Gegenwart in den tropischen Dschungel Kambodschas in den siebziger Jahren als dort die Roten Khmer mit brutalem Terror und der Ermordung von Millionen von Menschen eine neue Gesellschaftsordnung errichten wollten. Mit klarer, sanfter Sprache erzählt sie vom Verlust und von der Wiedergewinnung der Menschlichkeit.

Madeleine Thien | © Carolin Seeliger

Madeleine Thien | © Carolin Seeliger

Die Autorin

Madeleine Thien, geboren 1974 in Vancouver als Kind chinesisch-malaysischer Einwanderer, studierte Tanz, Literatur und Creative Writing an der Simon Fraser University und der University of British Columbia in Vancouver und begann als Studentin mit dem Schreiben. Ihr erstes Buch Einfache Rezepte, eine Sammlung von Kurzgeschichten, wurde mit vier kanadischen Literaturpreisen ausgezeichnet und ihr Debütroman Jene Sehnsucht nach Gewissheit wurde in sechzehn Sprachen übersetzt. 2010 erhielt Madeleine Thien den Ovid Festival Prize. Madeleine Thien lebt in Montreal.

Zuletzt erschienen:
Einfache Rezepte
Luchterhand 2008, aus dem Englischen von Almuth Carstens
(Simple Recipes, McClelland & Stewart, Toronto 2001)

Jene Sehnsucht nach Gewissheit
Luchterhand 2007, aus dem Englischen von Almuth Carstens
(Certainty, McClelland & Stewart, Toronto 2006)

Zuletzt in Originalsprache erschienen:
Do not say we have nothing
Granta Books/Portobello Books, London 2016

Almuth Carstens | Foto: privat

Almuth Carstens | Foto: privat

Die Übersetzerin

Almuth Carstens, 1948 in Kiel geboren, hat u. a. Soziologie studiert und lebte längere Zeit in Amerika. Sie ist Übersetzerin von u. a. Kathy Acker, Jane Rogers, Alice Sebold und Jeff Talarigo. Sie lebt heute in Berlin.

Zuletzt erschienen:
Elin Hilderbrand: Das Sommerversprechen
Goldmann Verlag: München 2015, aus dem Englischen von Almuth Carstens
(The Matchmaker, Little, Brown and Company, New York 2014)

Elin Hilderbrand: Sommerhochzeit
Goldmann 2014, aus dem Englischen von Almuth Carstens
(Beautiful Day, Little Brown, London 2013)

Elin Hilderbrand: Ein Tag im Sommer
Bloomsbury Berlin 2013, aus dem Englischen von Almuth Carstens
(Summerland, Reagan Arthur Books, New York 2012)

Madeleine Thien: Einfache Rezepte
Luchterhand 2008, aus dem Englischen von Almuth Carstens
(Simple Recipes, McClelland & Stewart, Toronto 2001)

Madeleine Thien: Jene Sehnsucht nach Gewissheit
Luchterhand 2007, aus dem Englischen von Almuth Carstens
(Certainty, McClelland & Stewart, Toronto 2006)

Jurykommentar
zur Shortlist-Nominierung 2014

„Kanada, das sichere Aufnahmeland, und das Kambodscha der Roten Khmer, sind die beiden Pole, die für Madeleine Thien, den Prospekt für ihren beeindruckenden Roman abgeben, vor dem sie ihre packende Geschichte der Ich-Erzählerin Janie entwickelt. Durch die Hinterlassenschaft eines Hirnforschers wird Janie mit ihrer Herkunft konfrontiert, durchlebt nochmals die hinter ihr geglaubten unsäglichen Gräuel eines Bürgerkriegs, was Wahrnehmungsstörungen und Verunsicherungen hervorruft. ‚Flüchtige Seelen‘ ist eine ebenso poetische wie eindrücklich Erzählung, die schnörkellos, betörend eines der verabscheuungswürdigsten Kapitel der Menschheitsgeschichte auftut, das wohl nur aus einem schonungslosen Spiegel einer vermeintlich sicheren Distanz erzählt werden kann. Ein stiller, nachhaltig wirkender Wurf, der durch die subtile Übersetzung Almuth Carstens vom kanadischen Englisch ins Deutsche nichts an Suggestion und Kraft eingebüßt hat.“