The Heart is a Wildfire

Georg Boch, Tijmen Brozius

The Heart is a Wildfire | © Georg Boch

The Heart is a Wildfire | © Georg Boch

How does the Anthropocene hypothesis touch us personally? Why should we care? Why is the Anthropocene more than just another temporary popular term? What kind of art or medium of expression would do justice to the Anthropocene's claim of representing our 21st century cosmology?

As the subject (humanity) faces its non-separateness from the presumed object (nature), the canvas dissolves into the entire field of view: Virtual reality becomes the living artwork of the Anthropocene age.

How can immersion in a virtual realm help to close the feedback loop between the individual and the planet? Which perspectives could we take there, to broaden our understanding of these complex times?

Game designer Georg Boch & painter Tijmen Brozius explore the implications of Anthropocene art in the development of a virtual reality experience for the Oculus Rift DK2.

Hyperlink to the web-project

Georg Boch is a freelance new media producer, director of crossmedia projects and game designer. Amongst other projects, he directed the web-documentary “facebook’s Adorno changed my Life” and created and co-produced the transmedial serious game “Fix OskarX” for the German federal elections in 2013.

Tijmen Brozius is an artist who explores the grey area between human insanity and ecstasy in drawings and paintings that center on the body and the emotional world. He also works as a graphic recorder at conferences, capturing information in drawings as a summary for audiences.

The Heart is a Wildfire

Georg Boch, Tijmen Brozius

The Heart is a Wildfire | © Georg Boch

The Heart is a Wildfire | © Georg Boch

Wieso berührt uns die Anthropozän-These persönlich? Warum ist sie bedeutend für unser Leben? Weshalb ist das Anthropozän mehr als nur ein weiterer „-Ismus“ ? Was für eine künstlerische Form könnte dem Anspruch des Anthropozäns als eine Kosmologie des 21. Jahrhunderts gerecht werden?

Im Anthropozän begegnet das Subjekt (Menschheit) dem angenommenem Objekt (Natur) in radikaler Einheit. Das Bildfeld verschwindet in das gesamte menschliche Sichtfeld. Die virtuelle Realität wird zum lebenden Kunstwerk des Anthropozäns.

Wie kann die Immersion in eine virtuelle Welt uns helfen, den Feedback-Loop zwischen Individuum und Planet zu schließen?

Spiele-Designer Georg Boch und Maler Tijmen Brozius erkunden die künstlerischen Implikationen des Anthropozäns durch die Entwicklung einer Virtual Reality Experience für das Oculus Rift DK2.

Link zum Projekt

Georg Boch ist freischaffender Produzent und Regisseur im Bereich Neue Medien, Crossmedia und Game Design. Unter anderem führte er Regie bei der Web-Documentary "facebook's Adorno change my Life" und kreierte und co-produzierte das transmediale Polit-Game "Fix OskarX" zur Bundestagswahl 2013.

Tjmen Brozius erforscht als Künstler den Grenzbereich zwischen Wahnsinn und Ekstase in Zeichnungen und Malereien, die sich mit der Vereinigung von Gefühls- & Körperwelten beschäftigen. Des Weiteren arbeitet er als Graphic Recorder für Konferenzen, bei dem er Informationen in Zeichnungen festhält.