The Anthroposcale

Rafael Dernbach, Milosz Paul Rosinski

The Anthroposcale | © Rafael Dernbach

The Anthroposcale | © Rafael Dernbach

The Anthroposcale portrays three individuals who are already thinking and acting according to the Anthropocene hypothesis. The experimental web documentary assembles moving images into an interactive environment. Thus the viewer can enter a virtual landscape of “next natures” – natures brought about by human beings. This walk through these “next natures” leads to encounters with, for example, a sensual cyborg and a teenager building sea drones. The Anthroposcale invites us to wonder how the Anthropocene thesis challenges the modern human vs. nature duality, but also human-machine and human-animal relationships. The essayistic entanglement of documentary material and interactive .gif narratives evokes memories of past digital and analog utopias. It is ultimately a journey through the orbit of the Anthropocene thesis, and the question remains: What is the scope of action of our dreams?

Hyperlink to the web-project

Rafael Dernbach is a Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation grantee currently earning a doctorate at the Department of German and Dutch at the University of Cambridge. Since 2006 he has also worked as a freelance author for publications including ZEIT ONLINE, ZDFinfo, and WELT.

Milosz Paul Rosinski is currently earning a doctorate in French philosophy, culture, and literature at the University of Cambridge, where he also works as a supervisor. He has written a number of academic articles on film for the specialized press.

The Anthroposcale

Rafael Dernbach, Milosz Paul Rosinski

The Anthroposcale | © Rafael Dernbach

The Anthroposcale | © Rafael Dernbach

The Anthroposcale stellt in drei Porträts Menschen in den Mittelpunkt, die schon heute nach der Hypothese des Anthropozäns denken und handeln. Die experimentelle Web-Dokumentation montiert bewegte Bilder zu einem interaktiven Umfeld. Das Publikum kann so eintauchen in die virtuelle Welt, eine Welt der ‚nächsten-Natur‘, einer menschenverursachten Natur. Dieser Spaziergang durch die ‚nächsten Naturen‘ birgt Begegnungen mit einem sinnlichen Cyborg oder einem Teenager, der müllsammelnde Meeresdrohnen baut. The Anthroposcale lädt ein, darüber zu sinnieren, wie die These des Anthropozäns die Dualität von Mensch-Natur herausfordert und die Relationen Mensch-Maschine und Mensch-Tier neu verhandelt. Die essayistische Verstrickung dokumentarischen Materials und interaktiven .gif Narrativen evoziert Erinnerungen vergangener digitalen und analogen Utopien. Letztliche ist es eine Reise durch das Orbit der Anthropozän These und die Frage bleibt: Was ist der Handlungsspielraum unserer Träume?

Link zum Projekt

Rafael Dernbach ist Stipendiat der Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation und promoviert derzeit am Department of German and Dutch der University of Cambridge. Zudem ist er seit 2006 als freier Autor u.a. für ZEIT ONLINE, ZDFinfo und WELT tätig.

Milosz Paul Rosinski ist derzeit ebenfalls Doktorand an der University of Cambridge in Französischer Philosophie, Kultur und Literatur und ist dort zudem als Lehrkraft tätig. Er hat mehrere wissenschaftliche Artikel zum Thema Film in der Fachpresse veröffentlicht.