1st Prize: en|H@NCEMenT

Gabriel S Moses

en|H@NCEMenT | waking up the adolescent sleeper cell | © Gabriel S Moses

en|H@NCEMenT | waking up the adolescent sleeper cell | © Gabriel S Moses

en|H@NCEMenT is a suggestion for a 21st century augmented graphic novel which unfolds two related stories intertwined. One is the fragmented narrative of a future monocultural era, where an excessive misuse of social media leads the youth to a new form of ultra-violent absent mindedness, gradually affecting the earth's core. The second story follows the life of a fictitious contemporary philosopher and his alarmist writings on the approaching end of the Anthropocene. The graphic novel is programmed as a tablet app in which various media fragments such as text, illustration, sound and animation are constructed as separate cells via an index in the shape of a DNA chromosome. This allows the reader to travel from cell to cell in random order and, thus, to explore the storyline individually while tapping into the disturbed thought patterns of its protagonists.

Hyperlink to the web-project

In the words of the jury, “Gabriel S. Moses’s graphic novel app has all of the elements of a well-told story. At the center of Moses’s tale of a dystopian society in which a suburban middle-class that has spread throughout the entire world are an eerie anti-heroine, skillfully-animated manga illustrations, and exciting dramaturgy. At the same time, his work provides an exceptionally entertaining illustration of how mental processes and events on Earth are connected in the Anthropocene.”

Gabriel S. Moses is a graphic novelist, designer and academic in the field of sequential art. His graphic novels Spunk and Subz were published by Archiv der Jugendkulturen. He also frequently talks and exhibits in Tel Aviv and Berlin.

1. Preis: en|H@NCEMenT

Gabriel S. Moses

en|H@NCEMenT | waking up the adolescent sleeper cell | © Gabriel S Moses

en|H@NCEMenT | waking up the adolescent sleeper cell | © Gabriel S Moses

en|H@NCEMenT ist ein Entwurf für eine erweiterte Graphic Novel des 21. Jahrhunderts, die zwei miteinander verwandte Geschichten thematisiert. Ein Handlungsstrang erzählt die lückenhafte Geschichte eines zukünftigen monokulturellen Zeitalters, in dem ein exzessiver Missbrauch von Social Media die Jugend zu einer neuen Form von äußerst brutaler Gedankenlosigkeit verleitet, die nach und nach den Erdkern erschüttert. Die zweite Geschichte verfolgt das Leben eines fiktiven zeitgenössischen Philosophen und seine alarmierenden Texte über das nahende Ende des Anthropozäns. Die Graphic Novel wird als Tablet-App programmiert, in der verschiedene Medienfragmente wie Text, Illustration, Sound und Animation mittels eines Index in der Gestalt eines DNA Chromosoms als separate Zellen zusammengestellt werden. Das ermöglicht es dem Leser, sich in zufälliger Reihenfolge von Zelle zu Zelle zu bewegen und dadurch die Handlung individuell zu erleben, während er sich in die verstörenden Gedankengänge der Protagonisten hineinfindet.

Link zum Projekt

Die Jury: „Gabriel S. Moses' Graphic-Novel-App besticht mit allen Elementen einer gut erzählten Geschichte. Die Dystopie einer suburbanen Mittelschicht, die sich über die ganzen Welt ausgebreitet hat, erzählt Moses mittels einer unheimlichen Antiheldin, gekonnt animierter Manga-Illustrationen und einer spannenden Dramaturgie. Zugleich veranschaulicht seine Arbeit auf äußerst unterhaltsame Weise, wie im Anthropozän mentale Prozesse und Erdereignisse verbunden sind."

Gabriel S. Moses ist Graphic Novelist, Designer und Akademiker im Bereich Sequential Art. Seine Graphic Novels Spunk und Subz wurden vom Archiv der Jugendkulturen veröffentlicht. Er hält außerdem regelmäßig Vorträge und organisiert Ausstellungen in Tel Aviv und Berlin.