3rd Prize: Augmented Commodity Fetishism

Eirik Høyer Leivestad, Bård Hobæk

Augmented Commodity Fetishism | Photo: Ragnhild Aamås and Eirik Høyer Leivestad

Augmented Commodity Fetishism | Photo: Ragnhild Aamås and Eirik Høyer Leivestad

Commodities are worth listening to: Taking this statement as a starting point, Karl Marx’s term Commodity Fetishism and Augmented Reality are combined into Augmented Commodity Fetishism, entitling a new app. This application will provide immediate access to all information pertaining to one specific commodity’s anthropocene effects, calculating the externalities of every step of the chain from production to distribution to consumption, including the afterlife of its waste products. Raising awareness is not the target, it is rather an exploration of information excess and systemic recursivity.

Hyperlink to the web-project

In the words of the jury, “The Augmented Commodity Fetishism app visualizes the complexity of metabolism in the Anthropocene era based on a European cultural artifact: cheese. Not a single step in its production takes place independently of fossil energy. At the same time, Eirik Høyer Leivestad and Bård Hobæk offer an elegantly ironic criticism of research and culture.”

Eirik Høyer Leivestad works as a university lecturer, freelance writer and translator. Leivestad has contributed in academic journals with articles on 20th century and contemporary thinkers and translated essays by Walter Benjamin from German to Norwegian.

Bård Hobæk is research assistant at the Center for Technology, Innovation and Culture, as well as in the Section for Medical Anthropology and Medical History at the University of Oslo.

The work is done in collaboration with Claire Tolan, web developer and artist.

3. Preis: Augmented Commodity Fetishism

Eirik Høyer Leivestad, Bård Hobæk

Augmented Commodity Fetishism | Foto: Ragnhild Aamås and Eirik Høyer Leivestad

Augmented Commodity Fetishism | Foto: Ragnhild Aamås and Eirik Høyer Leivestad

Gebrauchsgegenstände sind es wert, gehört zu werden: Ausgehend von dieser Aussage werden Commodity Fetishism (‚Warenfetisch‘) und Augmented Reality (‚Erweiterte Realität‘) zu Augmented Commodity Fetishism kombiniert; ein Ausdruck, der eine neue App betitelt. Diese Anwendung wird einen unmittelbaren Zugang zu allen Informationen über anthropozänische Einflüsse leisten, die einem spezifischen Gegenstand innewohnen, und die externen Effekte jeden Schrittes der Warenkette von Produktion über Distribution hin zu Konsum, einschließlich dem Nachleben der verbrauchten Produkte, ermitteln. Das Bewusstsein zu schärfen ist nicht das Ziel, vielmehr stehen die Erkundung von Informationsüberschuss und systematischer Rekursivität im Vordergrund.

Link zum Projekt

Die Jury: „Die Augmented Commodity Fetishism App veranschaulicht anhand eines europäischen Kulturguts, dem Käse, die Komplexität der Stoffwechsel im Anthropozän: kein einziger Prozessschritt ist heute unabhängig von der fossilen Energie. Mit eleganter Ironie betreiben Eirik Høyer Leivestad und Bård Hobæk zugleich Forschungs- und Kulturkritik".

Eirik Høyer Leivestad arbeitet als Dozent, freier Schriftsteller und Übersetzer. Leivestad hat mehrere Artikel über das 20. Jahrhundert und gegenwärtige Philosophen in akademischen Zeitschriften veröffentlicht, und übersetzte Essays von Walter Benjamin vom Deutschen ins Norwegische.

Bård Hobæk ist Forschungsassistent am Zentrum für Technologie, Innovation und Kultur sowie in der Abteilung für Medizinische Anthropologie und Geschichte an der Universität Oslo.

Das Projekt entsteht in Zusammenarbeit mit Claire Tolan, Webentwicklerin und Künstlerin.