2nd Prize: Ariha on the Move

Linda Havenstein

Ariha on the Move | © Linda Havenstein

Ariha on the Move | © Linda Havenstein

Ariha on the Move tells the fictional story of the first community that decides to relocate its entire town as a reaction to climate change. Centered on the theme of planning for a future with a changing climate, this interactive project is comprised of maps, a live camera feed, and more. Although Havenstein’s community is set in the future, the contemporary format of the platform enables users to transfer the utopia into the present. The key question at the heart of the project is how mankind can address its own role as a geological factor.

Hyperlink to the web-project

In the words of the jury,Ariha on the Move is a convincing mix of fiction and scientifically-founded reporting. The web platform illustrates the climatic phenomena of the Anthropocene as well as their social consequences in a well-informed fashion based on a number of facts. At the same time, Havenstein’s Ariha on the Move represents a kind of web-based ‘docusoap’ centered on the fate of the small community of Ariha.”

Linda Havenstein lives and works as a freelance media artist in Berlin. In addition to her focus on video and installation art, Haverstein works with a number of media and approaches. Her works have been exhibited worldwide, including at the Aomori Contemporary Art Centre, the New York Hall of Science, and in the Kunstraum Bethanien. .

2. Preis: Ariha on the Move

Linda Havenstein

Ariha on the Move | © Linda Havenstein

Ariha on the Move | © Linda Havenstein

Ariha on the Move erzählt die fiktive Geschichte einer Gemeinde, die sich aufgrund der Klimazonenverschiebung entschließt, als gesamte Kleinstadt umzuziehen. Rund um den Themenkomplex "Planung in eine Zukunft des sich ändernden Klimas" wird ein interaktives Angebot in Form von Karten, einer Live-Kameraschaltung und vielem mehr erstellt. Das zeitgenössische Format ermöglicht es den Nutzern zudem, die Utopie, die in der Zukunft spielt, als ein Szenario der Gegenwart anzunehmen und die entscheidende Frage zu stellen: Wie kann der Mensch mit seiner Rolle als geologischer Faktor umgehen.

Link zum Projekt

Die Jury:Ariha on the Move ist eine gelungene Melange aus Fiktion und wissenschaftlich fundierter Reportage. Die Webplattform veranschaulicht ein anthropozänes Klimaphänomen und seine soziale Folgen kenntnisreich und auf der Basis zahlreicher Fakten. Gleichzeitig schafft Linda Havenstein mit Ariha on the Move eine Art Web basierter ‚Dokusoap‘, die das Schicksal der kleinen Gemeinde Ariha in den Mittelpunkt stellt."

Linda Havenstein lebt und arbeitet als freiberufliche Medien-Künstlerin in Berlin. Neben einem Schwerpunkt in Video und Installation arbeitet sie mit einer Vielzahl an Medien und Ansätzen. Ihre Arbeiten wurden weltweit auf Ausstellungen gezeigt, z.B. im Aomori Contemporary Art Centre, der New York Hall of Science und im Kunstraum Bethanien.