HKW is closed until the end of 2016 and is now out and about with projects in Berlin, Hamburg and Munich. | More information...

The Participants

Anthropocene Working Group

Matt Edgeworth is a practicing field archaeologist and Honorary Research Fellow at the School of Archaeology and Ancient History, University of Leicester. He has directed archaeological investigations throughout Britain and excavated as far afield as Carthage in North Africa and the Orkney Islands in Scotland. He has a particular interest in complex urban stratigraphy, and in the mixture of human and natural agencies.He wrote the book Fluid Pasts: Archaeology of Flow (2011).

Michael Ellis is the Science Director of the Climate and Landscape Change Research Group at the British Geological Survey, where he leads several research teams in investigations of environmental response to climate change, the dynamics of past rapid climate changes, and carbon-cycle processes within the near-surface (the critical zone) environment.

Joyeeta Gupta works on global concerns in climate governance, water law, and sustainable development. She is Professor of Environment and Development in the Global South atthe Amsterdam Institute for Social Science Research of the University of Amsterdam and UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education in Delft. She is also a member of the Amsterdam Global Change Institute.

Reinhold Leinfelder is Professor for Geology at Freie Universität Berlin, with a focus on Anthropocene research, and Affiliate Professor at the Rachel Carson Center Munich (RCC), through which he is curating the joint RCC–Deutsches Museum exhibition Welcome to the Anthropocene (starting Dec 2014). Since Sept 2014, he has been Director of Haus der Zukunft Berlin, a new communication space on the world of tomorrow.

Naomi Oreskes is Professor of the History of Science and Affiliated Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences at Harvard University, where she recently moved after 15 years as Professor of History and Science Studies at the University of California, San Diego, and Adjunct Professor of Geosciences at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography. Oreskes’ research focuses on the earth and environmental sciences, with a particular interest in understanding scientific consensus and dissent.

Jürgen Renn is Director at the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science leading the department Structural Changes in Systems of Knowledge. In addition, he teaches at Berlin’s Humboldt-Universität and Freie Universität Berlin. His research interests include the long-term development of systems of knowledge, the intercultural exchange of knowledge, and the transformation processes of structures of knowledge and their social conditions.

Andrew C. Revkin is a science and environmental writer. A reporter for the New York Times from 1995–2009, he currently writes the Dot Earth environmental blog for The Times’ Opinion Pages. Revkin is also Senior Fellow for Environmental Understanding at the Pace Academy for Applied Environmental Studies at Pace University, New York, and a member of the Future Earth Interim Engagement Committee.

Daniel D. Richter is Professor of Soils at Duke University, and lead investigator of the Calhoun Critical Zone Observatory in South Carolina, where he and colleagues study biogeochemistry as a function of historic and contemporary land use and abuse. He is author of Understanding Soil Change (2007) and Director of the International Network of Long-Term Soil Experiments (LTSEs).

Bernd M. Scherer is Director of Haus der Kulturen der Welt. Previously, he served as the Goethe-Institut’s Director of the Arts Department for the main office in Munich. His theoretical work focuses on aesthetics, philosophy of language, semiotics, and international cultural exchange. He has curated and co-curated several cultural and art projects, such as Agua-Wasser, Über Lebenskunst, and now The Anthropocene Project. Since January 2011, he has also been Professor at the Institut für europäische Ethnologie, Humboldt-Universität, Berlin.

James P.M. Syvitski’s specialty is the global flux of water and sediment (river and ocean-borne) and its trends in the Anthropocene. He uses data from ground stations, orbital sensors, and modeling, combining all three into a re-analysis product. He is chair of the International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme and connects with the social dimension through the International Human Dimensions Programme and now Future Earth.

Colin Waters, Principal Mapping Geologist with the British Geological Survey, is Secretary of the Anthropocene Working Group. Areas of interest include application of stratigraphy to the Anthropocene, mapping and classification of artificially modified ground, the nature and flux of artificial deposits and human influence on the subsurface.

Mark Williams is Professor of Palaeobiology at the University of Leicester. With a focus on Palaeoenvironments and –climates, his main research interests address current environmental change from a geological context, the interactions between biosphere and the evolution of the Earth system, as well as the utilization of Pliocene climate as a scenario for late 21st century climate and global warming.

Jan Zalasiewicz is Senior Lecturer in Geology at the University of Leicester and Chair of the Anthropocene Working Group of the International Commission on Stratigraphy. A field geologist, paleontologist, and stratigrapher, he teaches and publishes on geology and earth history, in particular on fossil ecosystems and environments that span over half a billion years of geological time.

Ab 2.11. läuft das HKW Programm digital weiter. Das Haus bleibt geschlossen. Mehr…

Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer

Anthropocene Working Group

Matt Edgeworth ist Feldarchäologe und Honorary Research Fellow an der School of Archaeology and Ancient History der University of Leicester. Er hat in vielen Teilen seines Landes archäologische Forschungen geleitet und war von Karthago in Nordafrika bis zu den schottischen Orkney-Inseln an Ausgrabungsarbeiten beteiligt. Sein Hauptinteresse gilt der komplexen Stratigrafie von Städten und dem Zusammenspiel menschlicher und natürlicher Kräfte. Er ist Autor des Buchs Fluid Pasts: Archaeology of Flow (2011).

Michael Ellis ist Science Director der Climate and Landscape Change Research Group des British Geological Survey und leitet mehrere Forschungsteams bei der Untersuchung der Umweltauswirkungen des Klimawandels, der Dynamik des Wandels in der Vergangenheit und der Kohlenstoffzyklen in der (kritischen Zone der) oberflächennahen Umwelt.

Joyeeta Gupta ist Professor of Environment and Development in the Global South am Amsterdam Institute for Social Science Research, Universiteit van Amsterdam, sowie am UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education in Delft. Sie gehört außerdem dem Amsterdam Global Change Institute an.

Reinhold Leinfelder ist Professor für Geologie an der Freien Universität Berlin mit Schwerpunkt auf der Anthropozänforschung und Gastprofessor am Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society in München. In diesen Funktionen hat er die gemeinsame Ausstellung Willkommen im Anthropozän des RCC und des Deutschen Museums München (Eröffnung im Dezember 2014) auf den Weg gebracht. Seit September 2014 ist er Direktor am »Haus der Zukunft Berlin«, einer neu gegründeten Einrichtung zur Vermittlung der Welt von morgen.

Naomi Oreskes ist Professor of the History of Science und Affiliate Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences an der Harvard University. Davor war sie 15 Jahre lang Professor of History and Science Studies an der University of California, San Diego sowie Adjunct Professor of Geosciences an der Scripps Institution of Oceanography. Oreskes forscht hauptsächlich im Bereich der Erd- und Umweltwissenschaften und interessiert sich besonders für das Zustandekommen von wissenschaftlichem Konsens bzw. Dissens.

Jürgen Renn ist Direktor des Max-Planck-Instituts für Wissenschaftsgeschichte und leitet dort die Abteilung »Strukturwandel von Wissenssystemen«. Außerdem lehrt er an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und der Freien Universität Berlin. Zu seinen Forschungsschwerpunkten zählen die langfristige Entwicklung von Wissenssystemen, der interkulturelle Wissensaustausch sowie der Wandel von Strukturen und gesellschaftlichen Bedingungen des Wissens.

Andrew C. Revkin ist Wissenschafts und Umweltjournalist. Er war von 1995 bis 2009 Reporter der New York Times und schreibt zurzeit den Dot Earth-Umweltblog für die Opinion Pages der Times. Revkin ist außerdem Senior Fellow for Environmental Understanding an der Pace Academy for Applied Environmental Studies der Pace University, New York sowie Mitglied des Future Earth Interim Engagement Committee.

Daniel D. Richter ist Professor of Soils an der Duke University und Forschungsleiter des Calhoun Critical Zone Observatory in South Carolina, wo er und seine Kollegen die Biogeochemie als Funktion historischen und gegenwärtigen Landgebrauchs bzw. –missbrauchs untersuchen. Er ist Autor von Understanding Soil Change und Leiter eines internationalen Netzwerks von Langzeit-Bodenversuchen (LTSEs).

Bernd M. Scherer ist Intendant des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt. Zuvor war er beim Goethe-Institut, wo er die Zentralabteilung Künste in München geleitet hat. Der Schwerpunkt seiner theoretischen Arbeiten liegt auf Themen der Ästhetik, Sprachphilosophie, Semiotik und des internationalen Kulturaustauschs. Er hat verschiedene Kultur- und Kunstprojekte kuratiert, u. a. Agua-Wasser, Über Lebenskunst und zuletzt Das Anthropozän-Projekt. Seit 2011 lehrt er als Honorarprofessor am Institut für Europäische Ethnologie der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

James P. M. Syvitski ist auf globale Wasser- und Sedimentströme (in Flüssen und Meeren) spezialisiert und untersucht deren Entwicklung im Anthropozän. Er nutzt Daten von Bodenstationen, Fernerkundungssatelliten und Modelle, die er zu einem Reanalyse-Produkt verknüpft. Er ist Wissenschaftlicher Leiter des International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme. Für gesellschaftliche Anbindung sorgt er durch seine Mitarbeit im International Human Dimensions Programme und seit kurzem auch bei Future Earth.

Colin Waters ist Principal Mapping Geologist beim British Geological Survey und Secretary der Anthropocene Working Group. Zu seinen Interessensgebieten gehören die Anwendung der Stratigrafie auf das Anthropozän, die Kartierung und Klassifikation künstlich veränderten Bodens, die Beschaffenheit und Ströme künstlicher Ablagerungen und die menschliche Einflussnahme auf den Untergrund.

Mark Williams ist Professor für Paläobiologie an der University of Leicester. Mit einem Schwerpunkt im Bereich der Paläoklimatologie und -umwelten richtet sich sein Forschungsinteresse vornehmlich auf den aktuellen Klimawandel im geohistorischen Kontext, die Wechselwirkungen zwischen der Biosphäre und der Evolution des Erdsystems sowie auf die Anwendbarkeit des Klimas des Pliozäns als mögliches Szenario für die globale Erwärmung des 21. Jahrhunderts.

Jan Zalasiewicz ist Senior Lecturer in Geology an der University of Leicester und Chair of the Anthropocene Working Group der International Commission on Stratigraphy. Als Feldgeologe, Paläoontologe und Stratigraf lehrt und forscht er zu Themen der Geologie und Erdgeschichte, insbesondere zu fossilen Ökosystemen und Umwelten, die mehr als eine halbe Milliarde geologischer Zeit umfassen.