Wassermusik 2013, Dengue Fever, Photo: Jakob Hoff
Wassermusik 2013, Shibusa Shirazu Orchestra, Photo: Jacqueline Wong
Wassermusik 2013, Julieta Venegas, Photo: Jakob Hoff

Jul 18–Aug 11, 2013

Wassermusik: The New Pacific

Summer Open-Air Festival

Open-Air-Festival

Concerts, Films, Discussions

WASSERMUSIK 2013 presents music and films from around the Pacific seaboard - from China and South-East Asia to Latin America - and traces their cultural connections. Open-air on the roof terrace, indoors if it rains.

The musical highlights start in Peru and are far from over by the time we get to Japan: the Grammy-winning Susana Baca presents songs from her travels around the "Afrodiaspora". Julieta Venegas brings her elegantly fragile songs from Mexico to Berlin. Novalima took the dub and electronica route to create Afro-Peruvian music with which they went platinum straight away. Colombia's Meridian Brothers, Matias Aguayo and the legendary Cumbia All Stars offer us cumbia in all its various incarnations.

The Australian gentleman-songwriter Robert Forster returns to WASSERMUSIK after a lengthy break with some new songs.

Film and radio workshops for teenagers, a water market and a bicycle disco round off the program. And just to get everybody in the mood, panel discussions on July 16 and 17 entitled "THE INVISIBLE CONTINENT" invite visitors to explore the Pacific.

Wassermusik 2013, Dengue Fever, Foto: Jakob Hoff
Wassermusik 2013, Shibusa Shirazu Orchestra, Foto: Jacqueline Wong
Wassermusik 2013, Julieta Venegas, Foto: Jakob Hoff

18.7.–11.8.2013

Wassermusik: Der neue Pazifik

Sommer-Open-Air-Festival

Open-Air-Festival

Konzerte, Filme, Diskussionen

Musik und Filme rund um die Küsten des Pazifik präsentiert WASSERMUSIK 2013 - von China und Südostasien bis Lateinamerika - und stellt die Frage nach kulturellen Verbindungslinien. Open Air auf der Dachterrasse, und waterproof: bei Regen drinnen.

Die musikalischen Highlights beginnen in Peru und enden noch längst nicht in Japan: Die Grammy-geehrte Susana Baca präsentiert Songs von ihren Reisen durch die "Afrodiaspora". Mit ihrer fragilen Songwriter-Eleganz kommt Julieta Venegas aus Mexiko nach Berlin. Novalima stießen aus Richtung Dub und Electronica zur afro-peruanischen Musik, auch sie aus dem Stand Platin-ausgezeichnet. Cumbia in allen ihren Verwandlungen bringen die kolumbianischen Meridian Brothers, Matias Aguayo und die Legenden von den Cumbia All Stars.

Der australische Gentleman-Songwriter Robert Forster wird bei WASSERMUSIK nach längerer Pause wieder mit neuen Songs zu hören sein.

Film- und Radio-Workshops für Teens, ein Wassermarkt und eine Fahrraddisco ergänzen das Programm. Und zur Einstimmung laden am 16. und 17. Juli Gespräche unter dem Titel DER UNSICHTBARE KONTINENT dazu ein, den Pazifik zu erkunden.