Biographies of the speakers

After Year Zero. Geographies of Collaboration since 1945

Artists | Speakers

Adekeye Adebajo (Cape Town) has been Executive Director of the Centre for Conflict Resolution (CCR), Cape Town, South Africa, since 2003. He served on United Nations missions in South Africa, Western Sahara, and Iraq. Dr. Adebajo is the author of four books on: Building Peace in West Africa; Liberia’s Civil War; The Curse of Berlin: Africa After the Cold War; and UN Peacekeeping in Africa: From the Suez Crisis to the Sudan Conflicts; and co-editor or editor of seven books on: managing global conflicts; the United Nations; the European Union; West African security; and South Africa and Nigeria’s foreign policies in Africa. He obtained his doctorate from Oxford University in England, where he studied as a Rhodes Scholar.

Nabil Ahmed (London) is an artist and writer whose works have been presented internationally including at The 2012 Taipei Biennale, Haus der Kulturen der Welt Berlin, The Centre for Possible Studies Serpentine Gallery, and South Asian Visual Arts Centre (SAVAC) in Toronto. He has written for Third Text, Media Field Journal and the forthcoming books Architecture and the paradox of Dissidence and is co-curator at Call & Response, an artist run sound art project based in London. He is currently a PhD candidate at the Centre for Research Architecture at Goldsmiths, University of London where he also teaches.

Garnette Cadogan (New York) is an independent scholar and freelance writer whose work focuses on arts and culture and their intersection with the history of ideas. He is the co-editor of the forthcoming "Oxford Handbook of the Harlem Renaissance" and is at work on a book about rock-reggae superstar Bob Marley. He lives in New York City.

Rangoato Hlasane (Cape Town) is a visual artist, illustrator and DJ as well as the co-director of the independent and interdisciplinary Keleketla! Library based in Johannesburg. His investigation focuses on the role of the arts in mobilising communities. He coordinated collaborative community based arts and development projects around South Africa using inter-generational and interdisciplinary dialogue as a tool for education and empowering young people from all backgrounds.

James T. Hong (Taiwan), based in Taiwan, James T. Hong is a US-born, independent filmmaker and artist whose works shed light on philosophical topics and figures, controversial race and class issues, and historical conflicts in Asia. His last film “Cutaways of Jiang Chun Gen - Forward and Back Again” was shown in the Forum expanded section of the 2013 Berlinale.

Keyti (Dakar) is known as one of the pioneers of Senegalese hip-hop. With his group Rapadio he offered a radical approach to hip-hop as a means to empower the people and address crucial political and societal issues. He is now, with Xuman, the host of Jounal Rappé, a successful news bulletin performed in rap coming every week on Senegalese tv.

Bongani Madondo (Cape Town) is a writer and cultural critic from South Africa. He has published on literature, music, and the politics of style and race matters. Among other awards, he received the SALA Literary Journalism Award in 2007 and the Steve Biko Advancement of Journalism Fellowship. His new book, "Sigh The Beloved Country", a collection of essays, long form journalism and memoir is due out at the end of 2013 while his book on Brenda Fassie will be published in 2014.

Fred Moten (Los Angeles) is a poet and student of the black radical tradition. He is author of In the Break: The Aesthetics of the Black Radical Tradition, Hughson’s Tavern, B. Jenkins, The Undercommons: Fugitive Planning and Black Study (with Stefano Harney), and The Feel Trio. He lives in Los Angeles and teaches at the University of California, Riverside.

Charles Tonderai Mudede (Seattle) is a writer, filmmaker, and cultural critic born in Zimbabwe and based in Seattle. He is an Associate Editor for the weekly The Stranger, a Contributing Editor for The Black Scholar, and a lecturer in English Humanities at Pacific Lutheran University, Washington.‬

Shirin Rai (Warwick) is a political scientist and professor in the department of Politics and International Studies at the University of Warwick, UK. Her research interests are in post-colonial governance, processes of democratization, gender and politics. She is the author of “The Gender Politics of Development” (2008) and editor of “Ceremony and Ritual in Parliament” (2010).

Authors of the project „Travelling Communiqué. Reading a Photo Archive (1948–1980) Presidential Press Service, Yugoslavia”
The long-term collaborative project is conceived by Armin Linke (artist, Berlin/Milano), Doreen Mende (curator/theorist, Berlin/London) and Milica Tomić (artist, Belgrade) in discussion and with the contribution of the Museum of Yugoslav History (Radovan Cukić, Ivan Manojlović and Mirjana Slavković), Fabian Bechtle (artist, Berlin), Estelle Blaschke (photography historian, Berlin), Zoran Erić (art historian/curator, Belgrade), Theo Eshetu (filmmaker, Rome), Maja Hodoscek (artist, Ljubljana), Pramod Kumar (archive historian, New Dheli), Milica Lopičić (architect, Belgrade), The Otolith Group (artists/theorists, London), Olga Manojlović Pintar (historian, Belgrade), Dubravka Sekulić (writer and architect, Belgrad/Zurich), Ana Sladojević (theorist/curator, Belgrade), Branimir Stojanović (philosopher/psychoanalyst, Belgrade), Jelena Vesić (curator/theorist, Belgrade/Maastricht), and Stevan Vuković (philosopher/curator, Belgrade).
Travelling Communiqué is supported by the Goethe Institute Belgrade. Photo collection of the MYH (Museum of Yugoslav History)

Biografien der Konferenzteilnehmer

After Year Zero. Geografien der Kollaboration seit 1945

Künstler | Konferenzteilnehmer

Adekeye Adebajo (Kapstadt) ist seit 2003 Geschäftsführer des Centre for Conflict Resolution (CCR), Kapstadt. Er gehörte UN-Missionen in Südafrika, der Westlichen Sahara und im Irak an. Er veröffentlichte Bücher zu zeitgeschichtlichen Themen: “Building Peace in West Africa”, “Liberia’s Civil War”, “The Curse of Berlin: Africa After the Cold War” und “UN Peacekeeping in Africa: From the Suez Crisis to the Sudan Conflicts” und war Mitherausgeber oder Herausgeber von Büchern zu globalem Konfliktmanagement, den Vereinten Nationen und der Europäischen Union und zu westafrikanischer Sicherheitspolitik und der Außenpolitik von Südafrika und Nigeria. Seine Doktorwürde erhielt Adekeye Adebajo in Oxford, wo er als Rhodes - Stipendiat studierte.

Nabil Ahmed (London), die Arbeiten des Künstlers und Autors werden weltweit gezeigt, unter anderem bei der Taipei Biennale 2012, am Haus der Kulturen der Welt, am Centre for Possible Studies, Serpentine Gallery und am South Asian Visual Arts Centre (SAVAC) in Toronto. Nabil Ahmed hat Beiträge für „Third Text“, „Media Field Journal“ und den demnächst erscheinenden Band „Architecture and the Paradox of Dissidence“ verfasst und ist Kurator bei Call & Response, einem von Künstlern organisierten Projekt in London. Derzeit ist er Doktorand am Centre for Research Architecture at Goldsmiths, University of London, wo er auch unterrichtet.

Garnette Cadogan (New York), der Schriftsteller lebt als unabhängiger Wissenschaftler und Autor in New York. Seine Arbeiten konzentrieren sich auf Kunst und Kultur und deren Überschneidung mit Fragen der Ideengeschichte. Garnette Cadogan ist Mitherausgeber des in Kürze erscheinenden Bandes „Oxford Handbook of the Harlem Renaissance“ und arbeitet an einem Buch über den Rock/Reggae-Superstar Bob Marley.

Rangoato Hlasane (Johannesburg) ist bildender Künstler, Illustrator, DJ und Ko-Direktor der unabhängigen und interdisziplinären Bibliothek Keleketla! in Johannesburg. Seine Recherchen konzentrieren sich auf die Rolle der Kunst bei der Mobilisierung von Gemeinschaften. Er hat an verschiedenen Orten Südafrikas Kunst- und Entwicklungsprojekte koordiniert, die auf gemeinschaftlichem Handeln aufbauen und die einen Generationen- und Disziplinen-übergreifenden Dialog als Bildungsinstrument nutzen, um jungen Leuten unterschiedlichster Herkunft eine Chance zu geben, ihr Leben selbst in die Hand zu nehmen.

James T. Hong (Taiwan), der unabhängige Filmemacher und Künstler wurde in den USA geboren, lebt und arbeitet nun in Taiwan. James T. Hong beschäftigt sich in seinen Arbeiten mit philosophischen Themen und Figuren, kontroversen Fragen von „Rasse“ und „Klasse“ sowie historischen Konflikten in Asien. Sein letzter Film „Cutaways of Jiang Chun Gen – Forward and Back Again“ wurde im Rahmen der Berlinale 2013 in der Sektion Forum Expanded gezeigt.

Keyti (Dakar) gilt als einer der Pioniere des Hip-Hop im Senegal. Mit seiner Gruppe Rapadio bestritt er einen radikalen Ansatz, der Hip-Hop als Möglichkeit verstand, das Volk aus seiner Ohnmacht zu befreien und zentrale politische und soziale Themen anzusprechen. Derzeit ist er zusammen mit seinem Kollegen Xuman Gastgeber von Journal Rappé, einer erfolgreichen, gerappten Nachrichtensendung, die wöchentlich im senegalesischen Fernsehen ausgestrahlt wird.

Bongani Madondo (Johannesburg), der Autor und Kulturtheoretiker publiziert zu Themen der Literatur, Musik, Stilpolitik(en) und „Rasse“. Zu den Auszeichnungen Bongani Madondos zählen der SALA Literary Journalism Award 2007 und das Steve Biko Advancement of Journalism Fellowship. Sein neues Buch „Sigh The Beloved Country“, eine Sammlung von Essays, längeren journalistischen Arbeiten und Memoiren, erscheint 2013, ein Buch über die Popsängerin Brenda Fassie, Stimme der unterdrückten schwarzen Mehrheit Südafrikas während der Apartheid, ist für 2014 geplant.

Fred Moten (Los Angeles), der Dichter und Literaturtheoretiker beschäftigt sich mit der radikalen Schwarzen Tradition. Fred Moten ist Autor von “In the Break: The Aesthetics of the Black Radical Tradition”, “Hughson’s Tavern”, “B. Jenkins”, “The Undercommons: Fugitive Planning and Black Study” (mit Stefano Harney) und “The Feel Trio”. Er lebt in Los Angeles und unterrichtet an der University of California, Riverside.

Charles Tonderai Mudede (Seattle), geboren in Simbabwe, lebt als Autor, Filmemacher und Kulturtheoretiker in Seattle. Er ist Associate Editor der Wochenzeitschrift „The Stranger“, Contributing Editor bei „The Black Scholar“ und unterrichtet English Humanities an der Pacific Lutheran University, Washington.

Shirin Rai (Warwick), die Politikwissenschaftlerin lehrt als Professorin am Department of Politics and International Studies der University of Warwick, Großbritannien. Ihre Forschungsinteressen sind postkoloniale Regierungsformen, Prozesse der Demokratisierung sowie Geschlecht und Politik. Sie ist Autorin von „The Gender Politics of Development“ (2008) und Herausgeberin von „Ceremony and Ritual in Parliament“(2010).

Autoren des Projekts „Travelling Communiqué. Reading a Photo Archive (1948–1980) Presidential Press Service, Yugoslavia”
Das gemeinschaftliche Langzeitprojekt wurde konzipiert von Armin Linke (Künstler, Berlin/Mailand), Doreen Mende (Kuratorin und Theoretikerin, Berlin/London) und Milica Tomić (Künstlerin, Belgrad) in Diskussion und mit Beiträgen des Museums für Jugoslawische Geschichte (Radovan Cukić, Ivan Manojlović and Mirjana Slavković) sowie von Fabian Bechtle (Künstler, Berlin), Estelle Blaschke (Fotografiehistorikerin, Berlin), Zoran Erić (Kunsthistoriker und Kurator, Belgrad), Theo Eshetu (Filmemacher, Rom), Maja Hodoscek (Künstlerin, Ljubljana), Pramod Kumar (Archivhistoriker, Neu-Delhi), Milica Lopičić (Architektin, Belgrad), The Otolith Group (Künstler und Theoretiker, London), Olga Manojlović Pintar (Historikerin, Belgrad), Dubravka Sekulić (Schriftstellerin und Architektin, Belgrad/Zürich), Ana Sladojević (Theoretikerin und Kuratorin, Belgrad), Branimir Stojanović (Philosoph und Psychoanalytiker, Belgrad), Jelena Vesić (Kuratorin und Theoretikerin, Belgrad/Maastricht), und Stevan Vuković (Philosoph und Kurator, Belgrad).
Travelling Communiqué wird unterstützt durch das Goethe-Institut Belgrad. Fotosammlung des MYH (Museum of Yugoslav History)