Eran Schaerf

fm-scenario – where palms stand – mask – delay

Eran Schaerf’s project examines the constitution of the mass media and the space produced by it. The project offers users an Internet archive (fm-scenario.net) containing audio modules such as listener calls, features, and news, where they can compile stories. One such compilation will form the initial scenario for Schaerf’s installation. Located in the interpreter booths of the main conference room, an architecture which reflects translation processes, the borders between fact and fiction, sender and receiver, user and author, become blurred questioning the production of space by means of language.

Eran Schaerf (*1962 in Israel) is a Berlin-based artist with an academic background in architecture, urban planning and photography. His practice focuses on architectures of discourse in the intersection of fashion, mass media, language and the built environment. It interweaves historical and contemporary political narratives in print, in space, on air, and – often in collaboration with the author and philosopher Eva Meyer – in film. His work has been shown widely in exhibitions such as the 54th Venice Biennale (2011), Skulptur Projekte Münster (2007), and Manifesta 2 in Luxemburg (1998).

fm-scenario - where palms stand - mask - delay is a project in the framework of fm-scenario - The Listener's Voice, a project of a production e. V., Berlin and Bavarian Broadcasting Corporation / Dept. Radio Play and Media Arts in cooperation with Hartware MedienKunstVerein, Dortmund; Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin; Les Complices*, Zurich; the Museum für Konkrete Kunst, Ingolstadt and the ZKM | Center for Art and Media, Karlsruhe. This project has been made possible by the generous support of the German Federal Cultural Foundation, 2012-2014

Es gibt wieder Tickets für Angélique Kidjo und Chocolate Remix!

Eran Schaerf

fm-scenario – where palms stand – mask – delay

Eran Schaerfs Projekt nimmt die Verfasstheit der Massenmedien sowie die durch sie bedingte Raumproduktion in den Blick. Das Projekt stellt auf fm-scenario.net ein Audioarchiv mit Höreranrufen, Features und Nachrichten zur Verfügung, aus dem die Nutzer eigene Geschichten zusammenstellen können. Eine dieser Montagen bildet Ausgangsszenario für Schaerfs Installation. Angesiedelt in den Dolmetscherkabinen des Hauptkonferenzraums, einer Architektur, die Übersetzungsprozesse spiegelt, lässt sie die Grenzen zwischen Fakt und Fiktion, Sender und Empfänger, Nutzer und Autor verschwimmen.

Eran Schaerf (*1962 in Israel) ist ein in Berlin lebender Künstler mit akademischem Hintergrund in Architektur, Stadtplanung und Fotografie. In seiner Arbeit konzentriert er sich auf Architekturen des Diskurses, die sich an den Schnittstellen von Mode, Massenmedien, Sprache und unserer gebauten Umwelt artikulieren. Dabei verknüpft er historische und gegenwärtige politische Erzählungen in Druckerzeugnissen, Rundfunk und – oft zusammen mit der Autorin und Philosophin Eva Meyer – im Film. Seine Arbeiten wurden weltweit gezeigt, beispielsweise auf der 54. Venedig Biennale (2011), bei Skulptur Projekte Münster (2007) und auf der Manifesta 2 in Luxemburg (1998).

fm-scenario - where palms stand - mask - delay ist ein Projekt Im Rahmen von fm-scenario - The Listener's Voice, ein Projekt von Produktion e.V., Berlin und dem Bayerischen Rundfunk in Kooperation mit der Redaktion Hörspiele und Medienkunst. In Kooperation mit Hartware MedienKunstVerein, Dortmund; Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin; Les Complices*, Zurich; dem Museum für Konkrete Kunst, Ingolstadt und dem ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie, Karlsruhe. Dieses Projekt wurde ermöglicht durch die großzügige Unterstützung der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, 2012-2014