Biographies of Artists, Curators and Correspondents

The Potosí Principle

Español: Biografías: Curadores, Artistas, Corresponsales...

Sonia Abián (b. 1966 in Posadas, Argentina) lives and works in Barcelona. She began her artistic work as a painter, and later also turned to action art, video, and conceptual art. Dealing with archives and sound research form the starting point of her works.

Anna Artaker (b. 1976 in Vienna, Austria) lives and works as an artist in Vienna. She focuses on creating pictures connected to historiography or the relationship between photography and its subject.

Bartolomé Arzáns de Orsúa y Vela (b. 1676, d. 1736) was a chronicler in the viceroyalty of Peru, the region covered by present-day Bolivia.

Antonio de Ayanz (b. 1559 in Güendulain; d. 1598 in La Paz, Bolivia) was a Jesuit who in 1596 published a critical account of the working conditions of the Indios in the silver mines.

Monika Baer (b. 1964 in Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany) is an artist and lives and works in Berlin.

John Barker (b. 1948 in north London, Great Britain) lives and works as a writer and cultural critic in London. Barker regularly publishes political and culturecritical essays in the London publication Mute Magazine,among others.

Quirin Bäumler (b. 1965 in Weiden, Germany) is an artist living and working in Berlin. He graduated from the Fachschule für Holzbildhauerei in Oberammergau and the Kunstakademie in Munich. Together with other artists he founded the firm Sculpture Berlin in the German capital.

Gaspar Miguel de Berrio (b. 1706 in Potosí, Bolivia, d. 1762) was a painter, representative of the American Baroque, who worked in Potosí. He is catalogued as one of the chief exponents of the Potosí School, after Melchor Pérez de Holguín, whose disciple he had been.

Christian von Borries (b. 1969 in Zurich, Switzerland) is a conductor, composer, and producer. He lives in Berlin and is engaged in the audio branding of classical music. In 2002 he and Martin Hossbach founded the music label Masse und Macht.

Matthijs de Bruijne (b. 1967 in Amsterdam, the Netherlands) studied at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie and the Rijksakademie in Amsterdam. His multimedia installations are a reflection of research on political realities in Argentina, the Netherlands, China, and elsewhere. De Bruijne’s works have been shown in such locations as Europe, Argentina, and Canada, and in the exhibition project Ex Argentina, 2006, at Museum Ludwig, Cologne. He lives in Amsterdam.

Chto delat/What is to be done? (founded in 2003 in St. Petersburg, Russia) is a platform of artists, philosophers, and writers from St. Petersburg, Moscow, and Nizhny Novgorod, who share their commitment to political theory, art, and activism. Chto delat published an art magazine of the same name in English and Russian.

Alice Creischer (b. 1960 in Gerolstein, Germany) is an artist and writer living in Berlin. In 2004 she and Andreas Siekmann curated the exhibition project Ex Argentina at Museum Ludwig, Cologne; and in 2002 the exhibition Die Gewalt ist der Rand aller Dinge at the Generali Foundation, Vienna.

Culture and Arts Museum of Migrant Workers (Beijing, China) is part of the Migrant Workers Home that was founded in a former factory in Picun Village in 2002. The Migrant Workers Home is an NGO based in Beijing, dedicated, among other things, to equipping schools and offering legal advice to migrant workers.

The Culture and Arts Museum of Migrant Workers was set up in 2008. Sun Heng, a former migrant worker, is the founder and director of the Culture and Arts Museum of Migrant Workers. Lin Zhibin is research coordinator of the Culture and Arts Museum of Migrant Workers.

Anthony Davies (b. 1966 in the United Kingdom) is a writer, cultural critic, and organizer. He lives and works in London.

Stephan Dillemuth (b. 1954 in Bündigen, Germany) is an artist and teaches at the Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Munich. Dillemuth works across genres with installations, videos, performances, painting, documentations, and publications.

Ines Doujak (b. 1959 in Klagenfurt, Austria) lives and works in Vienna. In her photographs, installations, and performances, she examines norms and stereotypes particularly with regard to gender roles and racism.

Elvira Espejo (b. 1981 in Qaqachaka, Bolivia) studied painting and textile design at the National Art Academy in La Paz until 2004. Her artistic practice includes paintings, coal drawings, and woven pieces, as well as linguistic creations—poems, stories, and songs. She lives and works in La Paz.

Marcelo Expósito (b. 1966 in Puertollano, Spain) lives and works mainly in Barcelona. His works focus on the interdisciplinary nature of literature, photography, and video. He is a member of the Universidad Nómad (http://www.universidadnomada.net).

Harun Farocki (b. 1944 in Nový Ji ín/Neutitschein, Czech Republic) is a filmmaker, writer, and professor of film. In the 2000s, Harun Farocki produced a number of artistic works that were shown in the context of exhibitions and museums. He has been teaching at the Akademie der Bildenden Künste Vienna since 2004.

León Ferrari (b. 1920 in Buenos Aires, Argentina) is a conceptual artist concerned with the overlapping of politics and religion. His works are situated in the area of collage, painting, and sculpture. He lives and works in Buenos Aires.

Mariano Florentino Olivares (b. in Oruro, Bolivia) worked as a painter in La Paz in the 19th century.

María Galindo / Mujeres Creando. Galindo (b. 1964 in La Paz, Bolivia) is an artist, theorist, and activist, and a founding member of the feminist group Mujeres Creando (founded in 1992 in La Paz, Bolivia). The group opposes homophobia and machismo. She became known especially for her graffiti. Mujeres Creando has published numerous books, including La Virgen de los Deseos (Buenos Aires, 2005), and produced TV series and videos. She lives and works in La Paz.

Isaías Griñolo (b. 1963 in Bonares, Huelva, Spain) is a fine artist and has initiated long-term projects such as Asuntos internos: La Cultura como cortina de humo between 2003 and 2008. He is a member of Plataforma de Reflexión de Políticas Culturales (PRPC).

Luis Guaraní (b. 1960s in Chuquiago Marka, Bolivia) studied cinema and television in Cuba. He worked as operations and production manager at Bolivian television station Channel 7. In 2010 he was in charge of the television platform for the World Conference on Climate Change in Tiquipaya, Cochabamba. He was the general manager of TV Channel 55 and head of television at the Cochabamba Presidents’ Summit. Currently he lives in La Paz, makes documentaries, and is preparing his first feature film.

Sally Gutiérrez is a visual artist and lives in Madrid. After finalizing her MA art studies in Madrid’s Complutense University, Gutiérrez moved to Berlin, participating in the art movement in East Berlin. With a Fulbright grant she moved to New York and completed a masters in media studies at the New School University. TAPOLOGO is her latest film.

Dmitry Gutov (b. 1960 in Moscow, Russia) works as an installation and video artist and painter in Moscow.

Max Jorge Hinderer Cruz (b. 1980 in Heidelberg, Germany) is a writer and art critic living in Berlin. From 2005–2007 he did research on the Christian-iconic implications at political demonstrations in Santa Cruz, Bolivia (“Proyecto Palmasola,” in collaboration with Katherine Braun). His most recent books are Pok ta Pok. Aneignung—Macht—Kunst (with Jens Kastner, eds) (Vienna, 2007), and TO SHOW IS TO PRESERVE—Figures and Demonstrations (with Martin Beck et al.,eds), a publication on the exhibition of the same title at the Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, 2008.

Herman Hugo (b. 1588 in Brussels, d. 1629 in Rheinberg) was a Belgian Jesuit. In 1627 he published Pia desideria (Antwerp, 1624) which became a popular work of Baroque emblematics.

Zhao Liang (b. 1971 in Dandong, Liaoning Province, China) lives and works as a video artist and photographer in Beijing. He graduated from the Film Academy in Beijing and studied art at the Luxun Academy of Fine Arts in Shenyang.

Rogelio López Cuenca (b. 1959 in Nerja, Spain) is a visual artist and lives and works mainly in Mexico and Barcelona. He has done interventions in urban publicspaces, for TV, on the Web at www.malagana.com, and he has also taken part in the Johannesburg Biennials; Manifesta 1, Rotterdam; São Paulo; Lima; and Istanbul.

Melchor María Mercado was a public servant in Bolivia in the early 19th century.

Eduardo Molinari (b. 1961 in Buenos Aires, Argentina) has been working with the Archivo caminante—a “wandering” and “changing” archive—since 2001. Thematic focuses are on history and identity, utopia and remembrance, as well as on contexts of artistic work. Molinari is a lecturer at the National Art Academy in Buenos Aires.

Francisco Moyen (b. 1720 in Paris, France) was a French merchant, musician, and painter. He first worked as a technical draftsman at various European courts and later invested his inherited fortune in transatlantic trade. Due to his enlightened attitude and tendency toward polemics, he was sentenced by the Inquisition and died as a prisoner on a Spanish galley in 1761.

Juan Eusebio Nieremberg (b. 1595 in Madrid, Spain, d. 1658) was a humanist, physicist, biographer and theologian, who belonged to the Company of Jesus.

Luis Niño (b. in Potosí, Bolivia) was a painter, sculptor, and silversmith who worked under the commission of Obispo de Charcas and the parrish San Lorenzo. It is often stressed that Niño was an Indio.

Plataforma de Reflexión sobre Políticas Culturales (PRPC, Seville, Spain) was founded as a discussion platform on cultural politics, questioning the privatization of public funds for cultural production via the BIACS Foundation (International Biennial for Contemporary Art Seville) and private investment lobbies since the beginning of the Seville biennial.

Felipe Guamán Poma de Ayala (b. 1556, d. 1644) was an indigenous chronicler during the viceroyalty of Peru.

Melchor Pérez de Holguín (b. 1660 in Cochabamba, Bolivia, d. around 1732 in Potosí, viceroyalty of Peru, now Bolivia) was one of the most significant painters of the Andean Baroque. He lived in Potosí.

Juan Ramos (b. sixteenth century in the viceroyalty of Peru) was a painter who worked in the style of the Leonardo Flores school and in the late sixteenth and early seventeenth centuries completed commissioned works in the Church of Jesús de Machaca, today’s Bolivia.

David Riff (b. 1975, London, Great Britain) is an art critic, translator, and writer. He is a member of the group Chto delat. Riff teaches art history at the School of Photography Rodtschenko and multimedia in Moscow. He lives and works in Moscow and Berlin.

Konstanze Schmitt (b. 1974) studied theater and literary studies in Berlin, where she still lives and works. After completing her studies, she was an assistant in the project Ex Argentina in Buenos Aires and Berlin. Since 2004 Konstanze Schmitt has been working as an artist and theatermaker in the independent theater scene and has realized projects, among other places, in Mannheim, Madrid, and Berlin (e.g. exhibition participation in La Normalidad, Buenos Aires 2006, Vom Sinn der Arbeit, Mannheim 2009; performance at the Internationale Schillertage 2009).

Sedoac (Active Domestic Work). Independently organized domestic workers’ association, founded in Madrid in 2006.

Andreas Siekmann (b. 1961 in Hamm, Germany) is an artist and writer living in Berlin. His works explore the privatization of public space and the restructuring of labor relations under the conditions of globalization. Together with Alice Creischer he curated the project Ex Argentina at Museum Ludwig, Cologne, in 2004 and the exhibition Die Gewalt ist der Rand aller Dinge at the Generali Foundation, Vienna, in 2002.

Territorio Doméstico is a constructive location in the self-organized feminist center Eskalera Karakola in Madrid. Since 2006, women and collectives of various nationalities and with different experiences, who work as domestic workers or are otherwise connected to domestic and caring professions, have been meeting here once a month. Together and along with other groups, Sedoac and Territorio Doméstico are fighting for the equality of domestic work, against precarization, and for the rights of female workers regardless of their residence status.

Lucas Valdés (b. 1661 in Seville, Spain, d. 1725 in Cadiz, Spain) was a Spanish Baroque painter.

Ab 2.11. läuft das HKW Programm digital weiter. Das Haus bleibt geschlossen. Mehr…

Kurzbiografien der Künstler, Kuratoren und Korrespondenten

Das Potosí-Prinzip

Español: Biografías: Curadores, Artistas, Corresponsales...

Sonia Abián (*1966 in Posadas, Argentinien) lebt und arbeitet in Barcelona. Ihre künstlerische Arbeit begann sie als Malerin, später kamen Aktionskunst, Videoarbeiten und Konzeptkunst hinzu. Die Beschäftigung mit Archiven und fundierte Recherche bilden den Ausgangspunkt für ihre Arbeiten.

Anna Artaker (*1976 in Wien, Österreich) lebt und arbeitet als Künstlerin in Wien. Sie beschäftigt sich u. a. mit Bildproduktionen im Dienst von Geschichtsschreibung beziehungsweise mit dem Verhältnis der Fotografie zu ihrem Gegenstand.

Bartolomé Arzáns de Orsúa y Vela (*1676; gestorben 1736) war ein Chronist im Vizekönigreich Peru, auf dem Gebiet des heutigen Bolivien.

Monika Baer (*1964 in Freiburg im Breisgau, Deutschland) lebt und arbeitet als Künstlerin in Berlin.

Quirin Bäumler (*1965 in Weiden, Deutschland) lebt und arbeitet als Künstler in Berlin. Er absolvierte die Fachschule für Holzbildhauerei in Oberammergau und die Kunstakademie in München. In Berlin gründete er zusammen mit anderen Künstlern die Firma Sculpture Berlin.

Gaspar Miguel de Berrio (*1706 in Potosí, Bolivien; gestorben 1762) war ein Vertreter des amerikanischen Barock, der in Potosí, arbeitete. Er gilt neben Melchor Pérez de Holguín, dessen Schüler er wahrscheinlich war, als bedeutendster Maler der Schule von Potosí.

Christian von Borries (*1969 in Zürich, Schweiz) ist Dirigent, Komponist und Produzent. Er lebt in Berlin und beschäftigt sich mit Audio Branding klassischer Musik. 2002 gründete er mit Martin Hossbach das Musiklabel „Masse und Macht“.

Matthijs de Bruijne (*1967 in Amsterdam, Niederlande) studierte an der Gerrit Rietveld Academie und der Rijksakademie in Amsterdam. Seine Multimedia-Installationen sind Ergebnisse von Untersuchungen politischer Realitäten in Argentinien, den Niederlanden, China und anderswo. De Bruijnes Werke werden in Europa, Argentinien und Kanada gezeigt, darunter im Ausstellungsprojekt Ex Argentina, 2004, im Museum Ludwig, Köln. Er lebt in Amsterdam.

Chto delat / What is to be done? (gegründet 2003 in St. Petersburg, Russland) ist eine Plattform von Künstlern, Philosophen und Schriftstellern aus St. Petersburg, Moskau und Nizhny Novgorod, die politische Theorie, Kunst und Aktivismus verbindet. Chto delat publiziert eine gleichnamige Kunstzeitschrift in englischer und russischer Sprache.

Alice Creischer (*1960 in Gerolstein, Deutschland) lebt als Künstlerin und Autorin in Berlin. 2004 kuratierte sie gemeinsam mit Andreas Siekmann das Ausstellungsprojekt Ex Argentina im Museum Ludwig, Köln, und 2002 die Ausstellung Die Gewalt ist der Rand aller Dinge in der Generali Foundation, Wien.

Culture and Arts Museum of Migrant Workers (Beijing, China) ist Teil des Migrant Workers’ Home, das 2002 in einer ehemaligen Fabrik in Picun Village gegründet wurde. Migrant Workers’ Home ist eine in Beijing ansässige NGO. Das Migrant Workers’ Home richtet u.a. selbstorganisierte Schulen ein und gibt Rechtsberatung für Migrationsarbeiter. 2008 wurde das Culture and Arts Museum of Migrant Workers eingerichtet. Sun Heng, ehemaliger Wanderarbeiter, ist Gründer und Leiter des Culture and Arts Museum of Migrant Workers. Lin Zhibin ist Research Koordinatorin am Culture and Arts Museum of Migrant Workers.

Anthony Davies (*1966 in Großbritannien) ist Autor und Kulturkritiker. Er arbeitet und lebt in London.

Stephan Dillemuth (*1954 in Bündigen, Deutschland) ist Künstler und lehrt an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in München. Dillemuth arbeitet genreübergreifend in Form von Installationen, Video, Performances, Malerei, Dokumentationen und Publikationen.

Ines Doujak (*1959 in Klagenfurt, Österreich) lebt und arbeitet als Künstlerin in Wien. In ihren Fotografien, Installationen und Performances untersucht sie Normen und Stereotypen insbesondere in Bezug auf Geschlechterrollen und Rassismus.

Elvira Espejo (*1981 in Qaqachaka, Bolivien) studierte bis 2004 Malerei und Textilgestaltung an der Nationalen Kunstakademie in La Paz. Ihre künstlerische Praxis schließt Gemälde, Kohlezeichnungen und Webereien sowie Wortschöpfungen, Gedichte, Geschichten und Gesänge ein. Sie lebt und arbeitet in La Paz.

Marcelo Expósito (*1966 in Puertollano, Spanien) lebt und arbeitet als Künstler hauptsächlich in Barcelona. Das Hauptaugenmerk seiner Werke liegt in der Interdisziplinarität von Literatur, Fotografie und Video. Er ist Mitglied der Universidad Nómada (http://www.universidadnomada.net).

Harun Farocki (*1944 in Nový Jičín / Neutitschein, Tschechien) ist Filmemacher, Autor und Hochschuldozent für Film. In den 2000er-Jahren hat Harun Farocki eine Reihe von künstlerischen Arbeiten geschaffen, die im Ausstellungs- und Museumskontext gezeigt werden. Er unterrichtet seit 2004 an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien.

León Ferrari (*1920 in Buenos Aires, Argentinien) ist Konzeptkünstler und befasst sich vielfach mit den Überschneidungen von Politik und Religion. Seine Arbeiten sind in den Bereichen Collage, Malerei und Skulptur angesiedelt. Er lebt und arbeitet in Buenos Aires.

Mariano Florentino Olivares (geboren in Oruro, Bolivien) arbeitete im 19. Jahrhundert als Maler in La Paz.

María Galindo/Mujeres Creando. Galindo (*1964 in La Paz, Bolivien) ist Künstlerin, Theoretikerin und Aktivistin. Sie ist Gründungsmitglied der feministischen Gruppe Mujeres Creando (gegründet 1992 in La Paz, Bolivien). Die Gruppe tritt Homophobie und Machismo entgegen. Bekannt wurden sie vor allem für ihre Graffitis. Mujeres Creando hat zahlreiche Publikationen veröffentlicht, darunter La Virgen de los Deseos, Buenos Aires, 2005, sowie Fernsehserien und Videos produziert. Galindo lebt und arbeitet in La Paz.

Isaías Griñolo (*1963 in Bonares - Huelva, Spanien) ist bildender Künstler und initiiert Langzeitprojekte wie Asuntos internos. La Cultura como cortina de humo (2003/2008). Er ist Mitglied der Plataforma de Reflexión de Políticas Culturales (PRPC).

Luis Guaraní (*in den 60er-Jahren in Chuquiago Marka, Bolivien) studierte Film und Fernsehen in Kuba. Er arbeitete als Produktionsmanager bei Canal 7 im bolivianischen Fernsehen, leitete die Fernsehplattform der Weltklimakonferenz in Tiquipaya, Cochabamba 2010, war Geschäftsführer bei Canal 55 und Verantwortlicher für das Fernsehen beim Präsidentengipfel in Cochabamba. Zurzeit lebt er als Dokumentarfilmer in La Paz und arbeitet an seinem ersten Kino-Spielfilm.

Sally Gutiérrez ist bildende Künstlerin und lebt in Madrid. Nach Abschluss ihres Kunststudiums an der Madrider Complutense Universität zog Gutiérrez nach Ost-Berlin und war dort Teil der Kunstszene. Mit einem Fulbright-Stipendium ging sie nach New York, wo sie an der New School University ihren Master in Media Studies machte. Ihr jüngster Film: Tapologo.

Dmitry Gutov (*1960 in Moskau, Russland) ist als Installations- und Videokünstler sowie als Maler in Moskau tätig..

Max Jorge Hinderer Cruz (*1980 in Heidelberg, Deutschland) lebt als Autor und Kunstkritiker in Berlin. Zwischen 2005 und 2007 erforschte er christlich-ikonische Implikationen bei politischen Demonstrationen in Santa Cruz, Bolivien (Proyecto Palmasola, gemeinsam mit Katherine Braun). Zuletzt erschienen die Bücher Pok ta Pok. Aneignung – Macht – Kunst (hg. mit Jens Kastner), Wien 2007, und TO SHOW IS TO PRESERVE – figures and demonstrations (hg. mit Martin Beck et al.), einer Publikation zur gleichnamigen Ausstellung in der Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, 2008.

Herman Hugo (*1588 in Brüssel; gestorben 1629 in Rheinberg) war ein belgischer Jesuit. Er veröffentlichte 1627 Pia desideria (Antwerpen 1624), das zu einem der weitverbreiteten Werken der barocken Emblematik wurde.

Zhao Liang (*1971 in Dandong, Provinz Liaoning, China) lebt und arbeitet als Videokünstler und Fotograf in Peking. Er absolvierte die Filmakademie in Peking und ein Kunststudium an der Luxun Academy of Fine Arts in Shenyang.

Rogelio López Cuenca (*1959 in Nerja, Spanien) lebt und arbeitet als bildender Künstler u.a. in Mexiko und Barcelona. Seine Arbeiten waren im öffentlichen Raum, im Fernsehen und auf der Webseite http://www.malagana.com zu sehen. Er hat an den Biennalen von Johannesburg, Manifesta 1 (Rotterdam), São Paulo, Lima und Istanbul teilgenommen.

Jorge Luis Marzo (*1964 in Barcelona, Spanien) ist Kunsthistoriker, Kurator, Autor und Professor an der Escuela Elisava, Universitat Pompeu Fabra. Er lebt und arbeitet in Barcelona.

Melchor María Mercado war Staatsbeamter und Zeichner im frühen des 19. Jahrhundert in Bolivien.

Eduardo Molinari (*1961 in Buenos Aires, Argentinien) arbeitet seit 2001 mit dem „Archivo caminante“ – einem „wandernden“ und „sich wandelnden Archiv“. Thematische Schwerpunkte sind Geschichte und Identität, Utopie und Erinnerung sowie Kontexte künstlerischer Arbeit. Molinari ist Dozent an der Nationalen Kunstakademie in Buenos Aires.

Francisco Moyen (*1720 in Paris, Frankreich) war ein französischer Kaufmann, Musiker und Maler. Er arbeitete zuerst als technischer Zeichner an verschiedenen europäischen Höfen und investierte später sein geerbtes Vermögen in den transatlantischen Handel. Wegen seiner aufgeklärten Haltung und Hang zur Polemik wurde er 1749 von der Inquisition verurteil und starb 1761 als Gefangener auf einer spanischen Galeere.

Juan Eusebio Nieremberg (*1595 in Madrid/Spanien; gestorben 1658) war jesuitischer Humanist, Physiker, Biograf und Theologe.

Luís Niño (* in Potosí, Bolivien) war als Maler, Bildhauer, Silberschmied und Steinmetz tätig und arbeitete im Auftrag des Bischofs von Charcas und für die Pfarrei der Kirche San Lorenzo. Oft wird betont, dass Niño Indio war.

Plataforma de Reflexión sobre Políticas Culturales (PRPC, Sevilla / Spanien) PRPC gründete sich als Diskussionsplattform über Kulturpolitik, die die Privatisierung öffentlicher Gelder durch die BIACS Stiftung (Internationale Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst Sevilla) und private Investorenlobbys seit Beginn der Biennale von Sevilla thematisiert.

Felipe Guamán Poma de Ayala (1556 – 1644) war indigener Chronist zur Zeit des Vizekönigreichs Peru..

Melchor Pérez de Holguín (*1660 in Cochabamba, Bolivien; gestorben 1732 in Potosí), war einer der bedeutensten Maler des andinen Barock Er lebte in Potosí.

Juan Ramos (*16 Jahrhundert im Vizekönigreich Peru) war Maler im Stil der Schule des Leonardo Flores und erfüllte im späten 16. und frühen 17. Jh. Auftragsarbeiten in der Kirche von Jesús de Machaca (im heutigen Bolivien).

David Riff (*1975, London, Großbritannien) ist Kunstkritiker, Übersetzer und Schriftsteller. Er ist Mitglied der Arbeitsgruppe Chto delat. Riff lehrt Kunstgeschichte an der School of Photography Rodtschenko und Multimedia in Moskau. Er lebt und arbeitet in Moskau und in Berlin.

Konstanze Schmitt (*1974 in Mannheim, Deutschland) studierte Theater- und Literaturwissenschaft in Berlin, wo sie auch heute lebt und arbeitet. Nach Abschluss des Studiums war sie Assistentin des Projekts Ex Argentina in Buenos Aires und Berlin. Seit 2004 ist Konstanze Schmitt als Künstlerin und Theatermacherin im freien Theater und im Kunstbereich tätig und hat unter anderem in Mannheim, Madrid und Berlin Projekte realisiert (z.B. Ausstellungsteilnahmen an La Normalidad, Buenos Aires 2006 und Vom Sinn der Arbeit, Mannheim 2009; Performance bei den Internationalen Schillertagen 2009).

Sedoac (Aktive Hausarbeit) ist ein unabhängig organisierter Domestic-Worker-Verein, gegründet 2006 in Madrid.

Andreas Siekmann (*1961 in Hamm, Deutschland) lebt als Künstler und Autor in Berlin. Er beschäftigt sich in seinen Arbeiten mit der Privatisierung des öffentlichen Raums und der Restrukturierung von Arbeitsverhältnissen unter den Bedingungen der Globalisierung. Mit Alice Creischer kuratierte er 2004 das Projekt Ex Argentina im Museum Ludwig, Köln, und 2002 die Ausstellung Die Gewalt ist der Rand aller Dinge in der Generali Foundation, Wien.

Territorio Doméstico ist ein konstruktiver Ort im selbstorganisierten feministischen Zentrum Eskalera Karakola in Madrid. Dort treffen sich seit 2006 einmal im Monat Frauen und Kollektive mit unterschiedlichen Nationalitäten und Erfahrungen, die als Hausangestellte arbeiten oder auf andere Weise mit dem Thema Haus-und Pflegearbeit verbunden sind. Zusammen und mit anderen Gruppen kämpfen Sedoac und Territorio Doméstico für die rechtliche Gleichstellung der Hausarbeit mit anderer Arbeit, gegen Prekarisierung und für die Rechte von Arbeiterinnen, unabhängig von ihrem Aufenthaltsstatus.

Lucas Valdés (*1661 in Sevilla, Spanien; gestorben 1725 in Cádiz, Spanien) war ein spanischer Maler des Barock.