Participants

Sinan Antoon

is a poet, novelist, translator, and scholar. He studied English literature at Baghdad University before moving to the United States after the 1991 Gulf War. He did his graduate studies at Georgetown and Harvard, where he earned a PhD in Arabic Literature in 2006. His dissertation was on the 10th century Arab poet Ibn al-Hajjaj. His poems and articles (in Arabic and English) have appeared in various journals and publications in the Arab world, including as-Safir, an-Nahar, al-Adab, Masharef, as well as The Nation, Middle East Report, al-Ahram Weekly, Banipal, World Literature Today, and The Journal of Palestine Studies. He has published a collection of poems in Arabic (A Prism; Wet with Wars, Cairo 2003), which was published in English as The Baghdad Blues in April 2007 by Harbor Mountain Press, and a novel I’jaam (Beirut, 2003) which was published in English in 2007 by City Lights Books and in German in 2008 by Lenos. Translations in Italian (Fertinelli), Portuguese (Globo), and Norwegian are forthcoming. His poetry was anthologized in Iraqi Poetry Today and Inclined to Speak: An Anthology of Arab-American Poetry. He has also contributed numerous translations of Arabic poetry into English. His co-translation of Mahmud Darwish’s poetry was nominated for the PEN Prize for translation in 2004. Antoon co-produced and co-directed a documentary About Baghdad (2004, which assessed the lives of Iraqis in a post-Saddam occupied Iraq. He is a contributing editor to Banipal and a member of the editorial committee of Middle East Report. He taught at Dartmouth College (2003-2005) and is currently Assistant Professor at New York University’s Gallatin School and a fellow at the Hagop Kevorkian Center for Near Eastern Studies.He currently is a fellow of the Berlin based research program Europe in the Middle East – The Middle East in Europe and working on a book about “The Poetics of the Obscene in Pre-Modern Arabic Poetry.”


Amnon Raz-Krakotzkin (historian, Jerusalem / member of EUME)

Amnon Raz-Krakotzkin is a historian and professor of Jewish history at Ben Gurion University. He is one of the most prominent advocates of a bi-nationalist solution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. His main areas of theoretical interest are Christian-Jewish discourse of the early Modern Age and the history of Zionist ideas. In 1996, he graduated at the University of Tel Aviv in the subject: “The Nationalist Portrayal of the Exile, Zionist Historiography, and Medieval Jewry”. He also works at the Alma College, a forum for liberal art and a center for studies in Hebraic culture. His publications include: Exile et Binationalisme (Paris) and Orientalism, Jewish Studies and Israeli Society (in Hebraic). In 2003-2004, he was a Fellow of the Wissenschaftskolleg Berlin and is a member of the research program “Europe in the Middle East – the Middle East in Europe”. Works he co-authored include The Censor, the Editor, and the Text: The Catholic Church and the Shaping of the Jewish Canon in the Sixteenth Century (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2007).


Sherene Seikaly

is Assistant Professor of History at the American University in Cairo. She is Co-Editor of the Arab Studies Journal. She received her doctoral degree in September 2007 from the Departments of History and Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies at New York University. She is presently working on her manuscript based on her dissertation, Meatless Days: Consumption and Capitalism in Wartime Palestine 1939-1948. Situated at the intersections of studies of consumption, political economy, and colonialism, her research traces the formation of a Palestinian Arab middle class before the defining rupture of 1948. Seikaly’s interests range from social and cultural history of daily practices to the trajectories of colonial and post-colonial development. She has lectured and is writing on topics including, “The New Arab Home: Consumer, Housewife, and Citizen in Forties Palestine,” “A Public Good? Palestinian Businessmen and the British Colonial State,” “Nakba and Historiography: The Centrality of Catastrophe in Palestinian History,” and “Food for All Under Control: Nutrition and Colonial Development in 1940s Palestine.” She currently is a fellow of the Berlin based research program Europe in the Middle East – The Middle East in Europe.


Hassan Khader (author, Berlin/Ramallah)

Hassan Khader, Palestinian author and literary critic, lives and works in Ramallah and Berlin. He is editor-in-chief of the literary journal Al-Karmel. His fields of work include poetry, short stories and novels. He also publishes articles on the possibility of coexistence between Israelis and Palestinians and is engaged in a critical-constructive debate on issues related to the peace process in the Middle East.


Georges Khali (EUME)

Georges Khali (born in Munich in 1965), a historian and specialist in Islamic studies, has served as scientific co-ordinator at the Wissenschaftskolleg Berlin since 1998. Until 2006, he worked for the working group Modernity and Islam. He is currently director of the research programme “Europe in the Middle Easte – the Middle East in Europe” run by the Brandenburgishe Akademie der Wissenschaften, the Fritz Thyssen Stiftung and the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin.

Teilnehmer

Sinan Antoon (Autor, Literaturwissenschaftler, EUME Fellow, Baghdad/New York)

Sinan Antoon, geboren in Baghdad, ist Dichter, Romanautor, Übersetzer und Literaturwissenschaftler. Er studierte Englische Literatur an der Universität Baghdad, bevor er nach dem Golfkrieg 1991 in die Vereinigten Staaten zog. Sein Studium setzte er an der Georgetown und der Harvard University fort, wo er 2006 in Arabischer Literatur promovierte. Seine Dissertation befasst sich mit der Poetik des Obszönen bei Ibn al-Hajjaj, einem Dichter des 10. Jahrhunderts. Seine eigenen Gedichte und Beiträge (in Arabisch und Englisch) sind in verschiedenen Zeitschriften und Publikationen in der arabischen Welt erschienen, darunter as-Safir, an-Nahar, al-Adab, Masharef sowie The Nation, Middle East Report, al-Ahram Weekly, Banipal, World Literature Today und The Journal of Palestine Studies. Von Sinan Antoon liegt eine Gedichtsammlung auf Arabisch vor, die ins Englische übersetzt und im April 2007 als The Baghdad Blues bei Harbor Mountain Press veröffentlicht wurde. Sein Roman l’jaam (Beirut 2003) erschien 2007 auf Englisch bei City Lights Books und 2008 als Irakische Raphsodie auf Deutsch bei Lenos. Seine Gedichte wurden in die Anthologien Iraqi Poetry Today und Inclined to Speak: An Anthology of Arabic-American Poetry aufgenommen. Er hat darüber hinaus zahlreiche arabische Gedichte ins Englische übersetzt. Seine Co-Übersetzung von Mahmud Darwishs Gedichten war 2004 für den PEN Translation Prize nominiert. Antoon ist Koproduzent und Koregisseur des Dokumentarfilms „About Baghdad“ (2004) über das Leben von Irakern im besetzen Irak nach Saddam Hussein. Er ist Redakteur von Banipal und Mitglied des Redaktionsausschusses des Middle East Report. Er ist Assistant Professor an der Gallatin School der New York University und ist zur Zeit Fellow des Berliner Forschungsprogramms Europa im Nahen Osten – Der Nahe Osten in Europa (EUME).


Amnon Raz-Krakotzkin (Historiker, EUME Fellow, Jerusalem)

Amnon Raz-Krakotzkin ist Historiker und Professor für Jüdische Geschichte an der Ben Gurion Universität. Er ist einer der prominentesten Befürworter des Binationalismus als Ausweg aus dem israelisch-palästinensischen Konflikt. Der christlich-jüdische Diskurs der frühen Neuzeit und die Ideengeschichte des Zionismus bilden seine wissenschaftlichen Themenschwerpunkte. Er promovierte 1996 an der Universität Tel Aviv zu dem Thema "The Nationalist Portrayal of the Exile, Zionist Historiography, and Medieval Jewry". Er arbeitet des Weiteren am Alma Collegue, welches ein Forum für liberale Kunst und zentraler Anlaufpunkt für die Studien zur hebräischen Kultur darstellt. Publikationen (Auswahl): „Exile et Binationalisme” (Paris); „Orientalism, Jewish Studies and Israeli Society” (auf Hebräisch). Er war 2003/04 Fellow des Wissenschaftskollegs zu Berlin und ist Mitglied des Forschungsprogramms "Europa im Nahen Osten – Der Nahe Osten in Europa". Er ist unter anderem Autor von „The Censor, the Editor, and the Text: The Catholic Church and the Shaping of the Jewish Canon in the Sixteenth Century“ (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2007).


Sherene Seikaly (Historikerin, EUME Fellow, Beirut/Haifa)

Serene Seikaly ist eine palästinensische Historikerin. Sie war 2007-2008 Qatar Post-doctoral fellow am CCAS, Georgetown University. Sie ist Mitherausgeberin des Arab Studies Journal. September 2007 schloss Seikaly ihre Promotion an den Fachbereichen für Geschichte und Nahoststudien und Islamwissenschaften der New York University ab. Zur Zeit arbeitet sie an ihrem Manuskript Meatless Days: Consumption and Capitalism in Wartime Palestine 1939-1948, das auf ihrer Dissertation aufbaut. Seikalys Interessen reichen von der Sozial- und Kulturgeschichte von Alltagsbräuchen über Verläufe kolonialer und postkolonialer Entwicklung bis zu Fragen moderner Kunst in der arabischen Welt. Zu ihren Publikationen zählen: „A Public Good? Palestinian Businessmen and the British Colonial State“, „Nakba and Historiography: The Centrality of Catastrophe in Palestinian History” und „Food for All Under Control: Nutrition and Colonial Development in 1940s Palestine”. Seikaly unterrichtet Geschichte des modernen Nahen Ostens an der American University in Cairo und ist zur Zeit Fellow des Berliner Forschungsprogramms Europa im Nahen Osten – Der Nahe Osten in Europa (EUME).


Hassan Khader (Autor, Berlin/Ramallah)

Hassan Khader, palästinensischer Autor und Literaturkritiker, lebt und arbeitet in Ramallah und Berlin. Er Chefredakteur und Herausgeber der literarischen Zeitschrift «Al-Karmel». Seine Arbeitsgebiete umfassen Gedichte, Erzählungen und Romane. Des weiteren publiziert er Artikel, zu Fragen der möglichen Koexistenz zwischen Israeli und Palästinensern und setzt sich kritisch-konstruktiv mit Fragen zum Friedensprozess im Nahen Osten auseinander.


Georges Khalil (EUME)

Georges Khalil, geb. 1965 in München, Historiker und Islamwissenschaftler, ist seit 1998 wissenschaftlicher Koordinator am Wissenschaftskolleg Berlin und war bis 2006 für den Arbeitskreis Moderne und Islam tätig. Zurzeit leitet er das von der Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, der Fritz Thyssen Stiftung und des Wissenschaftskollegs zu Berlin zusammen angelegte Forschungsprogramm 'Europa im Nahen Osten – Der Nahe Osten in Europa'.