100 Years of Now Library

Bibliothek 100 Jahre Gegenwart

Bibliothek 100 Jahre Gegenwart

The present rules, encroaching upon the entire period of time at our disposal. Under the pressure of the present, contemporary thinking often lacks both an historical awareness and a future horizon. The book series 100 Years of Now Library aims to confront this traditional understanding of the present with other concepts of time.

Each volume covers the time span of a century in order to examine historic upheavals in politics, economics, spirituality, technology and culture that characterize both the present and and the future. They thereby identify transformations for which alternative endings were conceivable and reveal continuities.

The series re-addresses core issues of the past hundred years: the housing question, the ongoing relevance of the artistic avant-gardes, the correlations between war and technology, the influence of historical feminist and anarchist movements, questions of political classification systems, disturbances in the metabolism of the planet, data production and cybernetics and, not least, notions of history and of time itself. Where were potentials left undeveloped, where were questions left unanswered and where does history offer alternatives? How can the past be instilled in the present not as a relic, but as lived experience and a resource for the future?

The volumes of the 100 Years of Now Library, published by Matthes & Seitz in Berlin, penetrate deep into the paradigms of our age to showcase new ways of appraising current issues. They reflect the program of events of the four-year project 100 Years of Now 2015 – 2019 and will conclude with the Dictionary of Now.

Die Zeit der Algorithmen

Die Zeit der Algorithmen

Die Zeit der Algorithmen

Volume 1, 2016, in German
Edited by Bernd Scherer

Under pressure from the present, contemporary thinking often lacks both an awareness of history and a future horizon. How did we develop this fixation on an instant, on the present moment? In the first volume, Die Zeit der Algorithmen, the science researcher Helga Nowotny, author of the visionary book Eigenzeit (1989), and HKW director Bernd Scherer examine how notions of time evolved between capitalism, armed conflicts and technological progress, how time is experienced today, what alternatives there may be to the ever more global raster of acceleration and timing and what role the peripheries and margins of the algorithm play in it all. More about the book

Wohnungsfrage

Wohnungsfrage

Wohnungsfrage

Volume 2, 2017, in German
Edited by Jesko Fezer, Nikolaus Hirsch, Wilfried Kuehn and Hila Peleg

Housing shortages, gentrification, luxury renovations, refugee housing – after decades characterized by a supposedly self-regulated market, the housing issue is back as a sociopolitical matter. How do we want to live in the future, what should our cities look like? An analysis of the historical topoi that still determine housing to this day: inequality, neighborhood, migration, living, and working. And the demand for a new housing policy.
More about the book

Krieg singen

Krieg singen

Krieg singen

Volume 3, 2017, in German
Edited by Detlef Diederichsen and Holger Schulze

Why do war and music go so well together? Music plays a decisive role in war propaganda and warmongering, and – most recently – in the soundtracks of beastly execution videos. On the other side, much of music promotes peace and non-violence, as well as something akin to musical mourning. The publication compiles theoretical reflections, written collages and interviews on the connections between war, technology, and music.
More about the book

Nervöse Systeme

Nervöse Systeme

Nervöse Systeme

Volume 4, 2017, in German
Edited by Anselm Franke, Stephanie Hankey and Marek Tuszynski

Today, the nervous system has become the leitmotiv of an increasingly nervous, technologically highly equipped age. Companies talk about “smart nerves” and “synaptic real-time connections” as organizational solutions for almost any problem, whether in apparatuses of the state, economy or ecology. The volume examines how the new trust in technological solutions and databased algorithms, supported by data analysis, reality mining, pattern recognition and forecasts, has changed our understanding of the “self” and the “social.” It frames the examination of data in social and political strategies of the past hundred years.
More about the book

Pop 16

Pop 16

Pop 16
100 Jahre produzierte Musik

Volume 5, 2017, in German
Edited by Detlef Diederichsen and Florian Sievers

Similar to the way that photography captured light, wax cylinders and shellac records were the first to capture the sounds of their age one hundred years ago. It was a step that would have far-reaching consequences. It not only would change how people listened to music, but also had an effect on the music itself. How did the first produced, deliberately tonally designed recordings shape listening habits? How did the recording media, which began to traverse the world without human accompaniment, transform entire musical styles?
More about the book

2 oder 3 Tiger

2 oder 3 Tiger

2 oder 3 Tiger
Koloniale Geschichten, Medien und Moderne

Volume 6, 2017
Edited by Hyunjin Kim and Anselm Franke

Based on the exhibition of the same name, the volume compiles essays by leading East Asian intellectuals. The tiger is the basis for reflection on modernization ideologies and the way that culture and life are altered under the prevailing circumstances and identities are destabilized or solidified. Modernity is reflected as a colonial scheme that is inscribed in the history of nation states, militarization and financialization, but also as a comprehensive new order of the world and worldviews that in the past 200 years has led to a profound crisis of consciousness in most societies.
More about the book

Kosmismus

Kosmismus

Kosmismus

Volume 7, 2018
Edited by Boris Groys and Anton Vidokle

In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, the Russian Cosmists aimed to make humanity immortal through technology, thereby redeeming the Christian promise of resurrection in the here and now. The arts played a central role in these endeavors. Because of their ability to perpetuate things, they were regarded as equal in stature to the natural sciences and medicine. Based on historical Cosmism, this volume examines materialism as the central mode of thought of the 20th century against the backdrop of new philosophical trends like speculative realism, new materialism and transhumanism.
More about the book

Utopie und Feminismus

Utopie und Feminismus

Utopie und Feminismus

Volume 8, 2018
Edited by Annemie Vanackere and Sarah Reimann

The Russian Revolution created the most progressive, completely gender-neutral marriage and family legislation the modern world had ever seen. Homosexuality, the endorsement of which is punishable in today’s Russia, was legalized in Russia in 1918. The beginnings of the Russian Revolution were not only ahead of their own time, but also ahead of ours. Its ideals, as its reality, are not only once again contemporary, but also still visionary. This volume, created together with the theater HAU Hebbel am Ufer, is devoted to the transformation of historical utopias of equality over the last hundred years, starting with the writings of the feminist author Alexandra Kollontai and the productions of female artists invited to contribute by HAU Hebbel am Ufer.
More about the book

Schools of Tomorrow

Schools of Tomorrow

Schools of Tomorrow

Volume 9, released Autumn 2019
Edited by Silvia Fehrmann

One school reform is followed by another, exhausting teachers and parents alike. The educational system is being readied for a future driven by business interests, a future to which, however, only a few are looking forward. One hundred years ago, by contrast, educational reformers across the globe strove to create opportunities for new ways of acting and thinking. The volume examines how the experimental practices of the past can be applied to today’s learning under digital conditions. How can schools become places where alternative designs of the future are created?
More about the book

Gezeitendenken

Gezeitendenken

Gezeitendenken
Recherchen abseits des Nationalstaatensystems

Volume 10, released November 2019
Edited by Katrin Klingan, Nanna Heidenreich and Rana Dasgupta

The publication brings the nation state as the only possible political system today into question. Beginning by asking about options available that go beyond national structures, the book analyzes the structural foundations of the nation-state system and seeks out political and aesthetic strategies to expose its failures in key issues. The volume is arranged using two metaphors: sand and sea. The materiality of sand represents the pathological state of nationally defined territories and global capitalism. By way of contrast, the sea expresses fluid visions and conveys messages of political alternatives. The meeting of sand and sea allows for “tidal thinking” – a rhythmic exchange that transforms contours and categories, thus opening up new possibilities for the future.
More about the book

100 Jahre Copyright

100 Jahre Copyright

100 Jahre Copyright

Volume 11, released November 2019
Edited by Detlef Diederichsen and Lina Brion

A fierce battle is currently raging over copyrights: On the one side are all those who built their business models around rights utilization – publishers, labels and production companies; on the other are the representatives of the digital economy – telecommunications companies, web service providers, software and hardware producers. The victims of this dispute are creative people, who are finding it increasingly difficult to make a living from their work because the legal basis for generating their income originated in the pre-digital era.
More about the book

Technosphäre

Technosphäre

Technosphäre

Volume 12, 2019
Edited by Katrin Klingan and Christoph Rosol

What happens when technologies and techniques become planetary players? Over the course of the twentieth century, a new component of the global system established itself: the technosphere, comparable in its effects and function with the biosphere or the hydrosphere. The concurrence of natural environments with technical infrastructures and the almost uncontrollable evolutionary dynamics of growing “technological biodiversity” raise new questions about the initiation and operation of technical omniscience.
More about the book

Wörterbuch der Gegenwart

Wörterbuch der Gegenwart

Wörterbuch der Gegenwart

Volume 13, 2019
Edited by Bernd Scherer, Olga von Schubert and Stefan Aue

What comes after universalism? Many of the categories and concepts of modernity carry on historical interpretive patterns from which critical, post-colonial and feminist thinkers worldwide are distancing themselves. But how can we communicate about a globalized present without agreeing on certain basic concepts? The Wörterbuch der Gegenwart (Dictionary of Now) uses the examples of the twelve keywords Fear, Image, Thing, Violence, Justice, Body, Market, Politics, Language, Animal, Truth and Time to show how definitions can be reassessed by established voices.
More about the book

Bibliothek 100 Jahre Gegenwart

Bibliothek 100 Jahre Gegenwart

Bibliothek 100 Jahre Gegenwart

Das Jetzt regiert und nimmt den gesamten Zeitraum in Anspruch, der uns zur Verfügung steht. Unter dem Druck der Gegenwart fehlen zeitgenössischem Denken oftmals sowohl das Geschichtsbewusstsein als auch der Zukunftshorizont. Die Publikationsreihe Bibliothek 100 Jahre Gegenwart stellt dem überkommenen Verständnis von Gegenwart andere Zeitentwürfe entgegen.

Die einzelnen Bände nehmen jeweils die Zeitspanne eines Jahrhunderts in den Blick, um die historischen Umwälzungen in Politik, Ökonomie, Spiritualität, Technologie und Kultur zu untersuchen, die die Gegenwart ebenso prägen wie die Zukunft. So sollen Transformationen identifiziert werden, zu denen alternative Ausgänge denkbar waren, und Kontinuitäten aufscheinen, an die sich anknüpfen lässt.

Die Reihe greift zentrale Fragen der letzten hundert Jahre nachhaltig wieder auf: die Wohnungsfrage, die Aktualität der künstlerischen Avantgarden, den Zusammenhang von Krieg und Technologie, den Einfluss historischer feministischer und anarchistischer Bewegungen, Fragen politischer Ordnungssysteme, Störfälle im Metabolismus des Planeten, Datenproduktion und Kybernetik und nicht zuletzt Auffassungen von Geschichte und Zeit selbst. Wo wurden Potenziale nicht entwickelt, wo blieben Fragen unbeantwortet und wo bietet die Geschichte Alternativen? Wie kann Vergangenheit nicht als Relikt, sondern als gelebte Erfahrung in die Gegenwart eingebracht und für die Zukunft fruchtbar gemacht werden?

Die Bände der Bibliothek 100 Jahre Gegenwart, erschienen bei Matthes & Seitz in Berlin, verstehen sich als paradigmatische Tiefenbohrungen, die modellhaft neue Formen der Auseinandersetzung mit aktuellen Themen vorführen. Sie spiegeln damit die Veranstaltungsprogramme des Vierjahresprojekts 100 Jahre Gegenwart 2015 – 2019 und werden durch das abschließende Wörterbuch der Gegenwart komplettiert.

Die Zeit der Algorithmen

Die Zeit der Algorithmen

Die Zeit der Algorithmen

1. Band, 2016
Herausgegeben von Bernd Scherer

Unter dem Druck der Gegenwart fehlt zeitgenössischem Denken oftmals sowohl das Geschichtsbewusstsein als auch der Zukunftshorizont. Wie kam es zu einer Fixierung auf den einen Moment, den gegenwärtigen Augenblick? Im ersten Band Die Zeit der Algorithmen untersuchen die Wissenschaftsforscherin Helga Nowotny, Autorin des visionären Buches Eigenzeit (1989), und HKW-Intendant Bernd Scherer, wie sich die Vorstellungen von Zeit zwischen Kapitalismus, kriegerischen Konflikten und technologischem Fortschritt entwickelt haben, wie Zeit heute erlebt wird, welche Auswege es aus dem immer globaler werdenden Raster der Beschleunigung und der Taktung geben könnte und welche Rolle Peripherien und Ränder des Algorithmus dabei spielen.
Mehr zum Buch

Wohnungsfrage

Wohnungsfrage

Wohnungsfrage

2. Band, 2017
Herausgegeben von Jesko Fezer, Nikolaus Hirsch, Wilfried Kuehn und Hila Peleg

Wohnungsmangel, Verdrängung, Luxussanierungen, Geflüchtetenunterkünfte – nach Jahrzehnten, die durch einen angeblich selbstregulierenden Markt geprägt waren, ist die Wohnungsfrage als gesellschaftspolitisches Thema zurück: Wie wollen wir in Zukunft leben, wie sollen unsere Städte aussehen? Eine Analyse der historischen Topoi, die das Wohnen bis heute bestimmen: Ungleichheit, Nachbarschaft, Migration, Leben und Arbeiten. Und die Forderung nach einer neuen Wohnungspolitik.
Mehr zum Buch

Krieg singen

Krieg singen

Krieg singen

3. Band, 2017
Herausgegeben von Detlef Diederichsen und Holger Schulze

Wieso gehen Krieg und Musik so gut zusammen? Bei Kriegspropaganda, Kriegshetze und – ganz aktuell – als Soundtrack von bestialischen Mordvideos kommt Musik eine entscheidende Rolle zu. Dem gegenüber stehen eine Vielzahl von Musiken, die Frieden und Gewaltlosigkeit beschwören, und so etwas wie musikalische Trauerarbeit. Die Publikation versammelt theoretische Reflexionen, Textcollagen und Interviews zur Verbindung von Krieg, Technologie und Musik.
Mehr zum Buch

Nervöse Systeme

Nervöse Systeme

Nervöse Systeme

4. Band, 2017
Herausgegeben von Anselm Franke, Stephanie Hankey und Marek Tuszynski

Das Nervensystem ist heute zum Leitmotiv einer immer nervöseren, technologisch hochgerüsteten Zeit geworden. Unternehmen sprechen von »smart nerves« und »synaptischen Echtzeit-Verbindungen« als organisatorische Lösungen für nahezu jedes Problem, egal ob in Staatsapparaten, Wirtschaft oder Ökologie. Der Band untersucht, wie das neue Vertrauen in technologische Lösungen und datenbasierte Algorithmen, getragen von Datenanalysen, Reality Mining, Mustererkennung und Prognosen, unser Verständnis des »Selbst« und des »Sozialen« verändert hat. Dabei verortet er die Auseinandersetzung mit Daten in sozialen und politischen Strategien der letzten hundert Jahre.
Mehr zum Buch

Pop 16

Pop 16

Pop 16
100 Jahre produzierte Musik

5. Band, 2017
Herausgegeben von Detlef Diederichsen und Florian Sievers

Ähnlich wie die Fotografie das Licht, hielten Wachswalzen und Schellack-Schallplatten vor hundert Jahren erstmals die Klänge ihrer Zeit fest. Ein Schritt mit weitreichenden Folgen: Er veränderte nicht nur, wie Menschen fortan Musik hören sollten – sondern wirkte auch auf die Musik selbst zurück. Wie prägten die ersten produzierten, also bewusst klanglich gestalteten Aufnahmen unsere Hörgewohnheiten? Wie transformierten die Tonträger, die fortan ohne menschliche Begleitung um die Welt reisten, ganze Musikstile?
Mehr zum Buch

2 oder 3 Tiger

2 oder 3 Tiger

2 oder 3 Tiger
Koloniale Geschichten, Medien und Moderne

6. Band, 2017
Herausgegeben von Hyunjin Kim und Anselm Franke

Künstler*innen, Kurator*innen und Theoretiker*innen aus dem ostasiatischen Raum reflektieren im sechsten Band der Bibliothek 100 Jahre Gegenwart die Moderne als koloniales Schema, das sich in der Geschichte der Nationalstaaten, der Militarisierung und Finanzialisierung fortschreibt. Anknüpfend an die Ausstellung 2 oder 3 Tiger dient das Motiv des Tigers in dieser Essaysammlung als Ausgangspunkt für eine Reflexion über Modernisierungsideologien, Erzählungen über die Neuordnung der Welt und über die tiefen Bewusstseinskrisen, zu denen koloniale Weltbilder in vielen Gesellschaften in den vergangenen 200 Jahren geführt haben.
Mehr zum Buch

Kosmismus

Kosmismus

Kosmismus

7. Band, 2018
Herausgegeben von Boris Groys und Anton Vidokle

Im späten 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhundert verfolgten die russischen Denker*innen des Kosmismus das Ziel, die Menschen durch Technologie unsterblich zu machen. Auf diese Weise sollte das christliche Versprechen der Wiederauferstehung im Hier und Jetzt eingelöst werden. Eine zentrale Rolle spielten bei diesem Unterfangen die Künste, die aufgrund ihrer Fähigkeit, Dinge zu verewigen, als den Naturwissenschaften und der Medizin ebenbürtig angesehen wurden. Ausgehend vom historischen Kosmismus nimmt der Band angesichts neuer philosophischer Strömungen wie Spekulativer Realismus, Neuer Materialismus sowie Transhumanismus den Materialismus als zentralen Denkmodus des 20. Jahrhunderts in den Blick.
Mehr zum Buch

Utopie und Feminismus

Utopie und Feminismus

Utopie und Feminismus

8. Band, 2018
Herausgegeben von Annemie Vanackere und Sarah Reimann

Die Russische Revolution schuf das fortschrittlichste, gänzlich geschlechtsneutrale Ehe- und Familienrecht, das die moderne Welt je gesehen hatte. Homosexualität, deren Propagierung im heutigen Russland unter Strafe steht, wurde im Russland des Jahres 1918 legalisiert. Die Anfänge der Russischen Revolution waren nicht nur ihrer, sondern auch unserer Zeit voraus. Ihre Träume wie ihre Praxis sind nicht nur schon wieder gegenwärtig, sondern auch immer noch zukünftig. Der gemeinsam mit dem Theater HAU Hebbel am Ufer entwickelte Band beschäftigt sich, ausgehend von den Texten der feministischen Autorin Alexandra Kollontai und den Produktionen von Künstler*innen, die vom HAU Hebbel am Ufer eingeladen wurden, mit dem Wandel historischer Utopien der Gleichheit in den letzten hundert Jahren.
Mehr zum Buch

Schools of Tomorrow

Schools of Tomorrow

Schools of Tomorrow

9. Band, 2019
Herausgegeben von Silvia Fehrmann

Schulreform jagt Schulreform – zur Erschöpfung von Lehrer*innen wie Eltern. Das Bildungswesen soll fit gemacht werden für eine durchökonomisierte Zukunft, die aber die wenigsten herbeisehnen. Vor hundert Jahren hingegen versuchten Reformpädagog*innen weltweit, Möglichkeiten für ein neues Handeln und Denken zu schaffen. Der Band geht der Frage nach, wie sich die experimentellen Praktiken der Vergangenheit auf das heutige Lernen unter digitalen Bedingungen anwenden lassen. Wie können Schulen zu Orten werden, in denen alternative Zukunftsentwürfe entstehen?
Mehr zum Buch

Gezeitendenken

Gezeitendenken

Gezeitendenken
Recherchen abseits des Nationalstaatensystems

10. Band, erscheint im November 2019
Herausgegeben von Detlef Diederichsen und Lina Brion

Die Publikation hinterfragt den Nationalstaat als scheinbar einzig mögliche Form politischer Organisation heute. Ausgehend von der Frage, welche Optionen sich jenseits nationaler Strukturen bieten, analysiert das Buch die strukturellen Grundlagen des Nationalstaatensystems und sucht nach politischen und ästhetischen Strategien, um dessen Versagen in zentralen Belangen bloßzulegen. Zwei Metaphern gliedern den Band: Sand und Meer. Die Materialität des Sandes steht für den pathologischen Zustand von national definierten Territorien und globalem Kapitalismus. Demgegenüber verhilft das Meer fluiden Visionen zum Ausdruck und vermittelt Botschaften von politischen Alternativen. Das Aufeinandertreffen von Sand und Meer ermöglicht ein „Gezeitendenken“ – einen rhythmischen Austausch, der Konturen und Kategorien transformiert und damit neue Möglichkeiten für die Zukunft erschließt.
Mehr zum Buch

100 Jahre Copyright

100 Jahre Copyright

100 Jahre Copyright

11. Band, 2019
Herausgegeben von Detlef Diederichsen und Lina Brion

Um Copyright und Urheberrecht wird derzeit erbittert gekämpft: Auf der einen Seite stehen all diejenigen, die ihr Geschäftsmodell um die Rechteverwertung herum gebaut haben – Verlage, Labels und Produktionsfirmen; auf der anderen die Vertreter*innen der digitalen Ökonomie – Telekommunikationsunternehmen, Web-Dienstleister*innen, Soft- und Hardware-Produzent*innen. Leidtragende in diesem Streit sind einerseits die Kreativen, für die es immer schwerer wird, mit ihrer Arbeit den Lebensunterhalt zu bestreiten, weil die rechtliche Basis, auf der sie ihr Einkommen generieren, aus der prädigitalen Zeit stammt.
Mehr zum Buch

Technosphäre

Technosphäre

Technosphäre

12. Band, 2019
Herausgegeben von Katrin Klingan und Christoph Rosol

Was geschieht, wenn Technologien und Techniken zu planetarischen Akteuren werden? Im Laufe des 20. Jahrhunderts hat sich mit der Technosphäre eine neue Komponente des Erdsystems etabliert, vergleichbar in ihrer Wirkmacht und Funktion mit der Bio- oder Hydrosphäre. Das Zusammenfallen von natürlichen Umwelten mit technischen Infrastrukturen und die nahezu unkontrollierbare evolutionäre Dynamik einer wachsenden »technologischen Artenvielfalt« stellen neue Fragen nach den Ingangsetzungen und Operationsweisen einer All-Gegenwart des Technischen.
Mehr zum Buch

Wörterbuch der Gegenwart

Wörterbuch der Gegenwart

Wörterbuch der Gegenwart

13. Band, 2019
Herausgegeben von Bernd Scherer, Olga von Schubert und Stefan Aue

Was kommt nach dem Universalismus? Viele der Kategorien und Begriffe der Moderne schreiben historische Deutungsmuster fort, von denen sich kritische, postkoloniale und feministische Denker*innen weltweit distanzieren. Doch wie können wir uns über eine globalisierte Gegenwart verständigen, ohne uns auf bestimmte Grundbegriffe zu einigen? Das Wörterbuch der Gegenwart zeigt am Beispiel der zwölf Schlagworte Angst, Bild, Ding, Gewalt, Gerechtigkeit, Körper, Markt, Politik, Sprache, Tier, Wahrheit und Zeit, wie Festschreibungen durch situierte Stimmen neu perspektiviert werden können.
Mehr zum Buch