Wed, 24 May – Thu, May 25: Traffic obstructions around HKW More information...

2017, Thu, Mar 23

The Standard of Civilization - A History of Continuity

With Brigitta Kuster, David Scott, Christian Nyampeta and Antony T. Anghie

The evolution of international law and the international system is profoundly informed by the notion of civilization. In an attempt to trace this legacy that marked racial hierarchies in the colonial empires and its persistence until the present day, contributors will engage in a close reading of a set of documents that represent specific historical moments exemplary for thinking in terms of “civilization”.

Artist and cultural researcher Brigitta Kuster will address the word civilization itself and its opponents in relation to “culture,” considering aspects of what has been discarded in the colonial production of social difference.

David Scott will look at the UN resolution 1514 (XV) dating from December 14, 1960, on the granting of independence to colonial countries and peoples. In discussing its background and emergence as well as its constituent articles and their significance, he will reflect on the language used in the resolution and what it means today.
To recording

Translating this history of continuity into space by means of an indexical installation, artist Christian Nyampeta aims at introducing a moment of discontinuity, which – through its disruptive nature – becomes a connective moment, an invitation to a dialog.
To recording

International law scholar Antony T. Anghie will draw the broader picture of the elaborate distinctions between “civilized” European and “uncivilized” non-European states as formulated by the Western powers in the 19th century and how the basic structure of this analytic framework was replicated in the new vocabularies emerging during the process of decolonization.
To recording
To recording of the introduction

Do, 23. März 2017

Der Zivilisationsstandard - Eine Geschichte der Kontinuität

Mit Brigitta Kuster, David Scott, Christian Nyampeta und Antony T. Anghie

Die Entwicklung des internationalen Rechts und des internationalen Systems von Nationalstaaten baut auf der Idee der „Zivilisation“ auf. Die Teilnehmer*innen gehen diesem Erbe und den damit verknüpften rassistischen Hierarchien des Kolonialismus nach, die sich bis heute in das globale, nationalstaatliche Regelwerk eingeschrieben haben. Anhand einer Reihe von Dokumenten unterziehen sie gerade jene historischen Momente einer Re-Lektüre, an deren Beispiel das „zivilisatorische“ Denken deutlich wird.

Die Künstlerin und Kulturwissenschaftlerin Brigitta Kuster untersucht den Zivilisationsbegriff und dessen Gegenspieler im Verhältnis zur „Kultur“ und bringt Aspekte dessen zur Sprache, was in der kolonialen Produktion sozialer Differenz verworfen wurde.

David Scott untersucht die UN Resolution 1514 (XV) vom 14. Dezember 1960, die kolonialen Ländern und Bevölkerungen ihre Unabhängigkeit gewähren sollte. Er beleuchtet Hintergrund und Entstehung der Resolution sowie die einzelnen Artikel, konzentriert sich auf die in der Resolution verwendete Sprache und fragt, was sie für die Gegenwart bedeutet.
Zum Mitschnitt

Der Künstler Christian Nyampeta überträgt die Geschichte der Kontinuität in einen räumlichen Kontext, indem er eine begehbare, indexikalische Installation entwirft, in der ein Moment der Diskontinuität entsteht: Gegenläufige Lesarten historischer Verläufe knüpfen neue Verbindungen und laden zum Dialog ein.
Zum Mitschnitt

Der Experte für Internationales Recht Antony T. Anghie wirft einen Blick auf die größeren Zusammenhänge: Er macht deutlich, wie die im 19. Jahrhundert entstandenen imperialen Unterscheidungen zwischen „zivilisierten“ europäischen und „unzivilisierten“ nicht-europäischen Ländern in das neue Vokabular eingeschrieben wurden, das sich im Prozess der Entkolonialisierung entwickelte.
Zum Mitschnitt
Zum Mitschnitt der Einführung