2016, Sun, Jul 17

Mondmaschine play Occeppa Sun | We All Break

With Gebrüder Teichmann, Khan Oral, and others

Mondmaschine | © Goethe-Institut

Mondmaschine | © Goethe-Institut

A film performance with an experimental live soundtrack: for two weeks, the brothers Teichmann and Can “Khan” Oral hosted a sound camp in the Mexican town of Malinalco. Together with electro, noise, and rock musicians from Mexico, Panama, Costa Rica, and Guatemala, they formed the band Mondmaschine. In a synergetic work process with the video art duo +viral inc. they created Occeppa Sun: this surrealistic-poetic musical film was inspired by the oeuvre of Chilean cult director Alejandro Jodorowsky and by the atmosphere of Malinalco, a place of magic and mysticism steeped in legends of Christ manifestations, Aztec jaguar fighters, and the shape-shifting enchantress Malinalxóchil. At Wassermusik, Mondmaschine will perform the film and soundtrack live, supported by Gudrun Gut, icon of the Berlin underground and the Krautrock pioneer Hans-Joachim Irmler. The Teichmanns have been a fixture in the Berlin club scene since the 1990s and are, in recent years, increasingly touring the world with intercultural collaborations.

Mondmaschine are Julian Bonequi from Mexico City (percussion), Ronald Bustamente from San José, Costa Rica (guitar, electronics), Clau Fernández from Monterrey, Mexiko (guitar, bass), Mabe Frattifrom Guatemala City (cello, vocals), Ingmar Herrera from Panama City (saxophone, keyboards, electronics), Can „Khan“ Oral from Berlin (ukulele, vocoder), Santi Rodríguez from Mexico City (sound engineer & live dubbing), Gebrüder Teichmann from Berlin (live electronics), Ulrich Teichmann from Berlin (flute) and +viral inc. from Mexico City (live video).

www.gebruederteichmann.net
www.khanoffinland.com

We All Break | © Wes Orshoski

We All Break | © Wes Orshoski

We All Break

Avant jazz and Haitian rhythms: Ches Smith is a highly regarded New York jazz drummer, but also active in various avant-garde and noise rock formations. For years, he has been exploring Haiti’s musical traditions. For his current ensemble We All Break, he composed jazz pieces for drums and piano based on Haitian rhythmic structures. Together with Daniel Brevil and Markus Schwartz, masters of the rada and the petwo drums, and the jazz pianist Matt Mitchell, We All Break creates its very own complexly nuanced and playful musical language.

www.chessmith.com

So, 17. Juli 2016

Mondmaschine play Occeppa Sun | We All Break

Mit den Gebrüdern Teichmann, Khan Oral u. a.

Mondmaschine | © Goethe-Institut

Mondmaschine | © Goethe-Institut

Filmperformance mit experimentellem Live-Soundtrack: Für zwei Wochen initiierten die Gebrüder Teichmann und Can „Khan“ Oral ein Soundcamp im mexikanischen Malinalco. Zusammen mit Elektro-, Noise- und Rockmusiker*innen aus Mexiko, Panama, Costa Rica und Guatemala formten sie dort die Band Mondmaschine. In einem synergetischen Arbeitsprozess mit dem Videokunst-Duo +viral inc. entstand Occeppa Sun. Der surreal-poetische Musikfilm ist ebenso inspiriert vom Werk des chilenischen Kultregisseurs Alejandro Jodorowski wie von der Atmosphäre Malinalcos, einem Ort der Magie und Mystik, um den sich Legenden von Christuserscheinungen, aztekischen Jaguarkriegern und der formwandelnden Zauberin Malinalxóchil ranken. Bei der Wassermusik performen Mondmaschine Film und Soundtrack live, unterstützt von der Berliner Underground-Ikone Gudrun Gut und dem Krautrock-Pionier Hans-Joachim Irmler. Die Teichmanns sind seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre fester Bestandteil der Berliner Club-Szene und in den letzten Jahren zunehmend mit interkulturellen Kollaborationen in der ganzen Welt unterwegs.

Mondmaschine sind Julian Bonequiaus Mexiko-Stadt (Perkussion, Schlagwerk), Ronald Bustamente aus San José, Costa Rica (Gitarre, Elektronik), Clau Fernández aus Monterrey, Mexiko (Gitarre, Bass), Mabe Fratti aus Guatemala-Stadt (Cello, Gesang), Ingmar Herrera aus Panama-Stadt (Saxophon, Keyboard, Elektronik), Can „Khan“ Oral aus Berlin (Ukulele, Vocoder), Santi Rodríguez aus Mexiko-Stadt (Sound Engineer & Live Dubbing), Gebrüder Teichmann aus Berlin (Live Elektronik), Ulrich Teichmann aus Berlin (Flöte) und +viral inc. aus Mexiko-Stadt (Live Video).

www.gebruederteichmann.net
www.khanoffinland.com

We All Break | © Wes Orshoski

We All Break | © Wes Orshoski

We All Break

Avant Jazz und haitianische Rhythmen: Ches Smith ist ein vielbeachteter Schlagzeuger der New Yorker New-Jazz-Szene, aber auch in diversen Avantgarde- und Noiserock-Formationen aktiv. Seit Jahren setzt er sich außerdem mit der musikalischen Tradition Haitis auseinander. Für sein aktuelles Ensemble We All Break schrieb er Jazz-Kompositionen für Schlagzeug und Klavier auf der Grundlage haitischer Rhythmusstrukturen. Zusammen mit Daniel Brevil und Markus Schwartz, Meistern an der Rada- und der Petwo-Trommel, sowie dem Jazz-Pianisten Matt Mitchell kreiren We all Break eine ganz eigene vielschichtig nuancierte und verspielte musikalische Sprache.

www.chessmith.com