Sat, Oct 20: Traffic obstructions around HKW. More…

transmediale 2018 face value


2018, Jan 31, Wed — 2018, Feb 04, Sun

transmediale 2018 face value - promotional image | © The Laboratory of Manuel Bürger

transmediale 2018 face value - promotional image | © The Laboratory of Manuel Bürger

Courtesy of Heather Dewey-Hagborg, Chelsea E. Manning, and Fridman Gallery, New York. Photo © Paula Abreu Pia

Courtesy of Heather Dewey-Hagborg, Chelsea E. Manning, and Fridman Gallery, New York. Photo © Paula Abreu Pia

Things are what they are – but could they be different? Under the title of face value, in its thirty-first year the festival is probing the values and the processes of value creation that have contributed to our present moment of extreme political, economic and cultural divides.

The 2018 transmediale is a stocktaking of current events: How does a profound understanding of the alarming political tendencies of the present arise? And what is needed to change direction? Artists, theorists and cultural professionals seek possible new ways of resisting the development of digital populism, the reactionary turnaround of Internet culture and the rekindled culture wars.

Literally, “face value” means the nominal value of a currency or document – the amount indicated on the front of a coin or stamp. “Taking things at face value” has become just the norm of public discourse as has the reduction of life to economic motives which is widespread in neo-liberalism. But what happens when we focus on deeper, less obvious problems? Doesn’t the (post) digital culture offer racist and neo-colonial powers a fertile breeding ground rather than producing emancipatory alternatives?

In panels, performances, workshops, film screenings and an exhibition program, the participants will delve into crucial topics of the times such as inequities of race, class and gender. They will thus reflect on value systems that run counter to the tendency to largely judge things by their outer appearance – their face value.

With Rosa Barba, Jonathan Beller, Zach Blas, CAMP, Heather Dewey-Hagborg, James Ferraro, Zachary Formwalt, Lisa Nakamura, Roee Rosen, Nick Thurston and Françoise Vergès. Curated by Kristoffer Gansing, Daphne Dragona, Inga Seidler and Florian Wüst

The transmediale is a project by Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH at Haus der Kulturen der Welt. It is funded as a cultural institution of excellence by Kulturstiftung des Bundes.

Dates

Feb 1-4
10am-11pm

Exhibition program
Feb 1-4
11am-10pm

The complete program:
2018.transmediale.de

Transmediale.18

face value
Mi, 31. Januar 2018 — So, 04. Februar 2018

Courtesy of Heather Dewey-Hagborg, Chelsea E. Manning, and Fridman Gallery, New York. Foto © Paula Abreu Pia

Courtesy of Heather Dewey-Hagborg, Chelsea E. Manning, and Fridman Gallery, New York. Foto © Paula Abreu Pia

Die Dinge sind, wie sie sind – aber könnten sie auch anders sein? Unter dem Titel face value untersucht die 31. Ausgabe des Festivals, welche Werte und Wertschöpfungsprozesse zu den extremen politischen, ökonomischen und kulturellen Gräben der Gegenwart geführt haben.

Die transmediale 2018 als Bestandsaufnahme aktueller Ereignisse: Wie entsteht ein tief greifendes Verständnis der alarmierenden politischen Tendenzen der Gegenwart? Und was ist nötig, um ihre Richtung zu ändern? Künstler*innen, Theoretiker*innen und Kulturschaffende erforschen neue Möglichkeiten, sich der Entwicklung des digitalen Populismus, der reaktionären Wende der Netzkultur und neu aufflammender Kulturkämpfe zu widersetzen.

Wörtlich übersetzt bezeichnet „face value“ den Nominalwert eines Zahlungsmittels oder Dokuments – den auf der Vorderseite einer Münze oder Briefmarke angegebenen Betrag. Dinge für „bare Münze“ zu nehmen, ist im heutigen öffentlichen Diskurs ebenso sehr zur Gewohnheit geworden wie die im Neoliberalismus verbreitete Reduktion des Lebens auf ökonomische Motive. Doch was passiert, wenn der Blick auf tiefer liegende, weniger offensichtliche Probleme gerichtet wird? Bietet nicht die (post)digitale Kultur eher rassistischen und neokolonialen Mächten einen fruchtbaren Nährboden als emanzipatorische Alternativen hervorzubringen?

In Gesprächsrunden, Performances, Workshops, Filmscreenings und einem Ausstellungsprogramm gehen die Teilnehmenden zentralen Themen der Zeit nach – etwa Ungleichverhältnissen von Race, Class und Gender. So reflektieren sie Wertesysteme entgegen der Tendenz, Dinge in erster Linie nach dem äußeren Anschein – ihrem „face value“ – zu beurteilen.

Mit Rosa Barba, Jonathan Beller, Zach Blas, CAMP, Heather Dewey-Hagborg, James Ferraro, Zachary Formwalt, Lisa Nakamura, Roee Rosen, Nick Thurston und Françoise Vergès Kuratiert von Kristoffer Gansing, Daphne Dragona, Inga Seidler und Florian Wüst

Die transmediale ist ein Projekt der Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt. Die Kulturstiftung des Bundes fördert die transmediale als kulturelle Spitzeneinrichtung.

Das vollständige Programm:
2018.transmediale.de