30 Years of “Race, Nation, Class”: Ambiguous Power Relations (working title)

Étienne Balibar and Immanuel Wallerstein – Rereading a Dialog for Our Times
2018, Mar 15, Thu — 2018, Mar 17, Sat

cover of the first French edition of Race, Nation, Class (detail) | © Henri Cattolica and Éditions La Découverte

cover of the first French edition of Race, Nation, Class (detail) | © Henri Cattolica and Éditions La Découverte

Racism articulates itself through class relations and intensifies in nationalist currents. A new understanding of this dynamic is needed in order to create emancipatory and solidary social models. That is the diagnosis of the seminal volume Race, Nation, Class: Ambiguous Identities by Étienne Balibar and Immanuel Wallerstein. Thirty years after it was first published - at a time when this sinister triad rises again - it is urgent to redefine the ambiguous effects of their relations.

Both state and society are undergoing widespread change, whether through the effects of global financialization on local markets, the logistical interpenetration of production and everyday life, or digitization, which presents entirely new challenges, for example to the concept of citizenship. Through the course of global capitalism, racist structures are realigning and previously established class structures are being transformed. In contrast, new transnational social movements are forming—such as feminist initiatives, the #Black Lives Matter movement, and immigrants’ struggles for rights and self-determination. This conflicting situation makes necessary an examination of the conjuncture of racism with regard to class relations and nationalisms.

The three-day symposium 30 Years of “Race, Nation, Class:” Ambiguous Balance of Power (working title) will pursue this redefinition with theorists and activists from a variety of professional, linguistic and local perspectives. In discussions, lectures and presentations, they will examine new forms of racism, question conventional notions of class and the radical transformations that the concept of nation is exposed to today. In their day, Balibar and Wallerstein understood the “practice of theory” as a perpetual dialog between different positions and as a space for new perspectives. By pursuing the question of how the historic constructs of race, nation and class correlate, they ventured to define the conjunctures of a new racism, which need to be updated today. The symposium will take up this exploration in a dialogic form for the common process of communication and ask about the globalized context of these ambiguous constructs. How can their ongoing effectiveness be socio-politically negotiated today and how can a theoretical practice be instrumental in this?

Since its first publication in French in 1988, Race, Nation, Class has been translated into nine languages. Important questions from global debates on the book will form the basis of the symposium. Research on its reception in countries such as Greece, Palestine, South Korea, and the USA will be presented as well as the results of workshops on its relevance and perspectivation in Ankara, Belgrade, Berlin, Buenos Aires, Kolkata and Cape Town. A volume will be published for the event compiling the research on the book’s reception and the workshop results. A film by the researchers and filmmakers Charles Heller and Lorenzo Pezzani with Étienne Balibar and Immanuel Wallerstein in conversation with cultural scientist Manuela Bojadžijev outlines the context of the book’s genesis, discusses its approach, and, in a dialog between the two authors, updates central theories from today’s perspective.

With Étienne Balibar und Immanuel Wallerstein, Brenna Bhandar, Petar Bojanić, Maria Chehonadskih, Verónica Gago, Kelly Gillespie, Ruth Wilson Gilmore, David Theo Goldberg, Raquel Gutiérrez Aguilar, Charles Heller und Lorenzo Pezzani, Geraldine Heng, Sandro Mezzadra, Antonio Negri, Ranabir Samaddar, Nishant Shah, Kaushik Sunder Rajan, Françoise Vergès, Zimitri Erasmus, and many more.

Curated by Manuela Bojadžijev and Katrin Klingan

Part of 100 Years of Now

Symposium

Mar 15–17, 2018

30 Jahre „Rasse, Klasse, Nation“: Ambivalente Machtverhältnisse (Arbeitstitel)

Zur Aktualität eines Dialogs von Étienne Balibar und Immanuel Wallerstein
Do, 15. März 2018 — Sa, 17. März 2018

Cover der französischen Erstausgabe von Rasse, Klasse Nation (Detail) | © Henri Cattolica und Éditions La Découverte

Cover der französischen Erstausgabe von Rasse, Klasse Nation (Detail) | © Henri Cattolica und Éditions La Découverte

Rassismus artikuliert sich in Klassenverhältnissen und verstärkt sich mit nationalistischen Strömungen. Für emanzipatorische und solidarische Gesellschaftsentwürfe braucht es ein neues Verständnis dieser Dynamik. So lautet die bis heute zutreffende Diagnose des bahnbrechenden Bandes Rasse, Klasse, Nation. Ambivalente Identitäten von Étienne Balibar und Immanuel Wallerstein. 30 Jahre nach seiner Ersterscheinung, in Zeiten der Hochkonjunktur dieser unheilvollen Trias, ist es dringend geboten, die mehrdeutigen Wirkweisen ihrer Verbindungen neu zu bestimmen.

Staat und Gesellschaft sind einem umfassenden Wandel unterworfen – sei es durch die globale Finanzialisierung der Märkte, die sich lokal auswirkt, die logistische Durchdringung von Produktion und Alltag oder die Digitalisierung, die etwa auch das Konzept von (Staats-) Bürgerschaft vor ganz neue Herausforderungen stellt. Im Zuge des globalen Kapitalismus richten sich rassistische Strukturen neu aus, etablierte Klassenstrukturen transformieren sich. Dagegen formieren sich neue transnationale soziale Bewegungen – etwa feministische Initiativen, die #Black Lives Matter-Bewegung und die Kämpfe von Migrant*innen um Rechte und Selbstbestimmung. Diese Gemengelage macht eine Untersuchung der Konjunktur von Rassismus in Bezug auf Klassenverhältnisse und Nationalismen erforderlich.

Das dreitägige Symposium 30 Jahre „Rasse, Klasse, Nation“: Ambivalente Machtverhältnisse (AT) geht dieser Neubestimmung mit Theoretiker*innen und Aktivist*innen aus unterschiedlichen fachlichen, sprachlichen und lokalen Perspektiven nach. In Diskussionen, Vorträgen und Präsentationen untersuchen sie neue Formen des Rassismus, befragen überkommene Vorstellungen von Klasse und die radikalen Transformationen, denen der Begriff der Nation heute ausgesetzt ist. Schon Balibar und Wallerstein verstanden die „Praxis der Theorie“ als fortwährenden Dialog zwischen unterschiedlichen Positionen und als Raum für neue Untersuchungsperspektiven. Indem sie der Frage nachgingen, wie die geschichtlichen Konstruktionen von Rasse, Klasse und Nation zusammenhängen, wagten sie eine Bestimmung der Konjunkturen des Rassismus der Gegenwart, die heute aktualisiert werden muss. Diese Suchbewegung in dialogischer Form greift das Symposium für den gemeinsamen Verständigungsprozess auf und fragt nach dem globalisierten Kontext dieser ambivalenten Konstruktionen. Wie lässt sich ihre andauernde Wirksamkeit heute gesellschaftspolitisch verhandeln und wie kann dabei eine theoretische Praxis dienlich sein?

Rasse, Klasse, Nation wurde seit der französischen Erstveröffentlichung von 1988 in neun Sprachen übersetzt. Wichtige Fragestellungen aus weltweiten Debatten zum Buch bilden die Grundlage des Symposiums – Recherchen zu seiner Rezeption in Ländern wie Griechenland, Palästina, Südkorea und den USA werden ebenso präsentiert wie Ergebnisse aus Workshops in Ankara, Belgrad, Berlin, Buenos Aires, Kolkata und Kapstadt zu seiner Aktualität und Perspektivierung. Zur Veranstaltung erscheint ein Band, der die Recherchen zur Rezeption und die Workshop-Ergebnisse versammelt. Ein Film der Wissenschaftler und Filmemacher Charles Heller und Lorenzo Pezzani mit Étienne Balibar und Immanuel Wallerstein im Gespräch mit der Kulturwissenschaftlerin Manuela Bojadžijev erläutert den Kontext der Entstehung des Buches, diskutiert dessen Ansatz und aktualisiert im Dialog der beiden Autoren zentrale Thesen aus heutiger Perspektive.

Mit Étienne Balibar und Immanuel Wallerstein, Brenna Bhandar, Petar Bojanić, Maria Chehonadskih, Zimitri Erasmus, Verónica Gago, Kelly Gillespie, Ruth Wilson Gilmore, David Theo Goldberg, Raquel Gutiérrez Aguilar, Charles Heller und Lorenzo Pezzani, Geraldine Heng, Sandro Mezzadra, Antonio Negri, Ranabir Samaddar, Nishant Shah, Kaushik Sunder Rajan, Françoise Vergès u. v. m.

Kuratiert von Manuela Bojadžijev und Katrin Klingan

Im Rahmen von 100 Jahre Gegenwart

Symposium

15.–17.03.2018