100 Jahre Copyright


2018, Oct 18, Thu — 2018, Oct 21, Sun

A titanic struggle is currently raging over copyright. Publishers, labels and production companies battle the representatives of the digital economy over exploitation and remuneration. In this conflict, where are the interests of the artists? What about those of consumers with their desire to use high quality cultural goods? 100 Years of Copyright investigates the evolution of copyright since the birth of the cultural industry, concepts of intellectual property and artistic freedom. Initially intended as a research project, it will culminate in the fall of 2018 with concerts, talks, films, installations and performances.

What is an original? Who owns the rights and who earns money with them? 100 Years of Copyright critically illuminates various legal concepts, their strengths and weaknesses and, not least, the role of collecting societies. How are they legitimized, how do they work? What reform proposals exist and what are the interests behind them? The victims of the current conflict dispute are, on the one hand, the creative people, for whom it is increasingly difficult to make a living from their work because the legal basis on which they generate their income originated in the pre-digital age. But users are also impaired when copyright and artistic freedom are played against one another. Can music, literature and films still be produced independently at all?

The festival explores concepts of intellectual property and reproduction not only in Europe and the US, but also in Asia and Africa with the aim of taking global stock of the situation. What alternative ideas exist globally for the protection and promotion of artistic creativity?

While the project is under development, a publication is being realized. In the follow-up project Right the Right (starting in 2019), attempts will be made to formulate proposals for copyright reform or a new copyright law.

HKW curator Detlef Diederichsen investigates the music of the past 100 years and traces leitmotifs of pop history from unexpected perspectives.

Part of 100 Years of Now

Concerts, talks, films, installations, performances, publication

100 Jahre Copyright


Do, 18. Oktober 2018 — So, 21. Oktober 2018

Um Copyright und Urheberrecht tobt ein erbitterter Kampf der Titanen: Verlage, Labels und Produktionsfirmen streiten mit den Vertreter*innen der digitalen Ökonomie um Verwertung und Vergütung. Wo bleiben in dieser Gemengelage die Interessen der Künstler*innen? Und die der Konsument*innen mit ihrem Anspruch, hochwertige Kulturgüter zu nutzen? 100 Jahre Copyright untersucht die Entwicklung des Copyrights seit Entstehung der Kulturindustrie, Konzepte von geistigem Eigentum und künstlerischer Freiheit. Zunächst als Forschungsprojekt konzipiert, findet es seinen Höhepunkt im Herbst 2018 mit Konzerten, Gesprächen, Filmen, Installationen, Performances.

Was ist ein Original? Wer besitzt daran die Rechte und wer verdient damit Geld? 100 Jahre Copyright beleuchtet kritisch verschiedene rechtliche Konzepte, ihre Stärken und Schwächen und nicht zuletzt die Rolle der Verwertungsgesellschaften. Wie sind sie legitimiert, wie arbeiten sie? Welche Reformvorschläge gibt es, welche Interessen stecken dahinter? Leidtragende im aktuellen Konflikt sind einerseits die Kreativen, für die es immer schwerer wird, ihren Lebensunterhalt auf Basis von Gesetzen aus prä-digitaler Zeit zu bestreiten. Andererseits beeinträchtigt es auch die Nutzer*innen, wenn Copyright und Kunstfreiheit gegeneinander ausgespielt werden. Können Musik, Literatur, Filme überhaupt noch unabhängig produziert werden?

Das Festival erkundet Konzepte von geistigem Eigentum und Kopie nicht nur in Europa und den USA, sondern auch in Asien und Afrika mit dem Ziel einer globalen Bestandsaufnahme: Welche alternativen Ideen existieren weltweit zum Schutz und zur Förderung von künstlerischer Kreativität?

Parallel zur Projektentwicklung entsteht eine Publikation. Im Folgeprojekt Right the Right (ab 2019) soll dann versucht werden, Vorschläge für eine Copyright-Reform bzw. ein neues Copyright/ Urheberrecht zu formulieren.

HKW-Kurator Detlef Diederichsen untersucht die Musik der vergangenen 100 Jahre und folgt Leitmotiven der Popgeschichte aus unerwarteten Perspektiven.

Im Rahmen von 100 Jahre Gegenwart

Konzerte, Gespräche, Filme, Installationen, Performances, Publikation