Wed, 24 May – Thu, May 25: Traffic obstructions around HKW More information...

No! Music


2017, Nov 09, Thu — 2017, Nov 12, Sun

When there are no more gaps in the system, negation is the last resort. The structures of capitalism are everywhere; alternative ideas or an exit seem no longer possible. Even critical minds have long accepted this despite a certain degree of uneasiness. The market decides the rules in music, too. Bands and artists use brand-name gadgets, Amazon sales, Facebook, streaming services, the cloud or similar services. Some cover the logo of their laptops during stage performances – a last reminder of resistance in music? Is it all just meaningless posing?

The No! Music theme days are looking for the holdouts and possibilities for dissent in music: artists who work counter to the music industry and the expectations of the music market, against confining listening and performing practices. The event features musicians whose works negotiate discomfort in the face of marketing mechanisms, who do not want to play along or, in the face of constant auditory overstimulation, are experimenting with the most radical break, the negation of sound itself. They take as their theme the sounds that are not permitted to be heard: censored and forbidden music.

HKW curator Detlef Diederichsen examines the operating systems of music and the music industry over the past 100 years and pursues leitmotifs of pop history from unexpected perspectives. For No! Music, he is collaborating with Martin Hossbach, who is an author, label operator and music curator, among others at the Berlin Pop-Kultur Festival.

Part of 100 Years of Now

Theme Days
Concerts, performances, films, talks

November 9-12, 2017

No! Music


Do, 09. November 2017 — So, 12. November 2017

Wenn es keine Lücken mehr im System gibt, ist der letzte Ausweg die Negation. Die Strukturen des Kapitalismus greifen überall; alternative Entwürfe, ein Aussteigen scheinen nicht mehr möglich. Selbst kritische Geister haben das längst trotz eines gewissen Unwohlseins akzeptiert. Auch in der Musik bestimmt der Markt die Regeln: Bands und Künstler*innen nutzen Marken-Gadgets, Amazon-Vertrieb, Facebook, Streaming-Dienste, die Cloud oder ähnliche Services. Manche überkleben bei Bühnenauftritten das Logo ihres Laptops – eine letzte Reminiszenz an die widerständige Haltung in der Musik? Alles nur noch hohle Pose?

Die Thementage No! Music machen sich auf die Suche nach den Verweigerer*innen und den Möglichkeiten des Widerspruchs in der Musik: Künstler*innen, die quer zur Musikindustrie, zu den Erwartungen des Musikmarkts arbeiten, gegen einengende Hör- und Auftrittsgewohnheiten. Musiker*innen, deren Arbeiten das Unwohlsein angesichts von Vermarktungsmechanismen verhandeln, die nicht mitspielen wollen oder die angesichts allgegenwärtiger auditiver Reizüberflutung gar mit dem radikalsten Bruch, der Negation des Klangs selbst experimentieren. Und sie thematisieren die Klänge, die nicht gehört werden dürfen – zensierte und verbotene Musik.

HKW-Kurator Detlef Diederichsen untersucht die Betriebssysteme der Musik und der Musikwirtschaft der vergangenen 100 Jahre und folgt Leitmotiven der Popgeschichte aus unerwarteten Perspektiven. Für No! Music arbeitet er mit Martin Hossbach zusammen, Autor, Labelbetreiber und Musikkurator, u. a. des Berliner Festivals Pop-Kultur.

Im Rahmen von 100 Jahre Gegenwart

Thementage
Konzerte, Performances, Filme, Talks

9.-12. November 2017