Bagyi Aung Soe

Bagyi Aung Soe | Untitled, 1980s. Felt-tip pen on paper | Courtesy of Gajah Gallery

Bagyi Aung Soe | Untitled, 1980s. Felt-tip pen on paper | Courtesy of Gajah Gallery

In the emerging history of art in twentieth-century Myanmar, Bagyi Aung Soe (1923–90) is regarded as the trailblazer of modern Burmese art. He began as a dilettante in the 1940s, aspiring to be a politically and socially conscious cartoonist. His inventiveness and flair as a draftsman caught the attention of Myanmar’s literary giants – Dagon Taya (1919–2013), Min Thu Wun (1909–2007), and Zawgyi (1907–90) – who commissioned him to make illustrations for the literary magazine Taya and recommended him for an Indian Government Scholarship to study at the Visva-Bharati University founded by Rabindranath Tagore (1861–1941). Their patronage catapulted the twenty-seven-year-old into the ranks of Yangon’s most promising artists.

On his return in 1952, inspired by his Indian gurus, Aung Soe strove to create a contextually specific pictorial idiom. Without acceding to the hegemony of Western modernism, he experimented with Western avant-garde styles alongside other approaches, old and new, from various parts of the world. As he eschewed the commodification of art as an elitist luxury – and as there was no art market in Myanmar anyway – illustration became the principal site of his practice and his platform for bringing art to the masses. Throughout his four-decade career, he sought to boost his countrymen’s appreciation of art by writing in widely read periodicals. To the same end, he published in 1978 an anthology of illustrations entitled Poetry without Words, and a compilation of articles, From Tradition to Modernity.

Aung Soe’s nationwide fame was amplified by his success on the silver screen in the 1970s. Between 1962 and 1978, he also taught graphic art and art history at the Yangon Institute of Technology and Yangon University. Although ill health forced an early retirement from education and film, he continued to write and paint throughout the 1980s. In this last decade of his life, intensified meditation practice and research into Buddhist philosophy gave rise to his signature pictorial idiom, which he termed manaw maheikdi dat pangyi: the painting of the fundamental components of the phenomenal world through the powers of mental concentration.

Aung Soe’s legacy in Burmese art lies not in style or technique, but in the awakening of a novel artistic consciousness. His incarnation of the archetype of the impoverished and tortured genius, and his pursuit of an art allied with spiritual transformation removed from market concerns, earned him both the derision of Myanmar’s authorities and the respect of the country’s foremost intellectuals. In the writing of modern art’s histories beyond Euramerica, his singular conjugation of methods from different historical periods and traditions (including the natural sciences, popular culture, and ancient beliefs) compels us to rethink art history’s prevailing narratives and frameworks.

Yin Ker

Bagyi Aung Soe

Bagyi Aung Soe | Untitled, 1980er Jahre. Filzstift auf Papier | Courtesy of Gajah Gallery

Bagyi Aung Soe | Untitled, 1980er Jahre. Filzstift auf Papier | Courtesy of Gajah Gallery

Die Geschichte der Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts in Myanmar wird gerade erst geschrieben. Doch Bagyi Aung Soe (1923–1990) gilt schon jetzt als Wegbereiter der dortigen Moderne. In den 1940er Jahren versuchte er, sich autodidaktisch als politischer Karikaturist zu etablieren. Sein Erfindungsreichtum und sein Talent erregten die Aufmerksamkeit von Birmas Großliteraten Dagon Taya (1919–2013), Min Thu Wun (1909–2007) und Zawgyi (1907–1990), die bei ihm Illustrationen für die Literaturzeitschrift Taya bestellten und ihn für ein Stipendium der indischen Regierung empfahlen. Das ermöglichte ihm, an der von Rabindranath Tagore (1861–1941) gegründeten Visva-Barati-Universität in Santiniketan in der Nähe von Kalkutta zu studieren. Dank dieser Förderung gehörte der 27-Jährige bald zu Ranguns vielversprechendsten Nachwuchskünstlern.

Nach seiner Rückkehr aus Indien 1952 arbeitete Aung Soe, angeregt von den philosophischen und ästhetischen Lehren seiner indischen Gurus, an der Entwicklung seiner spezifischen Bildsprache. Die Hegemonie der westlichen Moderne zu akzeptieren, war er nicht gewillt, experimentierte aber mit westlichen Avantgardestilen – wie auch mit anderen internationalen etablierten und aktuellen Kunstformen. Da er die Kommodifizierung der Kunst zum Luxusartikel ablehnte (und es in Birma ohnehin keinen Kunstmarkt gab), war er hauptsächlich auf dem Gebiet der Illustration tätig. Er nutzte sie auch als Medium, um der breiten Bevölkerung Kunst näherzubringen. Während seiner gesamten, vier Jahrzehnte dauernden Laufbahn versuchte Aung Soe außerdem, seinen Mitmenschen mit Artikeln in auflagestarken Zeitungen und Zeitschriften eine Wertschätzung für Kunst zu vermitteln. Zu diesem Zweck brachte er 1978 auch eine Auswahl seiner Illustrationen unter dem Titel Poesie ohne Worte und die Artikelsammlung Von der Tradition zur Moderne heraus.

In den 1970er Jahren verbuchte er auch Erfolge im Film. Von 1962 bis 1978 lehrte er bildende Kunst und Kunstgeschichte am Yangon Institute of Technology und an der Yangon University. Obwohl er danach aus gesundheitlichen Gründen seine Lehrtätigkeit und Filmarbeit aufgeben musste, schrieb und malte er während der 1980er Jahre unablässig weiter. In den letzten zehn Jahren seines Lebens entwickelte er aus intensiver Meditationspraxis und Erforschung der buddhistischen Philosophie eine eigentümliche Bildsprache, die er selbst manaw mahekidi dat spangy nannte: das Malen wesentlicher Elemente der materiellen Welt durch die Kraft mentaler Konzentration.

Aung Soes bedeutendstes Vermächtnis für die Kunst Myanmars sind weniger sein Stil oder seine Technik, sondern die Tatsache, dass er in Myanmar ein neues künstlerisches Bewusstsein erweckt hat. Seinen Erfolgen zum Trotz verkörperte er den Archetypus des verarmten und verkannten Genies. Dass er seine Kunst in den Dienst des spirituellen Wandels statt des Marktes stellte, machte ihn bei den Machthabern nicht beliebt, brachte ihm aber die Hochachtung der Intellektuellen ein. Im Sinne einer Geschichte der modernen Kunst, die über den Horizont Europas und Amerikas hinaus blickt, zwingt uns Aung Soes einzigartige Verbindung von Methoden verschiedener Zeitalter und Traditionen (auch aus Naturwissenschaft, Populärkultur und alten Glaubensvorstellungen) dazu, die gängigen kunsthistorischen Erzählungen und Periodisierungen zu überdenken.

Yin Ker