Forecast: Forum and Festival


2017

 

Forecast is an international platform for knowledge transfer. It offers pioneers from various disciplines the chance to work with accomplished mentors toward bringing their projects to fruition and presenting them to the public at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin. Forecast transcends the boundaries between disciplines and genres to provide insight into creative production processes and encourage public discussion on pioneering ideas.

Forecast has invited six mentors to share their expertise with the participants:

Hou Hanru (CHN) curates interdisciplinary exhibitions dealing with complex twenty-first century themes as Artistic Director of MAXXI and in other cultural venues.

Bjørn Melhus (DE/NOR) focuses on reenacting stereotypical characters and themes, taken primarily from American films. His work has been shown at the Museum of Modern Art, the Tate Modern, the Centre Pompidou, and the Pinakothek der Moderne.

Philippe Rahm (CH) is an international pioneer in the field of sustainable building. He explores the physiological aspects of architecture, in particular their interdependencies with climatological conditions.

Richard Siegal (USA) sets significant standards in contemporary dance in his work as founder of the interdisciplinary platform The Bakery. His pieces have been performed at venues and events including the Ruhrtriennale, the Centre Pompidou, and Ballett Frankfurt.

Jennifer Walshe (IRL) has received international recognition for her experimental work as composer and performer. Her work ranges from electronic sound pieces to theater productions and operas.

Max Wolf (DE) specializes in creating innovative solutions for virtual and analog spaces. The designer works with MESO Digital Interiors, the company he cofounded, at the intersection of technology and design.

As of November 2016, more than 450 applicants from 224 cities have responded to the Open Call and submitted their project ideas to Forecast. From the pool of applicants, Forecast will invite 30 participants to discuss and present their ideas to the public at the HKW during the Forecast Forum from March 31 to April 1, 2017. At the end of the Forecast Forum, the six mentors will each select one concept, which they will accompany to fruition over the following six months. The outcome of these collaborations will be presented at the Forecast Festival at the HKW from October 20–21, 2017.

Forecast is a project by Skills e.V. in cooperation with Haus der Kulturen der Welt, and supported by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media. Under the auspices of Dr. Frank-Walter Steinmeier, Federal Minister for Foreign Affairs.

Dates

Forecast Forum: March 31–April 1, 2017
Forecast Festival: October 20–21, 2017

Forecast: Forum und Festival


2017

 

Als internationale Plattform für Wissenstransfer eröffnet Forecast Vordenkern unterschiedlichster Disziplinen die Möglichkeit, an der Seite namhafter Mentoren eigene Projekte zu verwirklichen und sie im Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin der Öffentlichkeit zu präsentieren. Forecast gewährt über Disziplinen und Genres hinweg Einblicke in kreative Produktionsprozesse und fördert die öffentliche Diskussion über zukunftsweisende Konzepte.

Forecast hat für die aktuelle Edition sechs Mentoren eingeladen, die den Teilnehmern ihre Expertise zur Verfügung stellen:

Hou Hanru (CHN), kuratiert u. a. als künstlerischer Leiter des MAXXI interdisziplinäre Ausstellungen zu komplexen Themen des 21. Jahrhunderts.

Bjørn Melhus (DE/NOR), beschäftigt sich mit dem Reenactment von stereotypen Figuren und Motiven, vornehmlich aus amerikanischen Filmen. Seine Arbeiten wurden im Museum of Modern Art, der Tate Modern, dem Centre Pompidou und der Pinakothek der Moderne gezeigt.

Philippe Rahm (CH), nimmt international eine herausragende Position im Bereich des nachhaltigen Bauens ein. Er erforscht die physiologischen Aspekte von Architektur, insbesondere ihre Wechselwirkungen mit klimatischen Bedingungen.

Richard Siegal (USA), setzt als Gründer der interdisziplinären Plattform The Bakery bedeutsame Impulse im zeitgenössischen Tanz. Seine Stücke wurden u. a. auf der Ruhrtriennale, im Centre Pompidou und im Ballett Frankfurt vorgestellt.

Jennifer Walshe (IRL), erfährt mit ihrem experimentellen Werk internationale Anerkennung als Komponistin und Performerin. Ihre Arbeiten reichen von elektronischen Klangstücken bis Theaterinszenierungen und Opern.

Max Wolf (DE) hat sich auf innovative Lösungen für virtuelle wie analoge Räume spezialisiert. Mit der von ihm mitgegründeten Firma MESO Digital Interiors arbeitet er an der Schnittstelle von Technologie und Design.

Bis November 2016 sind mehr als 450 Bewerber aus 224 Städten der internationalen Ausschreibung gefolgt und haben ihre Projektideen bei Forecast eingereicht. Aus den Bewerbungen lädt Forecast insgesamt 30 Teilnehmer ein, ihr Vorhaben im Rahmen des Forecast Forums vom 31. März bis 1. April 2017 im HKW zu diskutieren und der Öffentlichkeit vorzustellen. Zum Abschluss dieser Woche wählen die sechs Mentoren jeweils ein Konzept aus, das sie über den Zeitraum eines halben Jahres bei der Realisierung begleiten werden. Die Ergebnisse dieser Zusammenarbeit werden beim Forecast Festival vom 20. bis 21.Oktober 2017 im HKW präsentiert.

Forecast ist ein Projekt von Skills e.V. in Kooperation mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien. Unter der Schirmherrschaft von Dr. Frank-Walter Steinmeier, Bundesminister des Auswärtigen.

Termine

Forecast Forum: 31. März – 01. April 2017
Forecast Festival: 20. – 21. Oktober 2017