Due to the Berlin-Marathon, there are traffic delays until September 25. More information...

Past Disquiet. Narratives and Ghosts from the International Art Exhibition for Palestine, 1978


March 19 – May 9, 2016

Collectif de peintres antifascistes painting a banner for a protest on May 1, 1976, directed against the government’s policies towards the arts. | Photo: César, source: Claude Lazar

Collectif de peintres antifascistes painting a banner for a protest on May 1, 1976, directed against the government’s policies towards the arts. | Photo: César, source: Claude Lazar

In the 1970s, artists across the world mobilized around anti-imperialist solidarity movements. Departing from the 1978 International Art Exhibition for Palestine in Beirut, Past Disquiet stitches a speculative history of networks: grassroots collectives across Paris, Rome, and Tokyo; artists’ unions in Damascus, Casablanca, Berlin, and Warsaw; biennials in Venice, Baghdad, and Rabat, and museums in Santiago de Chile, Cape Town, and Managua. Curated by Kristine Khouri and Rasha Salti, the exhibition engages the problematics of oral history while critically exploring the mechanisms of canon-making.

The International Art Exhibition for Palestine opened in the spring of 1978 in Beirut, Lebanon, at the Beirut Arab University. Organized by the Palestinian Liberation Organization (PLO), it comprised around two hundred donated works by artists hailing from thirty countries. The exhibition was intended as the seed collection for a museum in exile, taking the form of an itinerant exhibition that was meant to tour worldwide until it could be repatriated to Palestine. During the 1982 Israeli invasion of Lebanon and siege of Beirut, the buildings where the collection was stored, and where the offices housing the Plastic Arts Section and Unified Information Office were located, were destroyed.

Past Disquiet. Narratives and Ghosts from The International Art Exhibition for Palestine, 1978 is a documentary and archival exhibition centered on the research conducted on and around the story of the 1978 exhibition for Palestine. It displays, mediates, and incarnates themes and questions that have guided this research, using montaged video of archival material and film as well as contemporary interviews and writing, in addition to reproductions of documents. It draws cartographies linking constellations of artists and groups bound by political affiliations and solidarities, beginning in Palestine and expanding to the rest of the world. The investigation into other itinerant exhibitions intended as a “museum in exile”, contemporary to the International Art Exhibition for Palestine ‒ such as the Museo Internacional de la Resistencia Salvador Allende and Artists Against Apartheid ‒ has revealed recent, yet forgotten museographic practices, while links to the First Arab Biennial in Baghdad (1974) and the Venice Biennale of 1976 have uncovered other cartographies of a shared history.

The first iteration of Past Disquiet was presented at the Museu d’Art Contemporani de Barcelona (MACBA), from February 20 to June 1, 2015. The second iteration of Past Disquiet, hosted at HKW, will be conceptualized to explore critically the mechanisms of canon-making in both the discourse and historiography of art, in addition to unearthing the relationship between the realm of art and artists’ practices between the Cold War-divided Germany and the causes that animated the anti-imperialist solidarity front, specifically the struggle for Palestine. More information

Past Disquiet is one of the points of departure for the conference A History of Limits. Inaugurating the new long-term project Kanon-Fragen, it interrogates the foundational narratives of institutional canon formation, recasting the history of art and culture as a history of the negotiation of limits.

Past Disquiet is curated by Kristine Khouri and Rasha Salti. Originally conceived and presented by the Museu d’Art Contemporani de Barcelona (MACBA) in 2015. The Berlin version is a production of Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, and MACBA. The research for this project has been made possible by the generous support of Rana Sadik and Samer Younis, the Sharjah Art Foundation, the Arab Fund for Arts and Culture (AFAC), ZedGrant, the A. M. Qattan Foundation, and Tensta konsthall.

Part of Kanon-Fragen

Exhibition

Bis Ende 2016 schließt das HKW und ist out and about – unterwegs mit Projekten in Berlin, Hamburg und München. | Mehr Infos...

Zeit der Unruhe. Über die Internationale Kunstausstellung für Palästina 1978


Sa, 19. März 2016 — Mo, 09. Mai 2016

Collectif de peintres antifascistes beim Malen eines Transparents für die Demonstration am 1.5.1976 zur Kritik der Kulturpolitik der Regierung. | Foto: César, Quelle: Claude Lazar

Collectif de peintres antifascistes beim Malen eines Transparents für die Demonstration am 1.5.1976 zur Kritik der Kulturpolitik der Regierung. | Foto: César, Quelle: Claude Lazar

In den 1970er Jahren engagierten sich Künstler*innen weltweit in antiimperialistischen Solidaritätsbewegungen. Ausgehend von der Internationalen Kunstausstellung für Palästina 1978 in Beirut unternimmt Zeit der Unruhe eine spekulative Geschichtsschreibung der Netzwerke: Kollektive in Paris, Rom und Tokio; Künstlerverbände in Damaskus, Casablanca, Berlin und Warschau; Biennalen in Venedig, Bagdad und Rabat und Museen in Santiago de Chile, Kapstadt und Managua. Die von Kristine Khouri und Rasha Salti kuratierte Ausstellung nimmt sich der Problematik einer vorwiegend mündlich überlieferten Geschichte an und untersucht dabei kritisch die Mechanismen der Kanon-Konstruktion.

Die Internationale Kunstausstellung für Palästina wurde im Frühjahr 1978 an der Beirut Arab University im Libanon eröffnet. Veranstaltet von der Palästinensischen Befreiungsorganisation (PLO), umfasste die Ausstellung etwa 200 von Künstler*innen aus fast dreißig Ländern gestiftete Werke und verstand sich als Kern eines Museums im Exil. In Gestalt einer Wanderausstellung sollte dieses die Welt bereisen, um schließlich nach Palästina heimgeführt zu werden. Während des Einmarschs der israelischen Truppen und der Belagerung Beiruts 1982 wurden die Gebäude, in denen sich die Sammlung und auch die Büros der Sektion Bildende Kunst und des Zentralen Informationsbüros der PLO befanden, zerstört.

Zeit der Unruhe. Über die Internationale Kunstausstellung für Palästina 1978 ist eine Dokumentations- und Archivausstellung, in deren Mittelpunkt die Geschichte und der geschichtliche Kontext der Ausstellung für Palästina von 1978 stehen. Sie präsentiert, vermittelt und verkörpert Themen und Fragen, die für die Recherche dieser Geschichte maßgeblich waren. Dafür verwendet sie neben der Reproduktion historischer Dokumente auch Videomontagen aus Archivmaterial und Filmen ebenso wie Interviews mit Zeitzeugen und Textdokumente. Sie kartografiert die Beziehungen zwischen verschiedenen Konstellationen von Künstler*innen und Gruppen, die sich durch eine gemeinsame politische Haltung und Solidarität verbunden fühlten und setzt bei Palästina an, um sich darauf aufbauend auch dem Rest der Welt zu widmen. Die Recherche zu anderen, zeitgleich zur Internationalen Kunstausstellung für Palästina als „Museum im Exil“ konzipierten Wanderausstellungen – zum Beispiel das Museo Internacional de la Resistencia Salvador Allende und Artists Against Apartheid – hat eine Form der museologischen Praxis zu Tage gefördert, die noch nicht lange zurück liegt und doch schon in Vergessenheit geraten ist. Gleichzeitig haben die Verbindungslinien zur Ersten Arabischen Biennale in Bagdad (1974) und der 1976er Biennale in Venedig bisher unbekannte Kartografien einer gemeinsamen Geschichte aufgedeckt.

Die erste Station von Zeit der Unruhe wurde als Past Disquiet vom 20. Februar bis 1. Juli 2015 im Museu d'Art Contemporani de Barcelona gezeigt (MACBA). Die vom HKW veranstaltete zweite Version hinterfragt die Mechanismen der Kanon-Konstruktion in Diskurs und Historiografie der Kunst. Zudem legt sie vor dem Hintergrund des Kalten Krieges offen, welche Beziehungen zwischen Kunst und künstlerischer Praxis in den beiden deutschen Staaten und den Motiven der antiimperialistischen Solidaritätsfront, insbesondere des Kampfs für Palästina bestanden. Mehr Informationen

Zeit der Unruhe ist einer der Ausgangspunkte für die Konferenz A History of Limits. Zum Auftakt des Langzeitprojekts Kanon-Fragen hinterfragt sie die Fundamente der institutionellen Kanon-Bildung und entwirft die Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte neu als Geschichte des Aushandelns von Grenzen.

Zeit der Unruhe wird kuratiert von Kristine Khouri und Rasha Salti und wurde 2015 vom Museu d´Art Contemporani de Barcelona (MACBA) konzipiert und präsentiert. Die Berliner Ausstellung 2016 ist eine Produktion des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt und des MACBA. Recherche gefördert durch Rana Sadik und Samer Younis, Sharjah Art Foundation, Arab Fund for Arts and Culture (AFAC), ZedGrant, A.M. Qattan Foundation und Tensta konsthall.

Im Rahmen von Kanon-Fragen 2016-2019

Ausstellung