Die Geschichte meiner Zähne

Valeria Luiselli | Dagmar Ploetz

Valeria Luiselli: Die Geschichte meiner Zähne
Translated from the Spanish by Dagmar Ploetz | La historia de mis dientes
Verlag Antje Kunstmann 2016 | Editorial Sexto Piso, Mexiko 2014

“On the basis of the dental history of the Mexican Gustavo Sanchez Sanchez, nickname Carretera (motorway) the author demonstrates that, far from being a dogged affair, the presentation of narrative principles can be a quite passionate. The reader can look forward to lively digressions between philosophy, literary satire, essay, anecdote, and dental biography which Luiselli prepares in closely-observed collaboration with employees of the Jumex juice factory in Mexico City. Translated from the Spanish with great literary expertise and accomplishment by Dagmar Ploetz.”
(The jury on the shortlist nomination 2016)

Die Geschichte meiner Zähne

Die Geschichte meiner Zähne

Gustavo Sánchez has a mission: Every one of his ugly teeth must be replaced. Fortunately, he is an auctionee –the world’s best auctioneer–which helps him in gathering the money needed for the new teeth. In the process he discovers that providing the objects he auctions with a story is decisive. This increases their value enormously. Nevertheless, he has a few more abilities that bring him money: After two glasses of rum he can imitate Janis Joplin, interpret fortune cookies, stand a chicken’s egg on the table like Christopher Columbus and imitate a dead man when swimming. However, his story telling is a fine art. And his collection of teeth from famous people is impressive: from Plato to Plutarch, Michel de Montaigne, Virginia Woolf and Enrique Vila-Matas. However, Sanchez has set his sights on Marilyn Monroe’s ...

Valeria Luiselli | © Dan Callister

Valeria Luiselli | © Dan Callister

About the author

Valeria Luiselli, born in Mexiko City in 1983, writes for magazines and newspapers such as Letras Libres and the New York Times. She has written librettos for the New York City Ballet and is the author of the critically acclaimed volume of essays Papeles falsos. Her essays as well as her first novel Los ingrávidos (English title: Faces in the Crowd) have been translated into several languages.. For this debut work she received the 2014 Los Angeles Times Book Prize. She works as an editor, journalist, and lecturer and lives in Mexico City and New York.

Recent publications in German translation:

  • Falsche Papiere. Essays, translated from the Spanish by Dagmar Ploetz and Nora Haller; Verlag Antje Kunstmann 2014 (Papeles falsos; Editorial Sexto Piso, Mexiko 2010)
  • Die Schwerelosen, translated from the Spanish by Dagmar Ploetz; Verlag Antje Kunstmann 2013 (Los ingrávidos; Editorial Sexto Piso, Mexiko 2011)

Dagmar Ploetz | © Verlag Antje Kunstmann

Dagmar Ploetz | © Verlag Antje Kunstmann

About the translator

Dagmar Ploetz, born in 1946 in Herrsching, spent her childhood and school years in Argentina and studied German and Romance philology in Munich. From 1971-76 she was co-editor of the Literarische Hefte. From 1973-76 she worked as a publishing house editor, and subsequently as a freelance journalist. Since 1983 she has translated from Spanish (amongst others Rafel Chirbes, Gabriel García Márquez, Juan Masé). In 2005 she received the Jane Scatcherd Prize and in 2012 the Translation Prize of the City of Munich. In 2011 she was nominated for the Leipzig Book Fair Prize in the category Translation for her rendition of Carlos Busqued’s novel Unter dieser furchterregenden Sonne (Bajo este sol tremendo). In 2014 she was nominated for the Internationaler Literaturpreis – Haus der Kulturen der Welt for her translation of Valeria Luiselli’s novel Die Schwerelosen (Los ingrávidos).

Recent translations:

  • Valeria Luiselli: Die Schwerelosen; Verlag Antje Kunstmann 2013 (Los ingrávidos; Sexto Piso, Madrid 2011)
  • Gabriel García Márques: Leben um davon zu erzählen; Kiepenheuer & Witsch 2014 (Vivir para contarla; Diana, Mexico 2002 / Grupo Editorial Norma, Bogotá 2002)

Die Geschichte meiner Zähne

Valeria Luiselli | Dagmar Ploetz

Valeria Luiselli: Die Geschichte meiner Zähne
Aus dem Spanischen von Dagmar Ploetz | La historia de mis dientes
Verlag Antje Kunstmann 2016 | Editorial Sexto Piso, Mexiko 2014

„Die Autorin zeigt anhand der Geschichte der Zähne des Mexikaners Gustavo Sanchez Sanchez, mit Rufnamen Carretera (dt. Autobahn), dass die Vorführung von Erzählprinzipien durchaus leidenschaftlich und nicht bloß verbissen sein kann. Den Leser erwarten lustvolle Digressionen zwischen Philosophie, literarischer Satire, Essay, Anekdote und dentaler Biographie, die Luiselli in aufmerksamer Zusammenarbeit mit Arbeitern der Saftfabrik Jumex in Mexico City gestaltete. Mit großer literarischer Sachkenntnis und Versiertheit aus dem Spanischen übersetzt von Dagmar Ploetz.“
(Jurykommentar zur Shortlist-Nominierung 2016)

Die Geschichte meiner Zähne

Die Geschichte meiner Zähne

Gustavo Sánchez hat eine Mission: Jeder seiner hässlichen Zähne muss ersetzt werden. Glücklicherweise ist er Auktionator – der weltbeste Auktionator –, was ihm dabei hilft, Geld für die neuen Zähne zu sammeln. Dabei entdeckt er, dass es entscheidend ist, die Objekte, die er anbietet, mit Geschichten auszustatten. Das steigert ihren Wert immens. Auch wenn er noch ein paar andere Fähigkeiten besitzt, die ihm Geld verschaffen: Nach zwei Gläsern Rum kann er Janis Joplin imitieren, Glückskekse deuten und wie Christopher Kolumbus ein Hühnerei auf den Tisch stellen und beim Schwimmen den Toten Mann machen. Das Geschichtenerzählen aber entwickelt er zur Meisterschaft. Und die Sammlung seiner Zähne berühmter Menschen kann sich sehen lassen: von Plato zu Plutarch, Michel de Montaigne, Virginia Woolf und Enrique Vila-Matas. Sanchez aber will die von Marilyn Monroe…

Valeria Luiselli | © Dan Callister

Valeria Luiselli | © Dan Callister

Die Autorin

Valeria Luiselli, geboren 1983 in Mexiko City, schreibt für Magazine und Zeitungen wie Letras Libres und die New York Times. Sie hat Libretti für das New York City Ballet und den Essay-Band Papeles falsos geschrieben, der von der Kritik hoch gelobt wurde. Ihre Essays sind in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt worden, ebenso ihr Romandebüt Los ingrávidos (Die Schwerelosen). Für dieses Erstlingswerk erhielt sie den Los Angeles Times Book Prize 2014. Sie arbeitet als Lektorin, Journalistin und Dozentin und lebt in Mexiko-Stadt und New York.

Zuletzt erschienen:

  • Falsche Papiere. Essays, aus dem Spanischen von Dagmar Ploetz und Nora Haller; Verlag Antje Kunstmann 2014 (Papeles falsos; Editorial Sexto Piso, Mexiko 2010)
  • Die Schwerelosen, aus dem Spanischen von Dagmar Ploetz; Verlag Antje Kunstmann 2013 (Los ingrávidos; Editorial Sexto Piso, Mexiko 2011)

Dagmar Ploetz | © Verlag Antje Kunstmann

Dagmar Ploetz | © Verlag Antje Kunstmann

Die Übersetzerin

Dagmar Ploetz, geboren 1946 in Herrsching, verbrachte ihre Kindheit und Schulzeit in Argentinien und studierte Germanistik und Romanistik in München. 1971-76 war sie Mitherausgeberin der Literarischen Hefte. Von 1973-76 war sie Verlagslektorin, danach freie Journalistin. Seit 1983 übersetzt sie aus dem Spanischen (u.a. Rafel Chirbes, Gabriel García Márquez, Juan Masé) und erhielt 2005 den Jane-Scatcherd-Preis und 2012 den Übersetzerpreis der Stadt München. 2011 war sie mit der Übersetzung von Carlos Busqueds Roman Unter dieser furchterregenden Sonne in der Kategorie Übersetzung für den Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse nominiert, 2014 mit Valeria Luisellis Roman Die Schwerelosen für den Internationalen Literaturpreis-Haus der Kulturen der Welt.

Zuletzt erschienen:

  • Juan Marsé: Glückliche Nachrichten auf Papierfliegern; Wagenbach 2015 (Noticias felices en aviones de papel; Lumen, Barcelona 2014)
  • Rafael Chirbes: Am Ufer; Verlag Antje Kunstmann 2014 (En la orilla; Anagrama, Barcelona 2013)
  • Valeria Luiselli: Falsche Papiere. Essays (in Zusammenarbeit mit Nora Haller); Verlag Antje Kunstmann 2014 (Papeles falsos; Editorial Sexto Piso, Mexiko 2010)
  • Gabriel García Márques: Leben um davon zu erzählen; Kiepenheuer & Witsch 2014 (Vivir para contarla; Diana, Mexico 2002 / Grupo Editorial Norma, Bogotá 2002)
  • Valeria Luiselli: Die Schwerelosen; Verlag Antje Kunstmann 2013 (Los ingrávidos; Sexto Piso, Madrid 2011)