Double Negative

Ivan Vladislavić | Thomas Brückner

Ivan Vladislavić: Double Negative
Translated from the English by Thomas Brückner | Double Negative
A1 Verlag 2015 | Umuzi 2010

“In the multiple reflections of his novel Double Negative, the South African essayist and writer Ivan Vladislavić succeeds in combining major themes from the history of civilization (racial segregation in his home country) with moral and aesthetic issues (what is the truth of photography) to create a profound narrative of the period during and after Apartheid. Following the first free elections, the narrator - himself now a photographer – returns from London to observe the transformations. What has really changed? Ivan Vladislavić stages his story without the slightest use of kitsch or sentimentality, which elevates the book into a literary masterpiece, something further accentuated by the excellent translation by Thomas Brückner.”
(The jury on the shortlist nomination 2016)

Double Negative

Double Negative

The young college dropout Neville Lister accompanies the famous photographer Saul Auerbach for a day in Johannesburg in search of life lessons. They play a game: On a hill overlooking the city they select three houses and decide to knock on their doors in search of a picture and a story. However, the light quickly fades and only Auerbach’s pictures from the first two houses, which would later become classic portraits, are completed. Only after an interlude of many years does Lister visit the third house as he returns to post-apartheid South Africa and a completely altered Johannesburg. The novel, arranged like a triptych, depicts 30 years of South African history in precise images and sentences, arranged like a series of photographs that trace the changes in the social structures.

Ivan Vladislavić | © Sophie Bassouls

Ivan Vladislavić | © Sophie Bassouls

About the author

Ivan Vladislavić, born in Pretoria in 1957, studied Afrikaans and English literature at the Witwatersrand University and has lived in Johannesburg since the beginning of the 1970s where he works as a freelance editor and writer. In the 1980s he worked as an editor for the oppositional publishers Ravan Press. The South African with Croatian roots was co-publisher of the Staffrider Magazine and together with Andries Oliphant he published the anthology Ten years of Staffrider. He is the author of novels, essays and short stories, has published works on contemporary art and architecture and written texts for the photography books of David Goldblatt and Roger Palmer.

Recent publications in German translation:

  • Johannesburg. Insel aus Zufall, translated from the English by Thomas Brückner; A1 Verlag 2008 (Portrait with Keys. Joburg and What-What; Umuzi, Kapstadt 2006)

Recent publication in English:

  • 101 Detectives; Umuzi, Kapstadt 2015
  • The Exploded View; Umuzi, Kapstadt 2004

Thomas Brückner | © privat

Thomas Brückner | © privat

About the translator

Dr. Thomas Brückner, born in Görlitz in 1957, studied African studies, literature and cultural sciences. He completed his doctorate and habilitated at the University of Leipzig, which was followed by guest professorships in Germany and Sweden. Since 1994, he has worked as an author, publisher, translator, cultural mediator, speaker and moderator, primarily in the field of the literature and culture of the countries of the south. Amongst other things, Brückner has been a longstanding jury member of the LiBeraturpreis initiative.

Recent translations:

  • Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o: Im Haus des Hüters. Jugendjahre; A1 Verlag, München 2013 (In the House of the Interpreter. A Memoir; Pantheon Books, New York 2012)
  • Helon Habila: Öl auf Wasser; Verlag Das Wunderhorn 2012 (Oil on Water: A Novel; W.W.Norton & Company, New York 2011)
  • Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o: Herr der Krähen; A1 Verlag, München 2011 (Wizard of the Crow; Harvill Secker, London 2006)
  • Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o: Träume in Zeiten des Krieges. Eine Kindheit; A1 Verlag, München 2010 (Dreams in a Time of War. A Childhood Memoir; Pantheon Books, New York 2010)
  • Ivan Vladislavić: Johannesburg. Insel aus Zufall (Metropolen, Band 19); A1 Verlag 2008 (Portrait with Keys. Joburg and What-What; Umuzi, Kapstadt 2006)

Double Negative

Ivan Vladislavić | Thomas Brückner

Ivan Vladislavić: Double Negative
Aus dem Englischen von Thomas Brückner | Double Negative
A1 Verlag 2015 | Umuzi 2010

„In seinem vielfach verspiegelten Roman Double Negative gelingt dem südafrikanischen Essayisten und Schriftsteller Ivan Vladislavić das Kunststück, große Themen der Zivilisationsgeschichte (die Rassentrennung in seiner Heimat) mit moralischen und ästhetischen Fragestellungen (was ist die Wahrheit der Fotografie) zu einer bedeutenden Erzählung über die Zeit während und nach der Rassentrennung zu verknüpfen. Nach den ersten freien Wahlen kehrt der Erzähler aus London zurück, um – inzwischen selbst Fotograf – die Veränderungen in Augenschein zu nehmen. Was hat sich wirklich verändert? Ivan Vladislavić kommt bei der Inszenierung seiner Geschichte ohne jeden Kitsch und jede Sentimentalität aus, was das von Thomas Brückner schön übersetzte Buch zu einem literarischen Meisterwerk macht.“
(Jurykommentar zur Shortlist-Nominierung 2016)

Double Negative

Double Negative

Der junge Studienabbrecher Neville Lister begleitet den berühmten Fotografen Saul Auerbach einen Tag durch Johannesburg, um eine Lektion fürs Leben zu lernen. Sie spielen ein Spiel: Auf einem Hügel über der Stadt wählen sie drei Häuser und beschließen, auf der Suche nach einer Geschichte und einem Bild an ihre Türen zu klopfen. Doch bald schwindet das Licht, nur Auerbachs Bilder der ersten beiden Häuser werden später klassische Portraits. Nach Jahren in London kehrt Lister, inzwischen selbst Fotograf, in das Südafrika der Post-Apartheid zurück und sucht das dritte Haus, um Auerbachs Arbeit abzuschließen. Johannesburg hat sich fast bis zur Unkenntlichkeit verändert. Der Roman, aufgebaut wie ein Triptychon, entwirft 30 Jahre südafrikanische Geschichte in präzisen Bildern und Sätzen, die wie Fotografien nebeneinander liegen und die Veränderung der gesellschaftlichen Strukturen nachzeichnen.

Ivan Vladislavić | © Sophie Bassouls

Ivan Vladislavić | © Sophie Bassouls

Der Autor

Ivan Vladislavić, geboren 1957 in Pretoria, studierte afrikaanse und englische Literatur an der Witwatersrand-Universität und lebt seit Anfang der 1970er Jahre in Johannesburg. Dort arbeitet er als freier Lektor und Schriftsteller. In den 1980er Jahren arbeitete er als Lektor im oppositionellen Verlag Ravan Press. Der Südafrikaner kroatischer Abstammung war Mitherausgeber des Staffrider Magazine und veröffentlichte gemeinsam mit Andries Oliphant die Anthologie Ten years of Staffrider. Er ist Autor von Essays, Romanen und Erzählungen, gab Werke zu zeitgenössischer Kunst und Architektur heraus und schrieb Texte für Bücher der Fotografen David Goldblatt und Roger Palmer.

Zuletzt erschienen:

  • Johannesburg. Insel aus Zufall, aus dem Englischen von Thomas Brückner; A1 Verlag 2008 (Portrait with Keys. Joburg and What-What; Umuzi, Kapstadt 2006)

Zuletzt auf Englisch erschienen:

  • 101 Detectives; Umuzi, Kapstadt 2015
  • The Exploded View; Umuzi, Kapstadt 2004

Thomas Brückner | © privat

Thomas Brückner | © privat

Der Übersetzer

Dr. Thomas Brückner, geboren 1957 in Görlitz, studierte Afrikanistik und Kultur- und Literaturwissenschaften. Er promovierte und habilitierte sich an der Universität Leipzig und nahm Gastprofessuren in Deutschland und Schweden wahr. Seit 1994 ist er als Autor, Herausgeber, Übersetzer, Kulturvermittler, Sprecher und Moderator vornehmlich auf dem Gebiet der Literaturen und Kulturen der Länder des Südens tätig. Unter anderem ist er langjähriges Jurymitglied der Initiative LiBeraturpreis.

Zuletzt erschienen:

  • Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o: Im Haus des Hüters. Jugendjahre; A1 Verlag, München 2013 (In the House of the Interpreter. A Memoir; Pantheon Books, New York 2012)
  • Helon Habila: Öl auf Wasser; Verlag Das Wunderhorn 2012 (Oil on Water: A Novel; W.W.Norton & Company, New York 2011)
  • Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o: Herr der Krähen; A1 Verlag, München 2011 (Wizard of the Crow; Harvill Secker, London 2006)
  • Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o: Träume in Zeiten des Krieges. Eine Kindheit; A1 Verlag, München 2010 (Dreams in a Time of War. A Childhood Memoir; Pantheon Books, New York 2010)
  • Ivan Vladislavić: Johannesburg. Insel aus Zufall (Metropolen, Band 19); A1 Verlag 2008 (Portrait with Keys. Joburg and What-What; Umuzi, Kapstadt 2006)