transmediale 2015

CAPTURE ALL
2015, Jan 28, Wed — 2015, Feb 01, Sun

transmediale 2015 | © transmediale

transmediale 2015 | © transmediale

Invisible by Heather Dewey-Hagborg | © Thomas Dexter

Invisible by Heather Dewey-Hagborg | © Thomas Dexter

75 Watt by Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen | © Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen

75 Watt by Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen | © Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen

In a society ruled by algorithms, in the drive to numerically capture life’s totality, we contribute more or less consciously to the constant gathering of data about us: a value can be extracted from everything, our productivity measured in all areas of life. This informational conglomerate gives rise to a new definition of the relationship between work and play and an intensified need for predictive control.

transmediale 2015 challenges the prevailing CAPTURE ALL logic of digital culture and inquires into alternative lifestyles that take a stand against the imperative of extensive data collection in digital capitalism.

From the program: In the exhibition section, Jennifer L. Morone, Heather Dewey-Hagborg, Zach Blas, and others will give critical as well as playfully artistic answers to the “datafied” world. With the aid of a secularized monks’ philosophy, the unMonastery collective will present local and alternative solutions outside the cloud for life in the 21st century. The symposium participants will include Bernard Stiegler, Judy Wajcman, McKenzie Wark, and Tiziana Terranova. A highlight of the film program will be the European premiere of Nadav Assor’s LESSONS ON LEAVING YOUR BODY.

Current information and complete program: www.transmediale.de

A project of Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH in cooperation with Haus der Kulturen der Welt. Funded by Kulturstiftung des Bundes.

Bis Ende 2016 schließt das HKW und ist out and about – unterwegs mit Projekten in Berlin, Hamburg und München. | Mehr Infos...

transmediale 2015

CAPTURE ALL
Mi, 28. Januar 2015 — So, 01. Februar 2015

transmediale 2015 | © transmediale

transmediale 2015 | © transmediale

Invisible by Heather Dewey-Hagborg | © Thomas Dexter

Invisible by Heather Dewey-Hagborg | © Thomas Dexter

75 Watt by Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen | © Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen

75 Watt by Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen | © Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen

In einer von Algorithmen beherrschten Gesellschaft tragen wir in dem Drang nach umfangreicher zahlenmäßiger Erfassung mehr oder weniger bewusst zur ständigen Erhebung unserer Daten bei: Aus allem kann ein Wert extrahiert, in allen Lebensbereichen unsere Produktivität gemessen werden. Aus diesem Informationsgemenge wird die Beziehung zwischen Arbeit und Spiel neu definiert und das Bedürfnis nach vorausschauender Kontrolle verstärkt.

Die transmediale 2015 fordert die vorherrschende CAPTURE ALL-Logik der digitalen Kultur heraus und fragt nach alternativen Lebensstilen, die sich dem Imperativ der extensiven Datenerfassung im digitalen Kapitalismus widersetzen.

Aus dem Programm: Im Ausstellungsteil geben Jennifer L. Morone, Heather Dewey-Hagborg, Zach Blas und andere kritische wie spielerische künstlerische Antworten auf die „datafizierte“ Welt. Das Kollektiv unMonastery stellt mit Hilfe einer verweltlichten Mönchsphilosophie lokale und alternative Lösungen außerhalb der Cloud für das Leben im 21. Jahrhundert vor. Unter den Teilnehmern des Symposiums sind Bernard Stiegler, Judy Wajcman, McKenzie Wark sowie Tiziana Terranova. Ein Highlight des Filmprogramms ist die Europapremiere von Nadav Assors LESSONS ON LEAVING YOUR BODY.

Aktuelle Informationen und vollständiges Programm: www.transmediale.de

Ein Projekt der Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt. Die Kulturstiftung des Bundes fördert die transmediale als kulturelle Spitzeneinrichtung