Sonnenschein

Daša Drndić | Brigitte Döbert & Blanka Stipetić

Daša Drndić: Sonnenschein
Translated from the Croatian by Brigitte Döbert & Blanka Stipetić | Sonnenschein
Hoffmann und Campe Verlag 2015 | Fraktura, Zaprešić 2007

“A woman who has waited for 62 years leafs through documents from the time when the National Socialists were in power and murdering people in the city of Gorizia north of Trieste. A family tree, a 70-page list containing the names of 9,000 Jews who were murdered or deported from Italy or from territories occupied by Italy, brief biographies of SS men, photos, song lyrics, testimonies: Croatian Daša Drndić assembles documents about an unknown scene of the Holocaust in Haya’s memoirs of her dangerous affair, a family of hangers-on and failed attempts to find her lost son. Brigitte Döbert and Blanka Stipetic are able to preserve in German the changing pitches of this unusual documentary novel hovering between fact and fiction, bureaucratic seizure and personal destiny.” (The jury on the shortlist nomination 2015)

Sonnenschein

Sonnenschein

A mother waits for her son. It’s been 62 years since he was abducted by the Nazis from Gorizia, a city on the Italian-Slovenian border. This was where she had an affair with an SS officer as a young girl. Unlike the rest of her Jewish family, Haya Tedeschi survived, only to spend decades searching for the son who was stolen from her. She comes upon other fates, reads testimonies, looks at photographs and mementos. With her story, Daša Drndić tells of the horrors of the last century, assembles fact and fiction into a documentary novel that nears the mechanisms of evil lest we forget the dark first half of the twentieth century and the excesses of the Holocaust in southeastern Europe.

Daša Drndić | © private

Daša Drndić | © private

About the author

Daša Drndić, born in Zagreb in 1946, is one of Croatia’s most noteworthy authors and playwrights. She studied the English language and literature and theatre arts in Yugoslavia and the United States. In addition to writing, she worked for more than twenty years as an editor, producer and radio playwright for Radio Belgrade, taught grammar school English and worked in publishing. She taught at universities in Canada and the United States for many years and today teaches English literature at the University of Rijeka.

Recent publications:
Belladonna; Fraktura, Zaprešić 2012
April u Berlinu; Fraktura, Zaprešić 2009
After Eight; Meandar, Zagreb 2005
Doppelgänger; Faust Vrančić, Zagreb 2005

Brigitte Döbert | © Ariel Gout

Brigitte Döbert | © Ariel Gout

About the translators

Brigitte Döbert, born in 1959, is a translator and visual artist. She worked in publishing following studies of philosophy, African studies, the book trade and German. Since 1995 she has primarily translated fiction and non-fiction from English, Serbian, Bosnian and Croatian into German, including a number of novels by Miljenko Jergović and works by Dževad Karahasan and Bora Ćosić. In 2016, Brigitte Döbert received the Leipzig Book Fair Prize for the German translation of Bora Ćosić’s novel Tutori.

Recent translations:
Miljenko Jergovic: Das Walnusshaus; Schöffling & Co. Verlagsbuchhandlung 2015 (Dvori od oraha, Rende, Belgrad 2003)
Bora Ćosić: Die Tutoren; Schöffling & Co. Verlagsbuchhandlung 2015 (Tutori; Nolit, Belgrad 1978)
Miljenko Jergović: Vater, translated from the Croatian; Schöffling & Co. Verlagsbuchhandlung 2015 (Otac; Rende, Belgrad 2010)
Mark Thompson: Geburtsurkunde: Die Geschichte von Danilo Kiš, translated from the English with Blanka Stipetić; Carl Hanser Verlag 2015 (Birth Certificate. The Story of Danilo Kiš; Cornell University Press, Ithaca 2013)
Pištalo, Vladimir: Millenium in Belgrad, translated from the Serbian; Dittrich Verlag 2011 (Milenijum u Beogradu; Agora, Zrenjanin 2009)

Blanka Stipetić | © Dagmar Schruf

Blanka Stipetić | © Dagmar Schruf

Blanka Stipetić, born in Vojvodina in 1967, studied southern Slavic languages and political science in Würzburg. She works as a translator, author and publisher in Berlin. She translates into German from English, Serbian, Croatian and Bosnian.

Recent translations:
Mark Thompson: Geburtsurkunde: Die Geschichte von Danilo Kiš, translated from the English with Brigitte Döbert; Carl Hanser Verlag 2015 (Birth Certificate. The Story of Danilo Kiš; Cornell University Press, Ithaca 2013)
Jurica Pavičić: Tabernakel, translated from the Croatian with Susanne Böhm; Schruf & Stipetic 2014 (Patrola na cesti; V.B.Z., 2008)
Slapšak, Svetlana: Die Revolution der Frauen; Beton, print edition for the 2014 Leipzig Book Fair (not yet published in Serbian)
Veselin Gatalo: Getto, translated from the Serbian; Schruf & Stipetic 2013 (Geto; AGM, Zagreb 2006)

Publications:
Schandfleck; Rowohlt Taschenbuchverlag 2010

Bis Ende 2016 schließt das HKW und ist out and about – unterwegs mit Projekten in Berlin, Hamburg und München. | Mehr Infos...

Sonnenschein

Daša Drndić | Brigitte Döbert & Blanka Stipetić

Daša Drndić: Sonnenschein
Aus dem Kroatischen von Brigitte Döbert & Blanka Stipetić | Sonnenschein
Hoffmann und Campe Verlag 2015 | Fraktura, Zaprešić 2007

„Eine seit 62 Jahren Wartende blättert in Dokumenten aus den Jahren, in denen die Nationalsozialisten in der Stadt Gorice nördlich von Triest herrschten und mordeten. Ein Stammbaum, eine 70 Seiten lange Liste mit den Namen von 9000 Juden, die aus Italien oder aus von Italien besetzten Ländern umgebracht oder deportiert wurden, Kurzbiographien von SS-Leuten, Fotos, Liedzeilen, Zeugenaussagen – die Kroatin Daša Drndić montiert Dokumente über einen unbekannten Schauplatz des Holocaust in die Erinnerungen Hayas an ihre gefährliche Liebe, die Mitläuferfamilie und die scheiternden Versuche, den verlorenen Sohn zu finden. Brigitte Döbert und Blanka Stipetic gelingt es, die wechselnden Tonlagen dieses ungewöhnlichen Dokumentarromans zwischen Fakten und Fiktionen, bürokratischem Zugriff und individuellem Schicksal ins Deutsche zu retten.“ (Jurykommentar zur Shortlist-Nominierung 2015)

Sonnenschein

Sonnenschein

Eine Mutter wartet auf ihren Sohn. 62 Jahre zuvor ist er von den Nazis aus Gorizia, einer Stadt an der italienisch-slowenischen Grenze, entführt worden. Hier hatte sie als junges Mädchen eine Affäre mit einem SS-Offizier. Anders als der Rest ihrer jüdischen Familie hat Haya Tedeschi überlebt – und jahrzehntelang nach ihrem geraubten Sohn gesucht. Sie stößt auf andere Schicksale, liest Zeugenaussagen, betrachtet Fotos und Erinnerungsstücke. Anhand ihrer Geschichte erzählt Daša Drndić von den Schrecken des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts, montiert Fakt und Fiktion zu einem Dokumentarroman, der sich den Mechanismen des Bösen nähert und gegen das Vergessen der dunklen ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts, der Auswüchse des Holocaust in Südosteuropa, anschreibt.

Daša Drndić | © privat

Daša Drndić | © privat

Die Autorin

Daša Drndić, geboren 1946 in Zagreb, gehört zu den wichtigsten kroatischen Autorinnen und Dramatikerinnen. Sie studierte Englische Sprache und Literatur sowie Theaterwissenschaften in Jugoslawien und den USA. Neben ihrer schriftstellerischen Arbeit war sie mehr als zwanzig Jahre als Redakteurin, Produzentin und Hörspielautorin bei Radio Belgrad tätig, unterrichtete Englisch am Gymnasium und arbeitete als Verlagslektorin. Mehrere Jahre lehrte sie in Kanada und den USA an der Universität und unterrichtet heute Englische Literatur an der Universität von Rijeka.

Zuletzt auf Kroatisch erschienen:
Belladonna; Fraktura, Zaprešić 2012
April u Berlinu; Fraktura, Zaprešić 2009
After Eight; Meandar, Zagreb 2005
Doppelgänger; Faust Vrančić, Zagreb 2005

Brigitte Döbert | © Ariel Gout

Brigitte Döbert | © Ariel Gout

Die Übersetzerinnen

Brigitte Döbert, geboren 1959, Übersetzerin und bildende Künstlerin. Nach dem Studium von Philosophie, Afrikanistik, Buchwesen und Germanistik war sie als Verlagslektorin tätig. Seit 1995 übersetzt sie hauptberuflich Belletristik und Sachbücher aus dem Englischen, Serbischen, Bosnischen und Kroatischen ins Deutsche, unter anderem mehrere Romane von Miljenko Jergović sowie Texte von Dževad Karahasan und Bora Ćosić. 2016 wurde Brigitte Döbert für die Übersetzung von Bora Ćosićs Roman Die Tutoren mit dem Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse ausgezeichnet.

Zuletzt erschienen:
Miljenko Jergovic: Das Walnusshaus; Schöffling & Co. Verlagsbuchhandlung 2015 (Dvori od oraha, Rende, Belgrad 2003)
Bora Ćosić: Die Tutoren; Schöffling & Co. Verlagsbuchhandlung 2015 (Tutori; Nolit, Belgrad 1978)
Miljenko Jergović: Vater, übersetzt aus dem Kroatischen; Schöffling & Co. Verlagsbuchhandlung 2015 (Otac; Rende, Belgrad 2010)
Mark Thompson: Geburtsurkunde: Die Geschichte von Danilo Kiš, übersetzt aus dem Englischen mit Blanka Stipetić; Carl Hanser Verlag 2015 (Birth Certificate. The Story of Danilo Kiš; Cornell University Press, Ithaca 2013)
Pištalo, Vladimir: Millenium in Belgrad, übersetzt aus dem Serbischen; Dittrich Verlag 2011 (Milenijum u Beogradu; Agora, Zrenjanin 2009)

Blanka Stipetić | © Dagmar Schruf

Blanka Stipetić | © Dagmar Schruf

Blanka Stipetić, 1967 in der Vojvodina geboren, studierte Südslawistik und Politische Wissenschaft in Würzburg. Sie arbeitet als Übersetzerin, Autorin und Verlegerin in Berlin. Sie übersetzt aus dem Englischen, Serbischen, Kroatischen und Bosnischen ins Deutsche.

Zuletzt erschienen:
Mark Thompson: Geburtsurkunde: Die Geschichte von Danilo Kiš, übersetzt aus dem Englischen mit Brigitte Döbert; Carl Hanser Verlag 2015 (Birth Certificate. The Story of Danilo Kiš; Cornell University Press, Ithaca 2013
Jurica Pavičić: Tabernakel, übersetzt aus dem Kroatischen mit Susanne Böhm; Schruf & Stipetic 2014 (Patrola na cesti; V.B.Z., 2008)
Slapšak, Svetlana: Die Revolution der Frauen; in: Beton, Printausgabe zur Leipziger Buchmesse 2014 (auf Serbisch bisher unveröffentlicht)
Veselin Gatalo: Getto, übersetzt aus dem Serbischen; Schruf & Stipetic 2013 (Geto; AGM, Zagreb 2006)

Eigene Publikationen:
Schandfleck; Rowohlt Taschenbuchverlag 2010