Jury of 2015

The jury was nominated by an independent selection committee consisting of: Adelheid Feilcke (head of the culture department at Deutsche Welle), Klaus-Dieter Lehmann (president of the Goethe-Institut), Joachim Sartorius (poet, translator and former artistic director of the Berliner Festspiele), Christina Weiss (publicist, professor, chair of the Verein der Freunde der Nationalgalerie), Jan Szlovak (chair of the Stiftung Elementarteilchen).

Leila Chammaa | © Santiago Engelhardt

Leila Chammaa | © Santiago Engelhardt

Leila Chammaa
(Translator, Expert in Islamic Studies)
Leila Chammaa, born in 1965, read Islamic studies, Arabic language and literature and political science at the Freie Universität Berlin. Since 1990, she has been translating Arabic prose and poetry into German and has served as an advisor and consultant to publishers and other institutions in the field of Arabic literature. In 2004 she was responsible for the coordination and dramaturgical organization of the literary readings in the Arabic honorary guest program at the Frankfurt Book Fair. In 2002, she founded the agency “Alif”, which aims to promote Arabic literature in German-speaking regions. She also lectures Arabic for the German Foreign Office.

Michael Krüger | © Santiago Engelhardt

Michael Krüger | © Santiago Engelhardt

Michael Krüger
(Author/Publisher)
Michael Krüger, born in 1943 in the state of Saxony-Anhalt and raised in Berlin, lives in Munich today. For many years, he was the executive publisher at Carl Hanser Verlag in Munich, and for over three decades has been the editor of the journal Akzente, the book series Edition Akzente, and the series Lyrik Kabinett. Since the 1970s, his own published work has included novels, stories, essays, and poetry, for which he has received the Peter-Huchel-Preis, the Mörike-Preis, the Joseph-Breitbach-Preis, and the Prix Médicis étranger, among other awards. He is currently the president of the Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts and in spring 2015 will be a fellow at the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin.

Marko Martin | © Santiago Engelhardt

Marko Martin | © Santiago Engelhardt

Marko Martin
(Author/Journalist)
Marko Martin, born in 1970, left East Germany in May 1989 for political reasons. He studied German, history, and political science at the Technische Universität and Freie Universität in Berlin. After a long residence in Paris, Martin returned to Berlin, where he lives when not traveling as a reporter. As a journalist, he has contributed most notably to Die Welt, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, Deutschlandradio, Jüdische Allgemeine, and Internationale Politik. His most recent literary work includes the essay collections Kosmos Tel Aviv (2012) and Treffpunkt '89 (2014), as well as the volumes of stories Schlafende Hunde (2009) and Die Nacht von San Salvador (2013), both published by Die Andere Bibliothek.

Sabine Peschel | © Santiago Engelhardt

Sabine Peschel | © Santiago Engelhardt

Sabine Peschel
(Sinologist/Editor)
Sabine Peschel, born in 1955, studied Sinology and German language and literature in Tübingen. She has lived in Taipei, worked as a university lecturer in Niigata, Japan and spent 15 years working as a freelance project organizer and translator in Berlin. During that time, she had articles published on China, began working for radio and presented numerous Chinese writers in Germany for the first time. In 1999, Sabine Peschel went to work for Deutsche Welle in Cologne/Bonn as an editor. She translates novels, essays and poetry from the contemporary Chinese literary scene. 

Jörg Plath | © Santiago Engelhardt

Jörg Plath | © Santiago Engelhardt

Jörg Plath
(Literary Critic / Arts Journalist)
Jörg Plath, born in 1960, first did an apprenticeship as a book seller and then went on to study recent German literature, history and politics in Freiburg, Vienna and Berlin. In 1993, he received his doctorate for a thesis on Franz Hessel. Since then he has worked as a freelance lector, ghostwriter and literary editor. He now works as a literary critic for supra-regional media such as Deutschlandfunk and Neue Zürcher Zeitung and as a literary editor for Deutschlandradio Kultur.

Iris Radisch | © Santiago Engelhardt

Iris Radisch | © Santiago Engelhardt

Iris Radisch
(Literary Critic / Journalist)
Iris Radisch, born in 1959, is a German literary journalist and critic. She studied German language and literature, Romance studies and philosophy in Tübingen and Frankfurt. Since 1990, she has worked as literary editor for die ZEIT, for which she is now features editor. In addition to visiting professorships in St. Louis, USA and Göttingen, she has also presented numerous literature programs, including Bücher,Bücher (HR) and Literaturclub (3sat/ SF1). She became well-known through her participation in the program Das literarische Quartett (2000-2001). From 1995 to 2000 she was a member of the jury for the Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preis; from 2003 to 2007 she was chairwoman of said jury. In 2008, she was awarded the media prize for linguistic culture in the category “press” by the Gesellschaft für deutsche Sprache. In 2009, the French culture minister named Christine Albanel Radisch a “Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres”. Her biography Camus – Das Ideal der Einfachheit was published in 2013.

Sabine Scholl | © Santiago Engelhardt

Sabine Scholl | © Santiago Engelhardt

Sabine Scholl
(Author/Essayist)
Sabine Scholl, born in 1959, studied German, history, and drama in Vienna and wrote her doctoral dissertation on Unica Zürn. From 1988 to 1990, she was a lecturer at the University of Aveiro, Portugal. She made her literary debut in 1992 with Fette Rosen. She has taught at universities in Chicago, New York, and Nagoya and conceived the “Sprachkunst” course of study at the University of Applied Arts Vienna, where she held a professorship from 2009 to 2012. She is currently on the faculty at the Literaturinstitut Leipzig and Berlin University of the Arts, and directs the ERAschreibkurse (writing courses) in Berlin. She has published novels, essays, audio dramas, and texts on art, and additionally writes about the cultures of the Portuguese-speaking world, the US and Latin America, Japan, and Eastern Europe. Sabine Scholl served as a juror for the 1996 Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preis. Most recently, she has published the novel Wir sind die Früchte des Zorns (2013) and Nicht ganz dicht: Zu transnationalen Literaturen (2015). She has been honored with numerous awards and grants and is a member of the Grazer Autorenversammlung and the literary advisory committee of Fiktion e.V.

Bis Ende 2016 schließt das HKW und ist out and about – unterwegs mit Projekten in Berlin, Hamburg und München. | Mehr Infos...

Die Jury 2015

Die Jury wurde von einem unabhängigen Auswahlgremium nominiert. Diesem gehörten an: Adelheid Feilcke (Leiterin Kultur, Deutsche Welle), Klaus-Dieter Lehmann (Präsident des Goethe-Instituts), Joachim Sartorius (Lyriker, Übersetzer und ehemaliger Intendant der Berliner Festspiele), Christina Weiss (Publizistin, Professorin, Vorsitzende des Vereins der Freunde der Nationalgalerie), Jan Szlovak (Vorstandsvorsitzender Stiftung Elementarteilchen).

Leila Chammaa | © Santiago Engelhardt

Leila Chammaa | © Santiago Engelhardt

Leila Chammaa
(Übersetzerin, Islamwissenschaftlerin)
Leila Chammaa, geb. 1965, studierte Islamwissenschaften, Arabistik und Politologie an der Freien Universität Berlin. Seit 1990 ist sie als Übersetzerin arabischer Prosa und Lyrik ins Deutsche und Beraterin und Gutachterin für Verlage und Institutionen im Bereich arabischer Literatur tätig. 2004 war sie Koordination und dramaturgische Organisation der literarischen Lesungen im arabischen Ehrengastprogramm auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse. 2002 gründete sie die Agentur „Alif“ zur Vermittlung arabischer Literatur im deutschsprachigen Raum. Darüber hinaus ist sie Dozentin für Arabisch im Auswärtigen Amt.

Michael Krüger | © Santiago Engelhardt

Michael Krüger | © Santiago Engelhardt

Michael Krüger
(Schriftsteller/Verleger)
Michael Krüger, geb. 1943 in Sachsen-Anhalt, wuchs in Berlin auf und lebt heute in München. Er war viele Jahre lang geschäftsführender Verleger des Carl Hanser Verlags in München, mehr als dreißig Jahre Herausgeber der Zeitschrift „Akzente“, der Buchreihe „Edition Akzente“ und der Reihe „Lyrik Kabinett“. Seit den siebziger Jahren veröffentlicht er Romane, Erzählungen, Essays und Gedichte, für die er u.a. mit dem Peter-Huchel-Preis, dem Mörike-Preis, dem Joseph-Breitbach-Preis und dem Prix Medicis étranger ausgezeichnet wurde. Zurzeit ist er Präsident der Bayerischen Akademie der Schönen Künste und im Frühjahr 2015 Fellow des Wissenschaftskollegs in Berlin.

Marko Martin | © Santiago Engelhardt

Marko Martin | © Santiago Engelhardt

Marko Martin
(Schriftsteller/Publizist)
Marko Martin, geb. 1970, verließ im Mai 1989 aus politischen Gründen die DDR, Studium der Germanistik, Geschichte und Politikwissenschaft an der TU und FU in Berlin. Nach langjährigem Aufenthalt in Paris lebt Martin, sofern nicht auf Reportagereisen, wieder in Berlin. Publizistische Arbeiten vor allem in „Die Welt“, „Neue Zürcher Zeitung“, „Deutschlandradio“, „Jüdische Allgemeine“ und „Internationale Politik“. Jüngste literarische Veröffentlichungen (Auswahl): Die Essaybände „Kosmos Tel Aviv“ (2012) und „Treffpunkt '89“ (2014), dazu die in der „Anderen Bibliothek“ erschienenen Erzählbände „Schlafende Hunde“ (2009) und „Die Nacht von San Salvador“ (2013) sowie das literarische Tagebuch "Madiba Days. Eine südafrikanische Reise" (2015). Für 2016 erhielt Marko Martin  das Stadtschreiber-Stipendium der Stadt Breslau/Wroclaw.

Sabine Peschel | © Santiago Engelhardt

Sabine Peschel | © Santiago Engelhardt

Sabine Peschel
(Sinologin/Redakteurin)
Sabine Peschel, geb. 1955, studierte Sinologie und Germanistik in Tübingen. Sie lebte in Taibei, als Universitätslektorin in Niigata/Japan sowie 15 Jahre lang als freischaffende Projektorganisatorin und Übersetzerin in Berlin. In dieser Zeit publizierte sie zu China, begann am Rundfunk zu arbeiten und stellte zahlreiche chinesische Schriftsteller erstmals in Deutschland vor. 1999 wechselte Sabine Peschel zur Deutschen Welle nach Köln/Bonn. Sie ist Online-Redakteurin mit Schwerpunkt Literatur für dw.com/kultur.

Jörg Plath | © Santiago Engelhardt

Jörg Plath | © Santiago Engelhardt

Jörg Plath
(Literaturkritiker/ Kulturjournalist)
Jörg Plath, geb. 1960, studierte nach einer Ausbildung zum Buchhändler Neuere deutsche Literaturwissenschaft, Geschichte und Politik in Freiburg, Wien und Berlin. 1993 promovierte er über Franz Hessel, war freier Lektor, Ghostwriter, Literaturredakteur und arbeitet als Kritiker für überregionale Medien wie die „Neue Zürcher Zeitung“

Iris Radisch | © Santiago Engelhardt

Iris Radisch | © Santiago Engelhardt

Iris Radisch
(Literaturkritikerin, Journalistin)
Iris Radisch, geb. 1959, deutsche Literaturjournalistin und -kritikerin, Studium der Germanistik, Romanistik und Philosophie in Tübingen und Frankfurt am Main. Seit 1990 war sie Literaturredakteurin der „Zeit“, dessen Feuilleton sie heute leitet. Neben Gastprofessuren in St. Louis, USA und Göttingen übernahm sie Moderationen zahlreicher Literatursendungen u.a. „Bücher, Bücher“ (HR) und „Literaturclub“ (3sat/ SF1), Bekanntheit erlangte sie als Teilnehmerin der Sendung „Das literarische Quartett“ (2000-2001). Von 1995 bis 2000 war sie Jurymitglied des Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preises; von 2003 bis 2007 gehörte sie der dortigen Jury als Vorsitzende an. 2008 wurde sie von der Gesellschaft für deutsche Sprache mit dem Medienpreis für Sprachkultur in der Sparte „Presse“ ausgezeichnet. 2009 ernannte die französische Kulturministerin Christine Albanel Radisch zum „Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres“. 2013 erschien ihre Biographie „Camus – Das Ideal der Einfachheit“.

Sabine Scholl | © Santiago Engelhardt

Sabine Scholl | © Santiago Engelhardt

Sabine Scholl
(Schriftstellerin/Essayistin)
Sabine Scholl, geb. 1959, studierte Germanistik, Geschichte, Theaterwissenschaft in Wien, promovierte zu Unica Zürn. 1988 -1990 Lektorin an der Universität Aveiro/Portugal. 1992 Debüt mit „Fette Rosen“. Sie lehrte an Universitäten in Chicago, New York und Nagoya, konzipierte den Lehrgang Sprachkunst in Wien, war dort von 2009-2012 Professorin. Derzeit unterrichtet sie am Literaturinstitut Leipzig sowie an der UdK Berlin, ist Leiterin der ERAschreibkurse Berlin. Sie veröffentlichte Romane, Essays, Hörspiele, Texte über Kunst. Daneben publiziert sie zur Kultur des portugiesischsprachigen, US- und lateinamerikanischen, japanischen sowie osteuropäischen Raums. Sabine Scholl nahm 1996 als Jurorin am Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preis teil. Zuletzt erschienen 2015  „Nicht ganz dicht: Zu örtlichen Verschiebungen und Post-Literaturen”, sowie 2016 der Roman "Die Füchsin spricht". Sie erhielt zahlreiche Preise und Stipendien, ist Mitglied der Grazer Autorenversammlung und im Literarischen Beirat von Fiktion e.V.