HKW is closed until the end of 2016 and is now out and about with projects in Berlin, Hamburg and Munich. | More information...

Wassermusik: Lusofonia

Summer Open-Air Festival
2014, Jul 25, Fri — 2014, Aug 16, Sat

Wassermusik 2014 | Sailboat in Baía | Photo:

Wassermusik 2014 | Sailboat in Baía | Photo:

© Jakob Hoff

© Jakob Hoff

Abba’s 1974 victory at the Grand Prix d’Eurovision with the song “Waterloo” launched an international career. In the same competition, the Portuguese singer Paulo de Carvalho, with “E depois do adeus,” had to settle for a 14th-place tie with the German duo Cindy & Bert and their “Sommermelodie.” Yet he set a revolution in motion: On the evening of 24 April, 1974, Rádio Clube Português broadcast “E depois do adeus,” the first signal to the insurgent factions of the Portuguese army. This was followed a few hours later by Zeca Afonso’s “Grândola, vila morena” – and the Carnation Revolution was a reality. Not only did the dictatorships in Spain and Greece fall in direct succession, but Angola, Mozambique, Guinea-Bissau, the Cape Verde Islands, and São Tomé and Principe were also liberated from colonial rule.

WASSERMUSIK is taking the 40th anniversary of the Carnation Revolution as an occasion to look at the music that is playing today in the Portuguese-speaking world. Is Brazil still calling the tune, or have Angola and Mozambique now caught up? What has become of the musical boom set off by Cesária Évora in the Cape Verde Islands? And how has Portugal itself navigated the changing times?

The musicians who will be on hand to answer these questions include old legends like Portuguese singer-songwriter Fausto Bordalo Dias and Conjunto Angola 70, new names such as Angola’s Cabo Snoop and Portugal’s Fachada, and global stars like the Brazilian Lenine and the Cape Verdean Mayra Andrade, who will kick off the festival.

This year’s WASSERMUSIK program of films presents music films and music documentaries which relate directly to the bands or the concerts’ musical styles, as well as feature films following the interconnections of the lusophone world.

As always, the events will take place on the roof terrace if the weather is fair, and in the exhibition hall in case of rain.

Open-Air: Concerts and films on the roof terrace

Waterproof – in case of rain in the exhibition hall

Wassermusik auf der Dachterrasse und im Restaurant. Wegen Umbau ist das Haus derzeit geschlossen. | Mehr Infos...

Wassermusik: Lusofonia

Sommer-Open-Air-Festival
Fr, 25. Juli 2014 — Sa, 16. August 2014

Wassermusik 2014 | Segelboot in Baía | Foto: umpouquinhodecadalugar.com

Wassermusik 2014 | Segelboot in Baía | Foto: umpouquinhodecadalugar.com

© Jakob Hoff

© Jakob Hoff

Für Abba begann 1974 mit ihrem Sieg beim Grand Prix d’Eurovision mit dem Song „Waterloo“ eine Weltkarriere. Der portugiesische Sänger Paulo de Carvalho musste sich beim selben Wettbewerb mit seinem Song „E depois do adeus“ zusammen mit der „Sommermelodie“ des deutschen Duos Cindy & Bert Platz 14 teilen. Dennoch löste er eine Revolution aus: „E depois do adeus“ wurde vom Sender Rádio Clube Português am Abend des 24. April 1974 als erstes Signal an die aufständischen Teile der portugiesischen Armee ausgestrahlt, wenige Stunden später folgte Zeca Afonsos „Grândola, vila morena“ – und die „Nelkenrevolution“ nahm ihren Verlauf. In der direkten Folge stürzten nicht nur die Diktaturen in Spanien und Griechenland, sondern Angola, Mosambik, Guinea-Bissau, die Kapverdischen Inseln und São Tomé und Principe wurden aus der Kolonialherrschaft entlassen.

40 Jahre sind seitdem vergangen und WASSERMUSIK nimmt das zum Anlass zu schauen, welche Musik in der portugiesischsprachigen Welt heutzutage spielt. Ist es immer noch Brasilien, das den Ton angibt, oder haben Angola und Mosambik mittlerweile aufgeholt? Was ist aus dem musikalischen Boom auf den Kapverden geworden, den Cesária Évora auslöste? Und wie hat Portugal selbst den Zeitenwandel verarbeitet?

Diese Fragen beantworten einerseits alte Legenden wie der portugiesische Singer/ Songwriter Fausto Bordalo Dias oder die Conjunto Angola 70, andererseits neue Namen wie Cabo Snoop aus Angola und Fachada aus Portugal, außerdem Weltstars wie der Brasilianer Lenine oder – zur Eröffnung – die Kapverdianerin Mayra Andrade.

Das diesjährige Wassermusik-Filmprogramm zeigt Musikfilme und Musikdokumentationen, die sich direkt auf die Bands oder den Musikstil der Konzerte beziehen, sowie Spielfilme, die den Verflechtungen der lusophonen Welt nachspüren.

Wie immer finden die Veranstaltungen bei trockenem Wetter auf der Dachterrasse, bei Regen in der Ausstellungshalle statt.

Open air: Konzerte und Filme auf der Dachterrasse

Waterproof – bei Regen in der Halle