HKW is closed until the end of 2016 and is now out and about with projects in Berlin, Hamburg and Munich. | More information...

The Anthropocene Project. A Report


2014, Oct 16, Thu — 2014, Dec 08, Mon

With the traditional methods of knowledge acquisition – the natural sciences on the one side and the humanities on the other – mankind has reached a limit. The indivisible concatenation of industrial metabolism, climate change, urbanisation, soil erosion and the extinction of species, as well as a new social (self)consciousness have shown: The rapid reformation of cause and effect, means and end, quality and quantity requires a new approach to the world which is not governed by postmodern discourse but material interconnections and processes – from the accumulation of plastics into artificial islands in the ocean, to the particularity of a speck of dust on its way from the Sahara to the Brazilian rainforest. A new sense of amazement at the wonder of planet earth is required: What can we do, how can we know – and to what extent are the two connected? With what means, methods and senses can we encounter the world of our own creation?

In A REPORT, an extensive program of events in conclusion to the Anthropocene Project, the HKW will be exploring precisely these questions. The core of the program is the long opening weekend with A Matter Theater and exhibitions by Adam Avikainen, The Otolith Group and the Anthropocene Observatory. A Matter Theater explores and negotiates knowledge and perceptual practices: international artists, theorists and scientists localise the effects of human activity within the dynamic structure of material cycles and earth states, geo-historical events and planetary techniques. However, A REPORT includes more: The four volume publication “Textures of the Anthropocene: Grain Vapor Ray” takes the materiality of the world by its word – in the form of the Particular (Grain), the Volatile (Vapor) and the Radiant (Ray): A selection of historic texts from Hippocrates to Borges, an archive of reflections on objects and their transformation, commented on and extended by contemporary authors. The book forms the material and theoretical framework for A REPORT and will be presented here for the first time.

The Anthropocene Working Group, established by the International Commission on Stratigraphy, is contributing to science history, developing a proposal for the ratification of the Anthropocene as a geological epoch. It will hold its first official meeting on this weekend at the HKW, its forum event will be open to the public.

The media competition Future Storytelling is looking for cross-media narrative strategies which do justice to the Anthropocene thesis; the best projects will be premiered as part of A REPORT. An online Encyclopedia provides a list of the most important terms of the Anthropocene Project and its online material.

The publication series “intercalations: a paginated exhibition“, initiated by the curators’ network Synapse, examines the potential of the book as a form of exhibition, questioning traditional dialectical categories such as man/nature, human/non-human, subject/object. The first volume will be published in October.

And in November the Anthropocene Campus will be launched, presenting the current status of the Anthropocene Curriculum: a model project for knowledge production in cooperation with the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science.

With:
Adam Avikainen, Ayreen Anastas und Rene Gabri, Torsten Blume, Geoffrey C. Bowker, Rana Dasgupta, Matt Edgeworth, Michael Ellis, Joyeeta Gupta, Peter K. Haff, Natascha Sadr Haghighian, Yannis Hamilakis, Dorothea von Hantelmann, Alan Haywood, Erich Hörl, Franck Leibovici, Armin Linke, Flora Lysen, Margarida Mendes, Molly Nesbit, Naomi Oreskes, The Otolith Group, Elizabeth A. Povinelli, Simon Price, Jürgen Renn, Daniel D. Richter, Tomás Saraceno, Benjamin Steininger, STRATAGRIDS, Colin P. Summerhayes, James Syvitski, Bronislaw Szerszynski, Territorial Agency (John Palmesino und Ann-Sofi Rönnskog), John Tresch, Etienne Turpin, Bettina Vismann, Colin Waters, Allen S. Weiss, Mark Williams, Jan Zalasiewicz and others.

THE ANTHROPOCENE PROJECT is an initiative of Haus der Kulturen der Welt in cooperation with the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Deutsches Museum, the Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society, Munich, and the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies, Potsdam. “intercalations: a paginated exhibition” is supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation.

In the framework of:
null

Das Anthropozän-Projekt. Ein Bericht


Do, 16. Oktober 2014 — Mo, 08. Dezember 2014

Mit den herkömmlichen Methoden des Erkenntnisgewinns – den Naturwissenschaften einerseits und den Geisteswissenschaften andererseits – ist die Menschheit an eine Grenze gestoßen. Die untrennbare Verkettung von industriellem Stoffwechsel, Klimawandel, Verstädterung, Bodenerosion und Artensterben, aber auch ein neues gesellschaftliches (Selbst-)Bewusstsein, haben gezeigt: Die rasante Neuformation von Ursache und Wirkung, Mittel und Zweck, Quantität und Qualität erfordert eine neue Erschließung von Welt, die nicht auf postmoderne Diskurse, sondern materielle Zusammenhänge und Prozesse abzielt – von Plastik, das sich zu künstlichen Inseln in den Ozeanen anhäuft, bis zur Partikularität eines Staubkorns auf dem Weg von der Sahara in den brasilianischen Regenwald. Ein neues Staunen über das Wunder Erde ist gefragt: Was können wir tun, wie können wir wissen – und inwiefern hängt beides zusammen? Mit welchen Mitteln, Methoden und Sinnen können wir der von uns selbst geschaffenen Welt begegnen?

In EIN BERICHT, dem groß angelegten Abschlussprogramm des Anthropozän-Projekts, spürt das HKW genau diesen Fragen nach. Seinen Kern bildet das lange Eröffnungswochenende mit A Matter Theater und Ausstellungen von Adam Avikainen, The Otolith Group und dem Anthropozän-Observatorium. A Matter Theater bringt Wissens- und Wahrnehmungspraktiken in und zur Verhandlung: Internationale Künstler, Theoretiker und Wissenschaftler verorten die Auswirkungen menschlichen Handelns im dynamischen Gefüge von Stoffkreisläufen und Erdzuständen, geohistorischen Ereignissen und planetarischen Techniken. Doch EIN BERICHTumfasst noch mehr: Die vierbändige Publikation „Textures of the Anthropocene: Grain Vapor Ray“ nimmt die Materialität der Welt beim Wort – in Form des Partikularen (Grain), des Flüchtigen (Vapor) und des Strahlenden (Ray): eine Auswahl historischer Texte von Hippokrates bis Borges, ein Archiv der Reflexion über die Dinge und ihre Transformation, kommentiert und weitergeschrieben von zeitgenössischen Autoren. Das Buch bildet das materielle wie theoretische Grundgerüst von EIN BERICHT und wird hier erstmals vorgestellt.

Wissenschaftsgeschichte schreibt die Anthropocene Working Group fort, die von der International Commission on Stratigraphy gebildet wurde, und einen Vorschlag für die Ratifizierung des Anthropozäns als geologische Epoche erarbeitet. Sie trifft sich an diesem Wochenende im HKW zu ihrer ersten formellen Zusammenkunft, ein Forumstag ist fürs Publikum geöffnet.

Der Medienwettbewerb Future Storytelling sucht nach crossmedialen Erzählstrategien, die der Anthropozän-These gerecht werden; die besten Projekte werden bei EIN BERICHT prämiert. Eine Online-Enzyklopädie fasst die wichtigsten Begriffe des Anthropozän-Projekts und seine Online-Materialien zusammen.

Die Publikationsreihe „intercalations: a paginated exhibition“, hervorgegangen aus dem Kuratoren-Netzwerk Synapse, untersucht die Möglichkeiten des Buches als einer Form der Ausstellung und stellt überkommene dialektische Kategorien wie Mensch/Natur, menschlich/nichtmenschlich, Subjekt/Objekt in Frage. Der erste Band erscheint im Oktober.

Und im November startet der Anthropozän-Campus, der den aktuellen Stand des Anthropozän-Curriculums präsentiert: ein Modellprojekt zur Wissensproduktion, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte.

Mit:
Adam Avikainen, Ayreen Anastas und Rene Gabri, Torsten Blume, Geoffrey C. Bowker, Rana Dasgupta, Matt Edgeworth, Michael Ellis, Joyeeta Gupta, Peter K. Haff, Natascha Sadr Haghighian, Yannis Hamilakis, Dorothea von Hantelmann, Alan Haywood, Erich Hörl, Franck Leibovici, Armin Linke, Flora Lysen, Margarida Mendes, Molly Nesbit, Naomi Oreskes, The Otolith Group, Elizabeth A. Povinelli, Simon Price, Jürgen Renn, Daniel D. Richter, Tomás Saraceno, Benjamin Steininger, STRATAGRIDS, Colin P. Summerhayes, James Syvitski, Bronislaw Szerszynski, Territorial Agency (John Palmesino und Ann-Sofi Rönnskog), John Tresch, Etienne Turpin, Bettina Vismann, Colin Waters, Allen S. Weiss, Mark Williams, Jan Zalasiewicz und anderen.

Das Anthropozän-Projekt ist eine Initiative des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt in Kooperation mit der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, dem Deutschen Museum und dem Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society, München, sowie dem Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies, Potsdam. „intercalations: a paginated exhibition“ gefördert von der Schering Stiftung.

Im Rahmen von:
null