Biographies of the artists

After Year Zero. Geographies of Collaboration since 1945

Artists | Speakers

John Akomfrah
John Akomfrah, a creative artist and cultural activist, has produced various documentaries, feature films and gallery installations, all of which have won prizes and critical acclaim across Africa, Asia, Europe and North America. Known principally as one of the originators of Black British Cinema - and latterly as a trailblazer for British digital cinematography, Akomfrah was a founding member of the Black Audio Film Collective, the seminal British filmmaking collective. His film essay documentary, Handsworth Songs (1986) won international prizes, including the BFI John Grierson Award For Documentary. Since then John’s work has been shown in a variety of galleries and exhibitions and he was made a European Cultural laureate by the European Cultural Foundation (2012). His most recent pieces of work are Peripeteia, Psyche, At the Graveside of Andre Tarkovsky and The Stuart Hall Project, a single channel work premiered at the 2013 Sundance Film Festival in World Documentary Competition.

Kader Attia
Born into an Algerian family in France, Kader Attia spent his childhood between the two countries. The going back and forth between the Christian Occident and the Islamic Maghreb have had a profound impact on his work. It tackles the relations between the Western Thought and extra-Occidental cultures, particularly through Architecture, the Human body, History, Nature, Culture and Religions.
The philosopher and artist’s first solo exhibition was held in 1996 in the Democratic Republic of Congo. He gained international recognition at the 50th Venice Biennale (2003). His recent exhibitions include Reparatur 5.Acts, a solo show at KW Institute for Contemporary Art Berlin, Construire, Déconstruire, Reconstruire : Le Corps Utopique, a solo show at Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, dOCUMENTA(13) Kassel, Performing Histories (1) at MoMA, New York, the 4th Moscow Biennale, The Global Contemporary. Art World after 1989, ZKM, Karlsruhe, Contested Terrains, Tate Modern, London.

Yervant Gianikian & Angela Ricci Lucchi
Milan-based filmmakers Yervant Gianikian and Angela Ricci Lucchi work together since 1970. They are renowned for their accomplished work with archival footage derived principally from the beginning of the 20th century. Much of their work is explicitly political and grounded in the idea of the cinematic apparatus as a detached observer of modernity's vast upheavals: colonialism, war and statelessness. Their films have been presented at several film festivals around the world such as Cannes Film Festival, Venice Film Festival, Rotterdam Film Festival, Berlinale, Filmoteca Espanola Madrid and FID Marseille. Their most recent work Pays Barbare premiered at the Locarno Film Festival in August 2013 and will tour to the Toronto Film Festival among other festivals. Their video installations have been shown at the 2001 Venice Biennial; Maison Hugo, Paris (both curated by Harald Szeemann), Jeu de Paume, Paris; MoMA, New York; Tate Modern, London, and Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago among other places. More recently their work featured in the 2012 Taipei Biennial and the 2013 Venice Biennial.

The Otolith Group
Founded in 2002 by Anjalika Sagar and Kodwo Eshun, The Otolith Group’s work explores the histories and potentials of science fiction and Tricontinentalism. Recent solo exhibitions include Thoughtform, Museu d’Art Contemporani de Barcelona and MAXXI Museo nazionale delle arti del XXI secolo, Rome, 2011; A Lure a Part Allure Apart, Betonsalon, Paris, 2011, Westfailure, Project 88, Mumbai, 2012 and Medium Earth, REDCAT, Los Angeles, 2013.
Recent group exhibitions include There is always a cup of sea to sail in: 29th Biennial de Sao Paulo, 2010; In the Days of the Comet: British Art Show 7, Hayward Gallery, London, 2011, dOCUMENTA (13), Kassel, 2012, ECM: A Cultural Archaeology, Haus der Kunst, Munich, 2013 and The Whole Earth: California and the Disappearance of the Outside, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, 2013.
In 2010, The Otolith Group was nominated for the Turner Prize.

Jihan El-Tahri
El-Tahri, an Egyptian and French director and producer of documentary films, started her working career as a journalist. Between 1984 and 1990 she worked as a news agency correspondent and TV researcher covering Middle East politics. In 1990 she began directing and producing documentaries for French television, the BBC and other international broadcasters. Since then she has directed more than a dozen films including the Emmy nominated The House of Saud, which explores the Saudi/US relations through the portraits of the Kingdom’s monarchs. The Price of Aid, a film about the system of International Food Aid, has won the 2004 European Media prize and with Cuba: An African Odyssey El-Tahri has also received international awards. Her most recent feature documentary Behind the Rainbow, released in 2009, examines the transitional process in South Africa. El-Tahri has also written two books, The 9 Lives of Yasser Arafat and Israel and the Arabs: the 50 Years War.

Biografien der Künstler

After Year Zero. Geografien der Kollaboration seit 1945

Künstler | Konferenzteilnehmer

John Akomfrah
John Akomfrah, Künstler und Kultur-Aktivist, hat mehrere Dokumentar- und Spielfilme gedreht und Installationen in Galerien geschaffen, die in Afrika, Asien, Europa und Nordamerika ausgezeichnet wurden und bei den Kritikern großen Anklang fanden. In erster Linie bekannt als einer der Pioniere des Black British Cinema – und später als Wegbereiter der digitalen Filmkunst in Großbritannien – war John Akomfrah Gründungsmitglied des Black Audio Film Collective, eines wegweisenden britischen Filmemacher-Kollektivs. Sein dokumentarischer Filmessay Handsworth Songs (1986) gewann internationale Auszeichnungen, darunter den BFI John Grierson Award For Documentary. Seither sind die Arbeiten von John Akomfrah in zahlreichen Galerien und Ausstellungen gezeigt worden, 2012 wurde er von der Europäischen Kulturstiftung zum European Cultural Laureate ernannt. Seine jüngsten Arbeiten sind Peripeteia, Psyche, At the Graveside of Andre Tarkovsky und The Stuart Hall Project, eine Video-Arbeit, die 2013 beim Sundance Film Festival in der World Documentary Competition Premiere feierte.

Kader Attia
Geboren als Sohn einer algerischen Familie in Frankreich, verbrachte Kader Attia seine Kindheit in beiden Ländern. Das Hin und Her zwischen dem christlichen Okzident und dem islamischen Maghreb prägt seine Arbeit bis heute. Er beschäftigt sich mit den Beziehungen zwischen westlichem Gedankengut und nicht-westlichen Kulturen, insbesondere was Architektur, den menschlichen Körper, Geschichte, Natur, Kultur und Religion anbelangt.
Die erste Einzelausstellung des Philosophen und Künstlers fand 1996 in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo statt, internationale Anerkennung fand er durch seine Teilnahme an der 50. Venedig-Biennale 2003. Zu seinen jüngeren Ausstellungen zählen Reparatur 5.Acts, eine Einzelausstellung am KW Institute for Contemporary Art Berlin; Construire, Déconstruire, Reconstruire : Le Corps Utopique, eine Einzelausstellung am Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris; die dOCUMENTA(13) Kassel, Performing Histories (1) am MoMA, New York, die 4. Moskau-Biennale; The Global Contemporary. Art World after 1989, am ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe; und Contested Terrains, am Tate Modern, London.

Yervant Gianikian & Angela Ricci Lucchi
Die Mailänder Filmemacher Yervant Gianikian und Angela Ricci Lucchi arbeiten seit 1970 zusammen. Sie sind bekannt für ihren so sorgfältigen wie aussagekräftigen Umgang mit Filmmaterial aus Archiven, zumeist vom Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts. Die meisten ihrer Arbeiten sind explizit politisch und gründen auf einer Vorstellung von Film als distanziertem Beobachter der gewaltigen Umbrüche der Moderne: Kolonialismus, Krieg und Staatenlosigkeit. Ihre Filme wurden auf verschiedenen internationalen Festivals gezeigt, u. a. in Cannes, Venedig, Rotterdam und Berlin, sowie bei der Filmoteca Espanola Madrid und beim FID Marseille. Ihre jüngste Arbeit Pays Barbare feierte beim Locarno Film Festival im August 2013 Premiere und wird u. a. beim Toronto Film Festival zu sehen sein. Ihre Videoinstallationen wurden u. a. bei der Venedig Biennale 2001 und dem Maison Hugo, Paris (beide kuratiert von Harald Szeemann), im Jeu de Paume, Paris; im MoMA, New York; in der Tate Modern, London, und im Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago gezeigt. Außerdem waren bzw. sind ihre Arbeiten bei der Taipei Biennale 2012 und der Venedig Biennale 2013 zu sehen.

The Otolith Group
The Otolith Group, gegründet 2002 von Anjalika Sagar und Kodwo Eshun, untersucht die Historie(n) und Potenziale von Science Fiction und Tricontinentalism, einer politisch akzentuierten Version des Postkonialismus. Zu den jüngeren Einzelausstellungen zählen Thoughtform, Museu d’Art Contemporani de Barcelona und MAXXI Museo nazionale delle arti del XXI secolo, Rome, 2011; A Lure a Part Allure Apart, Betonsalon, Paris, 2011; Westfailure, Project 88, Mumbai, 2012, sowie Medium Earth, REDCAT, Los Angeles, 2013.
Gruppenausstellungen der letzten Zeit waren u. a. There is always a cup of sea to sail in: 29th Biennial de Sao Paulo, 2010; In the Days of the Comet: British Art Show 7, Hayward Gallery, London, 2011; dOCUMENTA (13), Kassel, 2012; ECM: A Cultural Archaeology, Haus der Kunst, München, 2013; sowie The Whole Earth: California and the Disappearance of the Outside, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, 2013.
2010 wurde The Otolith Group für den Turner Prize nominiert.

Jihan El-Tahri
Jihan El-Tahri, eine ägyptisch-französische Regisseurin und Produzentin von Dokumentarfilmen, begann ihre Karriere als Journalistin. Von 1984 bis 1990 arbeitete sie als Korrespondentin für Nachrichtenagenturen und recherchierte für TV-Sender zu politischen Themen im Nahen Osten. 1990 begann sie, Dokumentationen für das französische Fernsehen, die BBC und andere internationale Sender zu drehen und zu produzieren. Seither hat sie bei über einem Dutzend Filme Regie geführt, u.a. bei dem Emmy-nominierten Film The House of Saud, der anhand von Porträts der saudi-arabischen Monarchen die Beziehungen zwischen dem Königreich und den USA untersucht. The Price of Aid, ein Film über das System der internationalen Nahrungsmittelhilfe, gewann 2004 den European Media Prize, und für Cuba: An African Odyssey erhielt El-Tahri ebenfalls internationale Auszeichnungen. Ihr jüngster Dokumentarfilm Behind the Rainbow von 2009, untersucht den Übergangsprozess nach der Apartheid in Südafrika. Jihan El-Tahri hat zwei Bücher verfasst, The 9 Lives of Yasser Arafat und Israel and the Arabs: the 50 Years War.