From Nov 2 the HKW program continues in digital form. The building is closed. More…

Martin Wagner: The Growing House

Text: Martin Wagner
Commentary from Tom Avermaete, Franziska Bollerey, Ludovica Scarpa, Tatjana Schneider
German / English
ISBN 978-3-944669-96-0
EUR 29.00

Available at bookstores, the shop at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt and online at Spector Books.

In 1931, Martin Wagner, head of planning for Berlin, set up a working group tasked with developing a design for a “growing” house. The group included Egon Eiermann, Walter Gropius, Ludwig Hilberseimer, Erich Mendelssohn, Hans Poelzig, and Hans Scharoun. As an architectural response to the Great Depression and the collapse of the building industry, they formulated plans for adaptable micro-houses, which were to provide only what was necessary and expedient and whose design should be capable of being modified in accordance with the socio-economic circumstances of the inhabitants. These models were exhibited in Berlin and documented in the publication Das wachsende Haus (The Growing House).

*

Visitors to the Summer Show, Sonne, Luft und Haus für Alle (Sun, Air, and Houses for All) held in Berlin in 1932, were able to view twenty-four show houses in the section entitled Das Anbauhaus (The Annex). Berlin’s chief city planner Martin Wagner had called upon the leading exponents of the Neues Bauen to design “growing houses.” Containing nothing but the bare practical essentials, this “anti-crisis house,” as he termed it, was also predestined to change itself to match the socioeconomic circumstances of its residents—a countermodel to the small house which set the substandard for subsistence-level accommodation.

Convinced that the housing problem could not be solved by architecture alone, Wagner used the documentation accompanying the project to publish a coruscating, yet carefully thought-out foreword. In it he outlined proposals for a different economy, a new crafts-based construction industry, proactively nature-oriented forms of living, elements of a modern domestic technology, alternative financing models, the abolition of private property and—in addition to growing houses—a new image of the architect.

In this radical, yet practical template, Wagner was delving into the social, technical, and economic fabric of living and revealing its complexity by advancing a suite of concrete solutions. By shifting the dwelling to the center of the world, he ascribed architecture a pivotal societal role at the height of the Great Depression—which was at the same time a crisis of the construction industry. Reprinted here for the first time, this document seeks to exploit the attendant scope for elaborating a wide-ranging design, augmented by historical contextualization by Franziska Bollerey and Ludovica Scarpa, and interpretations by Tom Avermaete and Tatjana Schneider.

Verkehrsbehinderungen wegen des Berlin-Marathons bis 25.9. Mehr Infos...

Martin Wagner: Das wachsende Haus

Text: Martin Wagner
Kommentiert von Tom Avermaete, Franziska Bollerey, Ludovica Scarpa, Tatjana Schneider
Deutsch / Englisch
ISBN 978-3-944669-96-0
EUR 29,00

Erhältlich im Buchhandel, im Shop des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt und online bei Spector Books.

Der Berliner Stadtbaurat Martin Wagner gründete 1931 die Arbeitsgemeinschaft für ein wachsendes Haus, der u. a. Egon Eiermann, Walter Gropius, Ludwig Hilberseimer, Erich Mendelssohn, Hans Poelzig sowie Hans Scharoun angehörten. Als architektonische Antwort auf die Weltwirtschaftskrise entwarfen sie anpassungsfähige Kleinsthäuser, die nichts außer dem Nötigen und Sinnvollen vorhalten und dazu prädestiniert sein sollten, sich entsprechend der sozialökonomischen Verhältnisse der Bewohner zu verändern. Diese Modelle wurden in Berlin ausgestellt und in der Publikation Das wachsende Haus dokumentiert.

*

Auf der Sommerschau Sonne, Luft und Haus für Alle im Jahr 1932 konnte das Berliner Publikum in der Abteilung Das Anbauhaus vierundzwanzig Musterhäuser besichtigen. Der Berliner Stadtbaurat Martin Wagner hatte die prominentesten Vertreter des Neuen Bauens dazu aufgerufen, „wachsende Häuser“ zu gestalten. Er forderte ein Antikrisenhaus, das nichts außer dem Nötigen und Sinnvollen vorhalten und dazu prädestiniert sein sollte, sich entsprechend der jeweiligen sozialökonomischen Verhältnisse der Bewohner zu verändern – ein Gegenmodell zur Kleinwohnung für das Existenzminimum, die den Substandard festschrieb.

Da Wagner überzeugt war, dass die Wohnungsfrage nicht allein architektonisch zu lösen wäre, nutzte er die Dokumentation des Projektes für ein fulminantes und sorgsam durchdachtes Vorwort. Er entwarf eine andere Wirtschaft, eine neue handwerkliche Bauindustrie, aktive naturnahe Wohnformen, Elemente einer modernen Haustechnik, alternative Finanzierungsformen, die Aufhebung des Grundeigentums und – neben wachsenden Häusern – ein neues Bild des Architekten.

Auf radikale und zugleich praktische Weise drang Wagner in das gesellschaftlich-technisch-wirtschaftliche Gefüge des Wohnens ein und faltete über eine Vielzahl von konkreten Lösungsvorschlägen deren Komplexität auf. Indem er die Welt vom Haus her dachte, wies er inmitten der Wirtschaftskrise – die nicht zuletzt eine Krise der Bauwirtschaft war – der Architektur eine zentrale gesellschaftliche Rolle zu. Diesen Möglichkeitsraum einer sehr weitgedachten Gestaltung möchte das hier erstmals wiederveröffentlichte Dokument erschließen, ergänzt durch historische Einordnungen von Franziska Bollerey und Ludovica Scarpa sowie weiterführende Interpretationen von Tom Avermaete und Tatjana Schneider.