After Year Zero

Geographies of Collaborations

After Year Zero

After Year Zero

Eds: Annett Busch and Anselm Franke
Publisher: The University of Chicago Press, 2015
English, 248 pages, 50 color plates, 50 halftones
ISBN: 978-83-64177-25-5
Price: € 19.00

Available at the shop of the Haus der Kulturen der Welt and at bookstores, mail order buying/postal shopping via the webshop

Published in conjunction with an exhibition that has traveled to the Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw from Berlin’s Haus der Kulturen der Welt, this volume takes as its starting point the realignment of global ties after 1945—Europe’s “year zero”—and focuses on the worldwide phenomenon of decolonization.

Investigating magazines, journals, and newspapers, the diverse essays in After Year Zero shine a spotlight on collaboration, not confrontation, in the many publications launched at various times and in different places within the African continent or the African diaspora. As the volume contributors show, the format of these periodicals provided a means for temporary intervention against hegemonic voices and made possible the necessary task of creating a new language to talk about art, life, and politics. In addition to text-based essays, After Year Zero also includes visual essays designed like collages of documents, quotes, and images.

With its unique international and interdisciplinary approach, After Year Zero is an innovative study of postwar narrative possibilities and a powerful reflection on the processes by which the “universal” can be generated.

After Year Zero | Photo: Bartosz Stawiarski

After Year Zero | Photo: Bartosz Stawiarski

After Year Zero

Geographies of Collaborations

After Year Zero

After Year Zero

Hrsg: Annett Busch und Anselm Franke
Verlag: The University of Chicago Press, 2015
Englisch, 248 Seiten, 88 Farbseiten, 49 Halbtonbilder, Softcover
ISBN: 978-83-64177-25-5
Preis: € 19.00

Erhältlich im Shop des Haus der Kulturen der Welt und im Buchhandel, Versandbestellungen über den Webshop

Dieser Band ist im Zusammenhang mit einem Ausstellungsprojekt erschienen, dessen bisheriger Werdegang vom Haus der Kulturen der Welt 2013 an das Museum of Modern Art in Warschau 2015 führt. Die Neuordnung der Welt nach 1945 – Europas „year zero“ – wird darin vor dem Hintergrund der weltweiten Dekolonisierungsprozesse aus einer alternativen Perspektive in den Blick genommen.

In ihren Untersuchungen zu historischen Zeitschriften, Magazinen und Tageszeitungen stellen die vielfältigen Essays in After Year Zero die Momente der Kollaboration anstatt Konfrontation in den Vordergrund, wie sie sich in der Bandbreite an Publikationen unterschiedlicher Zeiten und Orte innerhalb des Afrikanischen Kontinents und der Afrikanischen Diaspora wiederspiegeln. Die Beiträger*innen zeigen auf, dass diese Zeitschriftenformate als Medium der zeitweiligen Intervention in den hegemonialen Diskurs dienen konnten und es ermöglichten, die erforderliche neue Sprache für Kunst, Leben und Politik zu finden. Neben Textbeiträgen beinhaltet After Year Zero auch Visual Essays, die in collagenartigen Zusammenstellungen Dokumente, Zitate und Bilder in Kommunikation treten lassen.

Der in seiner interdisziplinären und internationalen Reichweite einzigartige Ansatz macht After Year Zero zu einer innovativen Studie über mögliche Nachkriegsnarrative und zu einer aussagekräftigen Reflexion der Prozesse, die das „Universelle“ hervorbringen.

After Year Zero | Foto: Bartosz Stawiarski.

After Year Zero | Foto: Bartosz Stawiarski.